We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2009

The Vedema is my idea of perfection in hospitality. Upon arrival we were offered champagne, as we checked in, what a way to set the tone. While there were indeed a few issues with the stay it was nearly impossible to feel compelled to complain, since everything was resolved immediately, and with an incredibly friendly attitude. We were upgraded significantly due to our dual Gold SPG status to an incredible separate villa called “delta” which was more like a small apartment than a room. It had its own private Jacuzzi (though we never got it to work properly) I didn’t care, it was pretty hot anyway, and the lovely patio was so nice for enjoying a glass of wine, and some bakery delights we picked up on the way back from the resorts private area of the beach. There’s a complimentary shuttle providing rides to the beach, the airport, towns of Fira and Oia that seemed to be at the beck and call of the guests schedule more than on a rigid predetermined schedule. The breakfast overlooking the beautiful pool was the perfect way to begin a relaxing day, with plenty of choices and very casual and friendly service. While it seemed you were in a luxury resort, where service was totally “five-star” you never felt like it was snobbish or snooty, it was the purest definition of casual luxury. We arrived very late at night, and wanted a simple light bite to eat before retiring after our LONG journey from Los Angeles, the restaurant didn’t care, we weren’t ordering a full meal, or even that we in our “business casual” attire (not shorts and flip flops mind you, but not dressy). The food was creative, very delicious, and the ambiance was beautiful. The setting of this resort is in an ancient town near and beautiful church, not in one of the busy tourist centers, which for my idea of relaxing is perfect. It’s only a 15 minute ride to Fira where you can get your fill of “tourism” and then leave back to your oasis at the Vedema. There is only one place I will stay on Santorini or for that matter recommend to my closest friends.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank autobiztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2008

My wife and I loved everything about Vedema. Before we arrived, their concierge contacted us to set-up our transportation and confirmed our ferry trip the day before (more on their efforts later). We were warmly greeted and offered champagne while we were taken on a tour of the property. Our room was located near the lower pool and could not have been nicer.

The people who work at Vedema remember their guests names and made sure you had everything you ever needed. We enjoyed a great dinner at their restaurant Vinsanto. The staff was very friendly in offering advice regarding the menu and wine. We were one of the final tables of the evening and had a drink with the sommelier. Not once did we ever feel rushed.

The concierge is fantastic and did a beautiful job in helping to arrange multiple reservations and trips off the property (including a wonderful day sailing around the island). Their focus is to make sure you have the time of your life.

Our two plus week trip through Greece concluded at this hotel and I can not thnk of a better way to end the trip. The Vedema resort and staff are truly first class.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JamesBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

What a fantastic place ! Everythng was absolutely perfect and from the time we arrived at the airport where the Vedema driver picked us up to when we departed where the Vedema driver took us to the airport was just wonderful and first class. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and offered champagne while we were taken on a tour of the property. Vedema is its own charming village and clearly not your typical hotel scene. Our room was beautiful and well maintained daily. The people who work at Vedema remember their guests making you feel like you belong there and not just another 'person'. We attended the wine tasting which was extremely well done with a very experienced wine expert. Dinner following the wine tasting at the hotel is fantastic as well with a truly professional wait staff. Vedema offers excellent transportation to the beach and other villages daily. The Vedema beach area is beautifully appointed with the beach attendant bringing towels and setting up your area upon arrival. Lunch is also served at the beach which was excellent every day. The consierge is fantastic and did a beautiful job in helping to arrange and secure the perfect table at a fantastic restaurant for my significant other for his birthday. We travel globally and extensively with our jobs with many areas to compare from and therefore would highly recommend Vedema and also hope one day we can return. Thank you to all at Vedema for a truly first class experience - you gave us an experience that is memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank HVHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I stayed in Vedema Resort for my honeymoon.
We had a fantastic and romantic stay there.
The rooms were all newly renovated and were very spacious.
The service in the Resort was truly five star and any wish that we had was fulfilled.
I really recommend Vedema Resort to anybody who wants to visit Santorini and stay in a truly five star resort. They made our honeymoon very special and we will never forget it.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank steini83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Wonderful stay; far preferable to the places in Thira and Oia built into the cliff where you have to walk hundreds of steps any time you want to do anything. The staff at VEdema is perfect; food wonderful; surroundings beautiful; room comfortable; not over the top luxury but perfectly blended into vineyards with sea view in the distance. Two lovely pools, beautiful wine cave complete with wine tastings of local vineyard. couldn't be better.

Stayed: May 2008
6  Thank PenalopeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We just returned from a wonderful 4-night stay at the Vedema Resort. We loved it! It is in a small village away from the beach but they have a shuttle to the beach (and beach bar) available. We stayed in a Dorian apartment and had a lot of space and a very large bathroom.
The pool is delightful and very relaxing.
The concierge staff was very helpful and also made wonderful suggestions for things to do around the island.
We also ate at a few of the local tavernas (in the village, walking distance from the hotel at night) that were delightful!
We were lucky to have breakfast included with our room and the breakfast was delicious. The staff was very friendly and attentative.
Our only complaints were the very expensive pool drinks and restaurants on sight. We enjoyed the cocktails but stayed away from the restaurants because the prices were so steep.
We would recommend the Vedema to anyone (especially couples) looking for a relaxing vacation.
NOT the place for families with small children or those looking for late-night nightlife.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank loca4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

The resort was beautiful and our room was gorgeous. It had just been renovated over the winter, and everything seemed clean and new. Despite what I have read in other reports, the service was over the top. We were picked from at the airport and greeted with champagne upon arrival. We were relatively complicated guests with numerous requests and special requirements, but the staff handled everything in stride. The concierge was even able to help book plane tickets for us at a cheaper rate than was advertised on the website. The beach was beautiful and so were the pools.

There are a lot of stairs in the resort. However, that tends to be the story throughout the island. If you have significant difficulty with steps, I don't recommend going to Santorini and heading to another island instead.

We didn't find taking the shuttle bus too much of a problem. The times didn't meet our ideal schedule, but it was just a matter of being a little flexible. The staff was able to help change our reservations around. There are also a few very good, very cute restaurants just outside of the resort if you don't want to eat at the hotel or take the shuttle to Fira. All the other guests were very friendly, and we actually got to know several of them as we traveled the "starwood route" around Greece.

I definitely recommend this resort. The only downside is the location - its definitely not a place for nightlife lovers or the wild at heart. However, for three single girls who just wanted to get away, be in the sun and eat good food...we loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank leftyhsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
1.4 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
786 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
1.4 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#9 of 81 in Fira
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
541 reviews
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range: £253 - £634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away within the medieval village of Megalohori, the enchanting Vedema, A Luxury Collection Resort, has evolved from a 400-year-old wine cellar into an authentic, Cycladic-styled property. Vedema houses 46 spacious suites and villas, all with their own terraces and some with Jacuzzis or private pools. Dedicated to the needs of seasoned travellers, this family friendly resort encourages a sophisticated and relaxed philosophy for its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Megalochori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing