We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, very relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, very relaxing.”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The reviews here are all fairly accurate. We stayed for a fortnight, booking through Thomsons, and despite emailing them prior to travelling, we were allocated a bungalow. We got used to the steep hill and had a bigger apartment with amazing views. However some don't have great views and would definitely not be worth the extra walk. Rooms spotless, bathroom small but adequate. AC very good. Pool towels provided. Pool a good size but surrounding area very cramped with no space between beds. Steps to the beach really not that bad. We thought the food was excellent, including the choice and standard. We ate outside every night, the wasps are easily shooed away as long as you don't sit at the edges. Have stayed in AI before and found this lacked the all day provision of food. There were only snacks at the poolside for a couple of hours late afternoon, and the bar here only opened at 10am, closing at 11pm. The drinks may be weaker but not an issue really! The white wine was always warm, but we asked for ice. Queues at the bar not a problem. Staff all friendly with good service.
We went into Corfu town one night and ended up stranded due to a taxi strike. Staff in the town knew about this but apparently not the locals where we stayed, including the rep. We called the Thomsons help line who basically told us we were on our own. We later found out that other guests from the hotel with another company were picked up by the hotel staff! We are waiting to see if Thomsons will refund the 100 Eu it cost for a hotel.
The evening entertainment was awful. There was a wide range of age groups, all couples. The majority are Brits and it is very easy to meet people if you want to. It is a short walk along the beach into the village.
We went on 2 excursions which were very good. However, it takes 1 1/2 hours to get to town when the local bus takes half an hour! First to be picked up and last to be dropped off, the other hotels are off the beaten track and it really wasn't good to spend 3 hours on the coach for a 5hr trip! Corfu is beautiful, with the town well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carolclose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    742
    319
    76
    53
See reviews for
165
1,670
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here from 11th to 18th July for our 21st Wedding Anniversary. We arrived at the hotel at 1.30 am, very tired and ready for bed. We had been transferred from the airport in a rickety mini-bus and the driver was talking on a mobile phone whilst driving - which was quite alarming! Check-in was easy and the manager was very friendly. They supplied fruit squash, a roll and an apple. There was also bottled water in the room fridge.

We had asked for a top floor room and they obliged. When we opened the curtains next morning - WOW! THE most beautiful and stunning location that anyone could wish for. Sparkling blue sea and crystal blue skies. We were above the rooftop terrace which was peaceful - only a few people using it during the day and two jacuzzis to cool off in, except that one was out of action for most of our stay! Jugs of squash are provided on the bar, but when these ran out they weren't replaced.

The food nearly drove me crazy and was the downside of the stay for me. Bland, bland and more bland - also the meat was practically inedible. My husband had some lamb that was all fat and bone with no meat on it at all! The beef stroganoff was full of fat and gristle, with other guests re-naming it "fat stroganoff". The same dishes seemed to come out every day and the desserts were much better - but also repetitive. We had a lovely meal at The Sea Breeze taverna just along the beach. Lovely surroundings and very friendly staff - I would highly recommend paying them a visit.

The evening entertainment was quite boring unless you're 70+. We walked along the beach into the village and had some cocktails at "The Lemon Tree" - which is a lovely little bar, all lit up with fairy lights and candles at dusk.

On our anniversary we went on an excursion to Corfu Town for the "Sundowner" - which involved walking round and having a history lesson with half an hour round the shops then a trip round the coast in a boat and dinner on a nearby island. This was lovely - the only problem was confusion regarding coaches at the end and no reps to help!

The hotel gets visited regularly by a gorgeous little waggy-tailed brown and white dog looking for food. Quite a few quests saved sausages from breakfast for him, and in the evening he would come and choose a group of people and sleep by them on a sunbed! He occasionally brought a smaller dog with him and they looked like Lady and the Tramp!

We found the other guests to be friendly and chatty (except the Germans!) and the age range went from late teens to seventies and over. You definitely need to be fit and mobile to stay here as the steps on a hot day can seem never-ending, but this is a small price to pay for the stunning location.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who want a quiet holiday away from children and noise. I would stay here again if they livened up the evening entertainment and sorted out the food!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Staffordshire_UKKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

First night of arrival, Reception very welcoming even at 5am in the morning. Not so impressed with the welcome from a wasp the size of a small cat in the room!.
Rooms comfortable but the finish seemed a little hurried. Bathroom small but adequately laid out. Television, DVD, Hair-drier, and kettle as standard( the latter an improvement on the Aquis hotel we stayed at in Crete).
Views are all amazing from this hotel if you are in the main block. We were placed right at the end by the undergrowth of the cliff side but still a great view of the sea.

Food was all OK if a little repetitive, Meat eaters will not have any problem, Vegetarians are reasonably well catered for but be careful!!. Some of the dishes labelled as vegetarian contained small pieces of meat. We as Vegan travellers struggled a little but the hotel did seem to make some efforts after a word with the Thomson rep.
Salads were great but lot of dishes were reused and remixed, e.g, left over griddled veg for lunch became cold salad with balsamic added.

Entertainment very low key, not a bad thing for us but you may be a little bored if you require other people to keep you occupied.

4 bars in the hotel, Lobby bar very quiet and comfortable, Pool bar a little more lively, lots of younger holiday makers there. Roof top terrace open in the evenings great for couples and quite romantic. The Tunnel bar is great and convenient for when sunbathing on the beach. Some previous reviews suggest that the drinks are watered down, I cant say that we noticed this as on several occasions it felt as though I had more than I should and I am by no means a light weight when it comes to alcohol. Vodka and coke tasted of vodka and lots of it at times.

Location of the hotel in the resort is great if you are able bodied, as mentioned in all the brochures, it is on the edge of the resort and on the side of a slope. Lots of steps to the beach but this was not a problem for us. It is also a short walk to resort centre, either by road with steep hills or along the board walk which stops just short of the hotel on the beach so expect sand in your toes.

Lots of wasps, which were a problem if you eat outside, not the giant ones like the one that greeted us on the first night, but smaller normal ones. These however are not aggressive like UK wasps, and respond well to being ignored or a gentle usher away from the food.I am normally petrified of wasps at home and show myself up by running away with my hands flapping all over the place. We did notice though that they were more attracted to other people that had meat on the plate, so top tip is go veggie if you eat outside- or permanently ;0)

You are charged 7 euro per day to use the sunbeds on the beach but this is because the beach is not owned by the hotel and anyone can come along and use the facilities. But if you are unwilling to pay for this go and by a couple of Li-lo's from the resort and use them!!. Sunbeds by the pool are crammed in and too close for comfort for me so I did not begrudge paying for the space and location of the beach beds.

The resort itself is very quiet, I think the Hotel is possibly ruining this little village as most of the restaurants seemed very quiet. We ate at Alexis' Taverna and Sebastian's, Both excelled in service and taste. Sebastian's Briam was superb!!

The sea was lovely and warm and for the first 5 days like a mill pond that gently laps the shore and remains shallow for a long way. After a storm out to sea the waves became much bigger but this just added another dimension to the fun on the beach.

As mentioned previously, check out is at 12pm and AI ends then, some people take a chance and eat in the restaurant but I am too honest I am afraid. If you are flying on a early morning flight the next day, you can have a late check out which is at an extortionate rate. We spent the day on the beach, leaving our luggage in the room next to reception then booked a courtesy room to shower that evening before eating out in the resort.
Warning the courtesy room is just the shower that is used by all in the gym so you just end up holding up any gym users and it is filthy with nowhere to hang your clothes. I questioned at reception whether this was indeed the courtesy room and they were absolutely no help so we may have been mistaken and not used the courtesy room at all, but it is not sign posted.

A quick note to respond to a previous review regarding the sewer systems.
Yes you are asked to refrain from putting paper down the loo. This is not a custom it is just necessity. You are in another man's country, please show some respect and do as you are asked. The Loo paper bins are changed daily and not at all smelly or disgusting.
What is more disgusting is people thinking they are better than everyone else,ignoring the request and causing the drains to block and back up with sewage. If you really cant face the idea of wrapping your used tissue in another piece and popping it in the bin then washing your hands, avoid GREECE!!!

We however will be back to Agios Gordios, but not to this hotel. We will stay in one of the many apartments in the village.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony666999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Great hotel for just a quiet, beautiful location with great views and adults only.

Little disappointed, expected more for the money. We went as 2 couples in late 20s-30s, enjoyed the view, but hotel was quite boring, not much to do in the area but we hired a car which was good. hotel hasnt made the most of the roof top bar, no music and crap films on tiny projector as only entertainment up there. There is a DVD player in the room and DVDs to hire for free. games and books also. darts, pool and table tennis, tennis courts.

Food- the same everyday. be aware that if the food doesnt get eaten at lunch it is served again for dinner. All in stops at 23:00 and hotel is more like full board than All In, no option to get food if you are out and about over set meal times. meals are not inclued on the last day and to keep room on if you have a late cheack out is a huge 120euro!

Hotel- very clean, nice room, only 1 pool but it wasnt a problem, due to the cliff half the sunbeds only get sun after midday. Check in was terrible, no info given, unfriendly staff but reception staff were fine after that when needed. all staff ok nothing special.
beach is down a few steps as others have said but they are wide concrete steps so no problem there. hotel sunbead on beach are 7euro a day or walk 30 seconds down the beach and they are free!

There is also a stray dog that roams around the hotel, the staff are all aware of it and they just let it drink out of the pool which people are swimming in which was disgusting

gym- mainly cardio, No free weights but air conditioning, towels and water.

Also if with Thomsons tranfer is far too long at 1h20, also 1st hotel to get picked up at and last to get dropped off at on Thomsons excursions so alot of wasted time.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, u want a room as high up as possible for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Head of Marketing- Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate our guests’ feedback, which allows us to evaluate each experience so we may pursue every effort to exceed our guests’ expectations. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the views and scenery but since our aim is to offer memorable experience to all our guests we are sorry to read that the profile of this property was not of your preference.

Please if you are thinking of visiting any Aquis property again we are happy to find the most appropriate one for your needs. We do offer properties in lively resorts with lots of activities to do. We totally agree that the experience depends heavily on making the right selection so we are happy to provide you with recommendation on which property would best fit your profile.

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience on arrival as this is not up to our standards, please accept our apologies for your check in experience; we always try to do our best and it seems that we missed something that day.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and for staying with us at the Aquis Agios Gordios Hotel.We take great pride in providing an exceptional experience to our guests and we do hope you will give us another chance your next time in Aquis; we will be happy to assist you at any case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Just had a wonderful all inclusive holiday at this recently refurbished hotel. The room was spacious with a fantastic view and was cleaned every day. A fridge was included in the room. The food was really good and the drinks package included named brands. We loved the entertainment especially the Greek dancing. A visit to Corfu town is recommended-you get the bus from the village which is also worth a visit. We always managed to find sunbeds no matter how let we were. The beach is reached by climbing down about 70 steps - OK on the way down!
We would definitely stay here again. The staff were really helpful and polite and we met some really nice fellow guests while we were here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CATLOVERS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Arrived home last week after a lovely week at aquis agios gordios. Beautiful hotel in an relaxing location. Booked a 'bungalow' expecting a suite - but just a term for a ground floor room. Very nice none the less. Cleaned every day by great staff. Cannot fault the place.

Expected older couples only from the reviews I read, but a mix of all different ages and nationalities.

Try the sushi restaurant too!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here for a week at the end of Jun 11. The hotel is set high up into the rocks so the views are to die for and it is situated right on the beach but there are lots of steps to climb to get down to it, but you do walk along a lovely shrub lined path but believe me it is well worth it . The decor of the hotel is first class with very comfortable seating in all the lounges and bars.
Our bedroon was lovely and spacious and tastefully furnished with a gorgeous bathroom with a brilliant hairdryer supplied
Beach towels are supplied and changed as you wanted
Dining there is easy as both the quality, freshness and variety of food is excellent in the restaurant
The staff are all lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them.
Would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone as when we were there it was full of people of all ages, some of which had returned many times. The entertainment was good and most nights it was on at the rooftop bar which is lovely. We walked into the village a couple of times and loved the cocktails at Madison Garden. We went into Corfu town for the day on the local bus at 9.00am, when it was cooler and walked the harbour and the old town which is well worth seeing
Would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone as when we were there it was full of people of all ages and we will definitely be back next year

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. If you stay in the bungalows you have to walk more
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Magsellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,243 reviews
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
487 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,345 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Property: Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing