We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our wonderful Greek wedding at the Vedema.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Our wonderful Greek wedding at the Vedema.”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We got married in May and celebrated our wedding at the beautiful Vedema Resort.
I wanted a very simply and small wedding (43 people) but in an authentic/luxury Greek environment and the Vedema has been the perfect choice for us. We couldn’t have chosen a better venue!!!

The Hotel manager as well and all the staff did everything they could to make our day an unforgettable one and it was! The all atmosphere was magical and the way the hotel decorated the Vinsanto restaurant for us was just WOW. We preferred to have dinner inside while the cocktail outside in their main terrace as May could be a bit chilli at night and it worked out perfect.

The all experience has been amazing. We stayed at the Olympian Villa which is one of their top suites. Even if the hotel is not on the cliff it still offers beautiful views over the vineyards and the see on the back and my husband and I admired an amazing sunset from the terrace sipping Champagne next to our private plunge pool. The room was very clean, spacious and had all the amenities and the comfort of a 5 star luxury hotel. We loved the Olympian Villa and I think it’s perfect for couples and especially honeymooners like us. They even have the Nespresso machine which for me, been Italian was a fantastic surprise.

If you are planning your wedding, I would definitely recommend the Hotel if you want a real Greek wedding in luxury style!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labolzi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    100
    43
    27
    22
See reviews for
105
243
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Pictures on hotel website are deceiving! This hotel is no where near the beautiful views of Santorini! You may as well book a room in any small European town and save yourself the trip. The pool is TINY with no service. The rooms are spacious but the showers are moldy. The only nice part was the staff at the front desk. We recommend staying at a hotel in Oia!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weasabc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel with Starwood Points. We arrived and were automatically upgraded to a private suite that had a great view of the vineyards, and a private outdoor hottub. In addition, it had a seperate living/dining room!

Although it is definitely not located on the cliffside, the resort definitely felt more authentic and had a great little village right outside of it. We took the morning shuttle to explore and came back to an incredible oasis every night!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citychic20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My wife and I recently honeymooned at the Vedema.
First of all Santorini is a fantastic place to be - we loved every minute of it.
The Vedema is a very nice resort with excellent staff who are personable and kind.
While this resort is tucked away and not on a cliff - it is still beautiful and relaxing.
They do offer a shuttle to both a private beach and the main town of Fira which makes up for being off the beaten path.
The manager Alex was really super sweet and helpful - even chatted with us each day with a personal care. The sommelier, Alexandros, was also very cool and gave a great Wine Tasting. And of course the main man running around all day - Denni was so friendly and helpful. Really a GREAT staff over there.
Thansk again guys.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoDoggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My husband and I spent three nights in a "Dorian Suite". The room was spacious and clean with two sets of doors opening to a large outdoor patio boasting a table, two chairs and two lounge chairs. The resort is quaint, quiet and very well manicured with staff constantly cleaning something! It is situated in a small village known for its local vineyards and is a great way to get a feel for the area. What we found exceptional was the personalized service that the hotel staff provided. No request was too small and they made every effort to accomodate us. Although this hotel is not overlooking the sea, the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to their private beach as well as a shuttle service to Fira (the main town).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eskay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Based on the beautiful hotel website photos, I had booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite for our family at this hotel, many months before arrival. We came to Santorini by ferry and arrived in the evening. Upon check-in we were told that the hotel upgraded us. We were shown a suite where, we were most proudly told, Angelina Jolie stayed when she was there. We came with our two children. The suite they showed us had 1 bedroom, a living room, and 1 bathroom. To get from the living room to the bathroom you had to walk through the bedroom (I find it highly unlikely that Angelina Jolie stayed in that suite with any of her kids). I refused the "upgrade" and asked for the original accommodations that I booked many months before. They said they could only find something else for us the next day. The next day we were given one of their
2 bedroom, 2 bath suites, and were told that it was the only other available option The bathrooms were so small that only one person could use it at a time. The shower floor was literally part of the bathroom floor and was completely flat so whenever you took a shower, the entire bathroom floor flooded.

As a destination, Santorini is a nice island but is not worth more than a 2-night visit. If you rent a car, you can see the villages and beaches in a day. The black sand beaches are so hot in the summer that you cannot walk on the sand without foot protection.

The Vedema was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and as a result of that experience, I now only book hotels based on Tripadvisor reviews, and not on website photos.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EmilyWaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amousios, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your feedback from Vedema Resort 13 months after your stay. Please allow us to underline the following regarding your comments:

- You have made a reservation for 2 people in a Dorian Suite, our standard room type. Since you were a Starwood Preferred Guest you were upgraded in one of our nicest Aegean Suites with two private balconies and a private outdoors Jacuzzi of 800 square feet. Therefore, your comment that you have booked a two-bedroom suite is inaccurate and we do not understand the purpose behind such a false statement.
- Upon arrival you were 4 guests, 2 adults and 2 children. You demanded that we move you in a family suite, although your reservation was for a one-bedroom suite. Since all our Athenian Suites were fully booked and we were not previously advised that you would be 4 persons, we were unable to accommodate your request for the first evening however for your own comfort we have arranged that you move in to the Athenian Suite the following morning since there was an opening.
- We do not understand your comment regarding the en-suite bathroom facility in the Aegean Suite. This suite is mostly addressed to honeymooners who indeed love the en-suite facilities.
- The following morning you were moved in to the Athenian suite as you requested so yet again we can not understand your statement ‘ we were given one of their 2 bedroom, 2 bath suites and were told that it was the only other available option’? That was exactly what you have asked for.
- Additionally we were really surprised with your comment regarding the size of the bathrooms in the Athenian suite. All bathrooms in the family suites are 120 square feet large with a separate bathtub and shower and a double sink.

Kind Regards

Alex Mousios
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed at the Vedema Resort in June 2010. Truly a wonderful hotel. At first I was concerned about the location, and then when we walked through the doors, I knew we were in a special place. We felt like we were staying in our own Greek village. Rooms were so spacious and beautiful. Great pool. They shuttle you to a private beach that was beautiful. Staff was so friendly and helpful, they even walked my 10-year old to the bakery to show her where it was. I would definitely recommend walking and eating in the little square by the church, getting pastries from the local bakery and wine tasting. The shuttle was very convenient, and we also took the public bus everywhere with no problems. While there were not a lot of children at the hotel when we visited, my kids did not mind as we were doing a lot of exploring.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiegofamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
3.8 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
6.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
7.0 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Property: Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedema Resort may be an exclusive hideway resort, but it will feel like your private paradise..!A major renovation has been completed in the guest rooms in order to reflect a totally new and fresh look. All different types of accommodations have been renovated by adding marble floors, white island-style furniture and decoration, but most important by including spacious marble bathrooms including both rain showers and bathtubs. Furthermore, all room types include "The Luxury Collection" beds according to the highest standards of Starwood, complimentary WI FI access and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Destinology, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Megalochori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing