We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After deciding to host our annual incentive trip in Santorini, we had a couple of accommodation options in mind but decided to stay at the Vedema and couldn't have been happier with this decision. Even prior to arrival the staff at the Vedema, particularly Marili, went out of their way to ensure everything was in place for our group and were always on hand if we had any requests at all, be it booking day trips or making restaurant reservations. The resort itself was beautiful, calm and had everything the group could need. The team at the Vedema set up both a gala dinner and lunch for us and the quality of the food and level of service was outstanding on both occasions. Thank you for going above and beyond to give our whole group an experience that we will remember for years to come. I'm sure many of us will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    101
    43
    27
    22
See reviews for
109
245
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you Vedema for making our honeymoon worth remembering. We love how spacious the villa is, how delicious the breakfast is, how friendly your staff are, and how nice the surroundings are. Having arrived before sunrise, we were surprised that we were accomodated immediately and the hotel staff entertained us well and gave us a walking tour of the whole hotel. We just loved strolling around the hotel compound and be amazed that such a place exists on Earth. Though the hotel is outside the city proper, we didn't feel how far it is because your hotel shuttle is so accomodating and on time. You even shuttled us to the airport so earlyn the morning on the day of our departure. Thank you for the experience. We will definitely come back here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This is our first time to santorini and we chose Vedema. Love the location, the lovely food and of course the staff. All we did was travelled 100 meters on both side of the entrance of the hotel and spend the rest of our 5 days 4 nights in our pool villa. Thank you for making our experience in santorini so unforgettable .

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikaLagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Santorini is one of the most beautiful places that I have ever been. I stayed at the Vedema Resort with my fiance, and as a platinum preferred guest with Starwood, we were offered an upgrade to a larger suite. The resort is located in the quaint town of Megalochori, which is off the beaten path from the tourist towns of Fira and Oia on the caldera. To me, this is preferable. It is like its own oasis away from the hustle and bustle of it all. There are vineyards in the immediate area, and you can do wine tastings within walking distance of the hotel.

The suite was finished with all white marble, which made for a luxurious feel. The bathroom was ok, but the shower pressure and lighting were not that great. The food at the restaurant was delicious, but the service was slow - this seems to be typical in Greece however.

Overall, we had a very nice and relaxing stay. My fiance loved laying out by the pool. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamGolf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The first impression having arrived at. 7am to the hotel was one we would never forget.
With no rooms ready for us even though having notified the hotel well in advance, we were offered a couch in the lobby to rest on whilst the management and cleaning staff started the day at this below standard resort.
4 hours later we had kindly been asked to push on from the couch by the overly aggressive female manager who stayed that our resting on reception lounges had made other guests uncomfortable.
As you can imagine, this was not the warm welcome any guest would wish to receive.
Finally, after been given a 'temporary' room for a couple of hours at 3 in the afternoon our room was ready.
-no view
-no working tv
-no lights in showers
-outdated and loud air conditioner system
And all for close to $1000 per night.

Frequent traveller or not when staying at a Hotel branded "luxury collection" of one the largest hotel groups in the world your expectations should be as high as the price.
Overated, Overstated and Overpriced this property is arguably the worst resort (if you can call it that) I have stayed in Europe.
Eventually having had enough of the management and lack Of service we opted to stay at another resort.
WARNING - please read fine print, as any changes to reservation incur a 100% cancellation fee.
Shame on you Starwood we will never be using this brand of hotels again because of the service we have received at Vedema.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank mason303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMVedema, Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Mr. Mason303,

We always welcome all our guest’s reviews, good and bad as this feedback helps us becoming better and better. However, we are deeply sorry that your negative feelings overwhelm you that much, that you ended up writing a review that includes unclear facts and conclusions.
The truth is that your reservation made 1 day prior to your arrival, requesting an early check in and not “well in advance” as you claim. Our records show that we did not ever confirmed to you such a request as our resort was fully booked. Additionally, you were advised through a confirmation letter from our reservations department, for the 15:00 check in time and all terms and conditions of your reservation.
We understand that your flight arrival was early and that is why we suggested in a kind and helpful way (and not aggressive at all) to use our first available room complimentary, in order to have some rest, rather than waiting at the lobby till your suite was ready. This was a suggestion that you accepted with pleasure and finally at 13:30 (and not 15:00) your Villa was offered. We truly believe that despite the full occupancy of our resort we did everything possible to assist you and make you feel welcome and comfortable, as this is the first priority that we have in our resort and in Starwood generally.
Moreover, your reservation was for 4 nights under a rate that was fully prepaid and non refundable. During your stay we never received any complaint from your side, neither for the room, nor for our services. The only reason provided to us for departing earlier from our resort was a wedding ceremony that you wanted to attend and was taking place on the other side of the island (20 minutes distance from Vedema Resort).
You took us by surprise with your decision to leave the room without passing by the reception desk for the standard check out procedure and with all your negative feelings expressed through emails and phone calls after your departure.
We truly believe that posting a review is always very useful for both future guests and hotel management, as long as this is not based on malicious intentions but on solid assumptions. We also believe that a better research of the location of your accommodation next time will save you from all destructive feelings that overwhelm you and do not allow you to enjoy your holidays at its maximum, being the only issue we can conclude in your case.


Best Regards,

Anthi Maneta
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

At the Vedema you feel welcome already when arriving at the port by boat. At the resort you get to meet the super friendly staff. While finishing your welcome drink (which tastes great!) you get a private tour through the resort, ending up in you villa where they've already placed your Luggage. the complex is small but very cozy. I loved it! the villas are spacious and have all facilities you need: rain shower,... There's a cozy square near the hotel with a lot of nice restaurants (cheap but tasty!).
The hotel has 2 swimming pools: one normal swimming pool and one heated jacuzzi pool where you can enjoy a little more privacy.
the breakfast was very good, only one downside: the warm buffet at the breakfast was cold.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Serazy,
I am very pleased reading that you had a great time at Vedema Resort and that you enjoyed your suite and all our facilities. Your words are our best reward. I would like to thank you also for all your feedback that helps us become even better.
I am looking forward to welcome you back in our premises on your next visit to Santorini.

Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

One of the nicest, scenic and original hotels I have stayed at. The hotel was very authentic. Each room was similar to the stone houses that locals live in. It was very bright, relaxing and the hotel transportation made it convenient to go to the beach or city.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GusPsarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Gus P,
Thank you for all your kind words and feedback. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back with your family in the near future.

Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 50 in Imerovigli
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
1.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
6.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#9 of 56 in Oia
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Property: Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedema Resort may be an exclusive hideway resort, but it will feel like your private paradise..!A major renovation has been completed in the guest rooms in order to reflect a totally new and fresh look. All different types of accommodations have been renovated by adding marble floors, white island-style furniture and decoration, but most important by including spacious marble bathrooms including both rain showers and bathtubs. Furthermore, all room types include "The Luxury Collection" beds according to the highest standards of Starwood, complimentary WI FI access and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Megalochori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing