We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“8 family wines-Gems!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gavalas Winery

Gavalas Winery
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traditional Family Winery With the legacy and experience for over three centuries, the Gavalas family produces high quality wines with unique attributes in the international market.Always with the upmost respect for the characteristics of our indigenous varietals while applying a combination of both traditional and modern vinification techniques. "Wine equals life" Mr. Gavalas says and his actions verify this. His passion for our rare indigenous is even stronger He always says "They are special and produce unique wines in the world, raising new wine horizons " Our purpose at Gavalas winery is in pursuing the constant improvement of quality, not the increase in quantity. Respecting the consumers, we try to provide wines of value for money.
Athens, Greece
1 review
“8 family wines-Gems!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We heard about a great winery in Megalochori and we thought to give it a try.
Megalochori village is a traditional and graphic one and the Gavalas Winery is a very charming traditional family winery.
Wine testing costs 0,80 € per glass, a fine price for such intellect wines. We tested all of them, 8 in total, and their names are: Katsano, Santorini, Santorini Natural Ferment, Nikteri, Voudomato, Xenoloo and, of course, the sweet Vinsanto!
Our favorites were the smooth white Katsano, the fruity rose Voudomato and definitely, the traditional sweet Visanto, which, especially in this winery, is absolutely fantastic and made by the traditional way by stomping on the grapes!!! You should try them all!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VassAnub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    33
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint & Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Gavalas is a quaint little family run winery. It has stayed true to itself and not given in to the modern-style like most wineries. The cave-like rooms for the storing wine, stomping the grapes, and the shop make this place unique. The VinSanto was our favorite that we tried while on the Santorini Wine Adventures Tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dbuisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Seek Out This Winery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

An intimate winery tucked along a walled, side street in Megalochori. Outdoor seating available. At 0.90€ per taste, this is a nice place to unwind for an hour.

Helpful?
1 Thank DriveRideOrFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful Winery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visit this winery every year and still, we found new concepts and new wines--better and better every year! This is a detailed family entity that has been producing for over 4 generations. Their 150 RUSSIAN oak barrel, a wedding gift from Mr Gavala's grandmother, is the crowned jewel of this small winery. Tucked into the beautiful, traditional village of Megalochori, southwest of the island, you can enter it directly from the road (the more southerly direction coming from Perissa Beach) or you can wander down the main alley (sokaki) under bell towers and among homes following the eventually appearing signs once you've entered the "main square" then up some steps and through a tunnel and you are transported 50 years back in time. Enjoy the new wines, Assyrtico and the Rose. The VinSanto is the best on the island, but it's a semi-sweet (grapes aged in the sun, no added sugars) red that is best in the winter at the end of a meal with some roasted nuts. The best part? If you're traveling in Santorini after August 15, check them out--they made need some stompers for their VinSanto making grapes! I am NOT kidding! They enlist vacationers for this timeless art of foot-stomping the grapes!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We heard about Gavala from our server at another winery, and went there specifically to try their Katzano, which is a rare wine in Santorini. The tasting room is very quaint, and they offer the Katzano and many other wines for tasting. The cost is extremely reasonable - less than 3 euro to taste 3 wines. We sat in the courtyard and relaxed with our glasses. Not very commercial, so very personal experience. We would definitely go back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WineGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gavalas Winery also viewed

Megalochori, Santorini
 
Megalochori, Santorini
 

Been to Gavalas Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing