We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Nearby Hotels
Marina Apartments(Agios Gordios)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pink Palace(Agios Gordios)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation(Agios Gordios)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelagos Apartments(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romantic Palace Hotel(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Lido Sofia Apartments(Agios Gordios)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mazis Apartments(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jenny's Studios(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ammos Bay(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Hotel(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,466)
Filter reviews
2,466 results
Traveller rating
1,161
806
357
81
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,161
806
357
81
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bartunnel barlemon treeperla restaurantcorfu townmain restaurantla grottaplunge poolroof terracelocal villagebuffet restaurantsea viewevening entertainmentrelaxing holidaythomson repagios gordios beach hotelgolf buggies
Filter
Updating list...
1,617 - 1,622 of 2,466 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We very rarely go back to the same hotel, but made an exception for this hotel as we had enjoyed it so much last year. As other people have commented if you have never been before it is probably ok and thankfully the location and the views can not be downgraded.

The food and cutbacks in quality and variety were our main grumble, last year the food was outstanding, with several theme nights, carved joints and speciality fish dishes. The evening entertainment was noisy and of poor quality.

We always make a point of using the local language for please, thank you, good morning etc but the hotel now seem to employ more staff from Poland/Ukraine etc. (they are all very pleasant and hardworking) but unable to offer the Greek atmosphere and service we had last year.

Still a lovely hotel, but they need to listen to the recent reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judithWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed here last week in May, Hotel very nice , rooms very clean and modern.
Food nice especially the brekfast and Lunch
Tea was okay
No queues for drinks which was great and the hotel was full
Only down side was the entertainment it was poor quality

Booked with Alpha rooms which was very good no problems what so ever

Over all very nice relaxing week in a nice hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcolm023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Having read previous views before leaving, I felt a little apprehensive on what I had booked .
But this is how we found the hotel ,,,,
Welcomed on arrival by Helen - a nice touch . Restaurant staff were very good -quick to serve drinks and be of service . Sometimes too quick in removing plates but no problem there . Animation team a delight ..Mickey busy organising French Boules ,water polo etc ...Ettore busy with almost everything (up for a game of tennis with my husband ! ) and Ela such a delight ...dancing everywhere and chatting to everyone ,make sure you visit her Salsa class on the roof terrace . The busy lobby bar team that knew your drink before the end of the holiday ,Where did the comments come from for staff not being good ???
Breakfast was cereal ,juices ,fruit,salads,cheeses,meats, jams ,breads ,toast,croissants, eggs(boiled,poached,fried,omelette) bacon ,baked beans, potatoes,mushrooms ...the list goes on n not forgetting the pancakes n chocolate spread yummy ! Lunch had always french fries ,wraps , grilled meat ,salads ,feta , pizza , we actually enjoyed lunch the best as I have a very fussy eater .Evening meal was good too usually soup ,salads , choice of meat (pork,chicken ,beef ) fish ,veg and with cheese pie and spinach pie -delicious ! Sweets were usually cakes and always ice cream available !
I would put the hotel at 3/4 star ..never having visited a Thomson Gold or Platinum before I would expect them to have more edge than this hotel ..saying that it suited us ..we loved it and had a very restful week . You do get used to the steps all around and I actually felt much better for them (67 graduated steps to the beach !!!) There is always the beach bar to break your journey ! Spa showers available for late flights home but book a time slot the day before at reception .Take tea /coffee for your room -kettle and cups there but nothing else !!! Bands are not removed at 12 on your departure day we were able to eat /drink at no extra cost right up to departure at 7 10pm . Enjoy it we certainly did !

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view - I personally wouldn't go for bungalow as a walk to hotel
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jude16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed for a week at the Aquis Agios Gordios on an all inclusive basis. I would certainly recommend this hotel to couples of all ages, however I do feel a couple of improvements could be made. Firstly, the long trouser rule for men for dinner is very outdated and unnecccesary if at the same time they allow men to go in wearing ripped jeans, trainers, flip flops and baseball caps. Surely this rule is there for a reason and this needs to be re looked at. I was confronted by a waitress on one evening when I decided to wear smart tailored shorts and shoes and pointed out that i looked considerably smarter than many people in the restaurant. I was told that the shorts must be below the knee, ridiculous! Especially when there were girls in there wearing hot pants!

Secondly, the beach bar is very nice although it closes at 6pm when it is still hot, then re opens at 8.30pm but is not all inclusive after this time, the hotel is all inclusive and so all bars should be. The bars are all inclusive until 11 pm which is fair enough.

The entertainment was a bit bland. The entertainment staff seem to make an effort but there is certainly something lacking with them unfortunately. The best night is Greek night and this is when an outside group of Greek dancers turned up for the evening.

As for the drinks, there was quite an array to chose from the all inclusive menu, so these were not too bad. I did however realise just how bland the beer  was when I went to a local bar nearby the hotel. The beer is okay but not great. Drinks are served during meal times and the red wine is quite nice. Apart from the beach and pool bar, drinks are served in glasses which does make a change from other all inclusive resorts. The roof terrace bar is very picturesque and also has a hot tub. 

The staff are very friendly and I would recommend using the tour company based in the hotel lobby as many of the other agents offer inflated prices for the same tours. We did the Albania tour which is worth doing, the price was 35 euros with the option to pay another 20 euros each to do an archeology tour and includes lunch. 

Nearby there is a small road of bars and restaurants which was very quiet but I'm sure it gets busier nearer to the middle of the summer. There ar some nice bars on this road.

The beach is in a great location facing west and there were plenty of sun beds provided by the hotel. There was quite a bit of seaweed on the beach and in the water but this cannot be helped and should not put people off going to the beach. Further down the beach there are pedalos and kayaks to hire, although at 15 euro for one hour i felt this was slightly overpriced

In conclusion, i would recommend this hotel to others wishing to visit cofu.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view, but some open right on to the pool area or bar area, so check this before booking.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellerfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

booked this hotel after lots of researching of both the hotel and the area. we took our holiday from 11th to 25th May 2012 and honestly had the most wonderful time. We were in a bungalow 7201 which although a short walk from the main body of the hotel was well worth the walk to the pool, dining room, beach etc.the room had obviously been recently refurbished it was in tip top condition. the inclusion of air conditioning and a fridge with facilities to make ice was very welcome. the double balcony offers a lovely opportunity to sit and watch the sunset which when there is a clear evening is out of this world. the bed is huge and very comfortable, the bathroom small but most adequate, the shower with adjustable head offers a forcefull spray which can be regulated to a soft sprinkle when the sunburn kicks in!
the room is serviced daily but my only negative mark would be that the floors don't seem to be cleaned daily as when you walk barefooted there is feeling of dust/dirt on your feet. the cleaners also don't move anything you leave out so that the table where we kept our perfume,aftershave etc in the bedroom wasn't cleaned for the 2 weeks that we were there!

we found the food to be good on the whole there were only a couple of evenings that there wasn't really anything on offer that we liked (although I did try most of everything on offer, the only way to make an informed comment)the food was hot and obviously freshly cooked and replenished very regularly. breakfast was also very enjoyable although the queue for the toaster was on occassions too long, and the coffee at best warm but we did find that collecting your own pot of coffee resulted in the hotter coffee. reading some comments re the food i think either people are extremely fussy or we just happened to hit on the best 2 weeks of the season!

the opportunity to eat on the outside terrace is marvellous especially if you eat a little later and are able to watch the sun setting truly magical!

we found the staff were in 2 halves. the evening staff, particularly the young waiters and waitresses were excellent although I must say that as we were half board we were very embarrased on some occassions as the older waitresses who were keepers of the purse watched us like hawks and then one evening when the tills had gone down caused a real scene as they couldn't decide how much we had to pay even though we had had the same drinks for 2 weeks and knew exactly how much we had to pay,4 waitresses clucked around our table adding up and deciding the amount we needed to pay. We couldn't get out of there quick enough and although we laughed about it I am sure other diners must have wondered what was going on especially as most are all inclusive.A solution may be to have waitress for food and different ones for drink.
the staff at breakfast were the other side of the coin in that they were mostly men who were very keen to clear away even though on some occassions we were still eating off the plates!!!! we were asked what drink we would like, but on a couple of occassions it wasn't bought to us, this was when we discovered that the coffee was hotter when we collected it for ourselves.
I know there may sound like negative comments but they didn't take away from our enjoymeny whatsoever.

we had decided to be half board as we didn't want to be tied to the hotel for the duration of our stay which would most likely have been the case should we have been on an all inclusive holiday. Therefore we went into the town after our evening meal and tried out several of the local tavernas which were very enjoyable particularly Madison Garden where we we drank lovely cocktails (particularly the long island tea!) in a beautiful setting served by Mary a very friendly local girl, and prepared by Thanos the very frienly owner. We frequented there for quite a few evenings drawn in by the very reasonable price of 3.50 euros for a spirit and mixer,progressing to the delicious cocktails and enjoying a complimentary blue vodka on our last visit as a thank you for 'supporting' Thanos while we holidayed there.
we had decided that we would like to explore the island while we were there and so we hired a car (from Lords travel in the foyer of the hotel 95 euros for 3 days as a post to 118 euros from the Thomson rep)we explored the nort west of the island on day 1 which was ok to visit but we were very glad that we hadn't chosen to stay there for our 2 week break. San Stefanos was very nice for a half day visit as was Sidari but there was not very much there at all. The second day took us to the north east of the island known as kensington of corfu kassiopi, Kalami and kaloudes were absolutely beautiful. the third day took us to the south of the island our first stop was Kavos - oh my word what a terrible resort, typical young persons area, just barand nightclub after bar and nightclub and not very well kept to say the least! we almost chose to stay here but thank goodness for trip advisor it alerted us to the fact that it was predominantly a young persons area!. we moved around the coast to St georgious (south) we spent a lovely few hours here along the beach and in the town, we enjoyed a mythos in a bar that was run by a lovely lady who had gone to live there from the midlands 20 years ago but who was saying that all inclusive in hotels was killing the local businesses.
we visited corfu at night utilising the car as there is no other way of seeing corfu at night unless you go on one of the very highly priced trips.
it is a lovely town during the evening especially all the little shops around the Liston square.
the only problem with driving are the lack of signposts in english although you do get a map with the car it is not always to pick out your route, but great fun non the less.

we decided to undertake a coule of the walks to experience some of the island on foot, well we had quite an experience trying to follow directions to Sinardes. you can do a 3,5 or 7 mile walk, well we did the 7 mile walk which turned into a 10 mile walk!!! the directions are very hit an miss (one direction is to turn right at the bottles left by previous walkers!!!) well should any one else decide to do this walk the right turn (up the donkey path, although i really don't think a donkey would get up it!!!) is just before the bottles!!! you will turn and think there is no path but I assure you there is a path it is signposted for the taverna at the top. If you go past the bottles you are going to hit a dead end in about 2 miles!!!!!
when we got to the top of the donkey path there is the said taverna and a little old lady alughing at us and telling us as we stood dripping sweat before her that we must have very good legs!!!!!!!!! the Mythos went down very easily after that climb.

we walked back along the road although no where near as steep as the donkey path still a fair walk up and down quite steep hills and definately not recommended in flip flops!

another tip is to make sure you take anti mosquito spary as i had some very nast bites 2 that have required antibiotics back at home to clear up, i looked on the internet to see if mosquitos were a problem but found that they weren't, but wasps were, I think we saw 2 wasps the whole time we were there but the mosquitos they were something else!!

we have now been back 2 weeks and can honestly say that we had a most fantastic holiday. I think it is what you make it, yes there were little things that weren't quite platinum standards the entertianment, a very big disappointment, but we loved our time in corfu I think that is because we weren't all inclusive so didn't feel tied to the hotel and were able to explore the town, patronise the local shps and tavernas,and see the whole island which is very beautiful with very friendle people who were on the whole extremely grateful for our custom.

i don't think we will return as there are many other countries and islands to see but if we did return we would definatley return to this hotel and town as they are in our opinion the best on the island.

Room Tip: bungalow, a little walk from the hotel but closer to the village and worth the walk as the rooms are very confortable with a seperate bedroom, bathroom and lounge area. air conditioning is included as is a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. (although you will need to remember to collect tea, coffee and milk from the dining room as the supplies are not replenished by cleaning staff)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahsteve_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews