We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great spacious suites for families! Breakfast could use some tweaking - many of the "hot" offerings were cold, even when we went right when the service opened. We found out on our last day (too late) that there is a private section of beach only ten minutes away. Would have loved to have our children take advantage of that! LOVELY quaint village steps away from hotel. Great shopping in original, artisanal boutiques. Restaurants in area were ok - heard Feggera was worth checking out. The rock paths throughout the resort were a bit difficult for my 80 year old (in good shape) father in law to navigate. My kids also loved the stray dogs (more like village dogs) that floated in and out of the resort and around the town. There was much begging to bring one home! We had lunch on one occasion. It was ok - but quite pricey. All staff were very friendly and willing to please. WiFi was a bit spotty... Drive to Oia (for sunset dinner) was about 30 min taxi ride (about 35 Euros). Would stay there again and would recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure to request one with a shower if desired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatStam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    99
    41
    27
    22
See reviews for
104
237
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had our wedding rehearsal dinner in the Starwood Hotels and Resort luxury Collection Vedema Resort Alati restaurant in Megalochori, Santorini Greece on June 23rd 2014.

Stamatis Iseris the manager helped us plan the perfect menu. Everything from the appetizers, entries, veggies, wines, champagne, aperitifs and desserts were outstanding.

They were all served to our group of 28 in the 400 year old winery. The ambiance of being in a winery with walls almost Four feet thick, made of stone added to everyone's satisfaction. The candlelit table settings set the right mood for the occasion.

The quality of the food was outstanding. It was served perfect, on time, and in nice portions. The entries which consisted of pastichio, sea-bass pasta, and steak all tasted fabulous. The Santorini salad, wines, and other appetizers were exquisite

All in all it was the special evening you would want before our son's and future daughter-in-law's wedding. Our two families were treated to an event we will all remember.

The staff was terrific.

Thank you Alati and staff

I highly recommend Vedema Resorts and Alati restaurant to everyone visiting Santorini.


Jim Kiriakos



  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Despite the fact that the hotel is not situated in the most famous side of the Island of Santorini (Kaldera), but in a tranditional Greek village by the time that you enter the hotel you feel the vibes of luxury. The rooms (appartments) are like small houses with plenty of space, excellent decoration, soft beds, private yard in front of it. The pool is kind of small but with a nice view of the village and a little bit of the island. The breakfast is by far the best I ever tasted, a vast variety of everything that someone might ask for the beggining of his day. Last but not least the hotel has been built on an old winery and its worth to visit it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVELIS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a beautiful Hotel with great service. If you want peace and quiet this is the place for you.
I was a little disappointed in the location. It is not looking over the Sea but in the middle of the Island so their are no views of the Aegean Sea. It was also very difficult to walk around on the Lava rock paths throughout the Resort. The rooms were beautiful and food and drink delicious. They have another property overlooking the Sea so choose carefully. You might be a little confused because they both have the same name but in different towns.

Room Tip: Try to get one without a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Vedema for our honeymoon. We had always dreamed of going to Santorini and were really excited to stay at the Vedema given the gorgeous photos online and the fact that it's a Luxury Collection hotel. Unfortunately, our stay turned out to be the most disappointing of all of our Starwood stays (my husband is a Platinum member so we've stayed at many Starwood properties) prompting me to write my first ever TripAdvisor review. We were so disappointed that we actually left the Vedema for two nights and paid extra out-of-pocket to stay at the Mystique just so that we could have the dream Santorini honeymoon we had hoped for.

The biggest issues of the Vedema had to do with the service/amenities and the misleading photos online:
-The photos make it seem like the hotel has beautiful views of the water. It doesn't. Santorini is a small island and it felt like we saw gorgeous views everywhere except from the Vedema. From our top floor room, we could see the water from very afar, but the view was dampened by the unattractive construction and industrial-looking buildings between the Vedema and the water.
-Service was poor (except for the servers at the Vinsanto Restaurant. Service here was excellent). We had to ask 3x for our luggage to be transported to our room. Upon arrival, our room did not have toilet paper so we had to call 2x before it was delivered. Since it was our honeymoon, we wanted to have a special dinner while watching the sunset in Oia. The concierge supposedly made a reservation for us at Castro restaurant overlooking the caldera for 7pm. The night before our restaurant reservation, we even stopped at the front desk and double-checked that we had a reservation the next night. The concierge assured us yes. We showed up at the restaurant at 7pm on the dot. No reservation in our name. We asked the restaurant to call the Vedema. Whoever answered the phone at the Vedema said they didn't make a reservation for us. Fortunately, the restaurant was extremely nice and offered to let us have the first cancelled table. No apology from the Vedema.
-The room was never properly cleaned. We would come back to our room and there would still be remnants of trash throughout the room. Also, the lock on our door was broken.
-Breakfast by the pool had limited food options and there were often flies on the food.

Overall, the Vedema did not meet the standards of a Starwood Luxury hotel. The Vedema and the St. Regis both require 30,000 points a night to stay, but the difference between the Vedema and the St. Regis is night and day. If you're looking for a Starwood luxury resort in Santorini, stay at the Mystique (Vedema and Mystique are under same owner). Our stay there was wonderful and the staff was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WillTravl4Donuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthi M, Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear WillTravl4Donuts and Trip Advisor readers,

It took us some time till we finally reply on this review as we had never such incidents in our records. Trip Advisor can also verify that we have made several claims for false review. We have no reason to do a claim as we have never made before and we always reply in all reviews whether they are positive or negative.

However, this time none of the incidents described, apply to real facts. We never had in May 2014 any guests leaving Vedema dissatisfied to stay at Mystique and pay for that stay. We never had also any booking made and confirmed from our concierge department to Ochre Restaurant and finally not being valid. We contacted also Ochre Restaurant who does not have such records as well.

Moreover, our dinner restaurant’s name this year after the renovation and the menu change is “Alati” and not “Vinsanto”.

We cannot tell what reason would have someone to lie or exaggerate in specific parts of that review and of course we are not trying to refuse a possible lack in our services that we are always trying to improve. However, we cannot reply in a review that the only part that we can recognize as true and valid clue is the location of the resort that was never though advertised as a Cliffside resort.

We believe that it is clear to all our guests that Vedema Resort is located in the middle of a traditional Santorinian village surrounded by vineyards. Vedema, as part of a 400 years old winery can offer to its guests a secluded and hard to find setting, travelling someone back to the medieval years where captain houses were dominating the richest parts of the island.

We appreciate every single feedback from our guests because this is exactly what gives as clues for improvements in every field but we also appreciate the truth and we expect Trip Advisor to check further this review.

Best Regards,
Anthi Maneta
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Although we arrived in a timely manner on the island of Santorini, our luggage did not. From the very first moment we arrived at the Santorini airport, the staff of Vedema treated us exceptionally well. The driver who picked us up at the airport helped us file our lost luggage claim with the airline. The hotel manager upgraded us to a beautiful suite (perhaps the same one referenced in the recent review from "minorleaguemom") with a private pool and outdoor jacuzzi. The hotel's concierge took it upon herself to keep checking with the airline about our luggage. Our stay could not have been more pleasant. We had an excellent dinner at the resort's restaurant, we basked in the sun on our private patio, we relaxed in our comfortable suite and the lovely public areas of the resort, and we enjoyed the peace and quiet of Megalochori. We highly recommend this resort for a low key, gorgeous, and relaxing stay away from the tourist hubbub of Fira and Oia. The resort is lovely and well maintained and the staff was excellent. This isn't a cliff-hanging resort like Mystique, but it is beautiful and very relaxing. It is nice to be able to stay away from the crowds sometimes. If you know what to expect in terms of the general location of the Vedema Resort, you will not be disappointed by this lovely resort and its superb staff.

Room Tip: The "K" suites at the far back of the resort are quiet, have private pools and hot tubs, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveller1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Liked it so much if we return to Santorini I would have no hesitation in staying here again. We had an Aegean Suite. It consisted of 4 different rooms. The balcony was amazing. Small table and chairs. Two sunbeds and best of all a hot tub. What I liked most about the Vedema was it was integrated into the village. You felt as though you were part of the village. Breakfast was very good. Maybe more choice of hot foods, but that’s a personal choice. Did not eat dinner there, as we stayed for two nights at ate at the tavernas very close by. Would definitely eat there if I was staying for a week. Our last night was at their sister hotel, The Mystique in Oia. A very nice hotel, but for me not as nice as the Vedema. All the staff were helpful and always smiling. This always make a difference for me. Megalohori was a lovely village that was easy to walk around. All in all it is one of the best hotels I have stayed in during my many years of travelling.

Room Tip: Aegean Suite. Gamma 4 was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamfanWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
3.8 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
6.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
7.0 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Property: Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedema Resort may be an exclusive hideway resort, but it will feel like your private paradise..!A major renovation has been completed in the guest rooms in order to reflect a totally new and fresh look. All different types of accommodations have been renovated by adding marble floors, white island-style furniture and decoration, but most important by including spacious marble bathrooms including both rain showers and bathtubs. Furthermore, all room types include "The Luxury Collection" beds according to the highest standards of Starwood, complimentary WI FI access and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Destinology, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Megalochori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing