We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place but not for young couples!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place but not for young couples!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Hello,we just come back from our holiday in Aquis Agios Geordis. Generaly it was good. The hotel is located in a very nice place exactly on the beach. The view and the sunsets are amazing. Our room was clean and tidy every day. The food was nice.There are planty of choices of salads,main courses and desserts. The stuff was frendly and helpful,specially Dimitri on the reception desk. That were the things wich make us a good impression of the place.
The things wich dissapoint us were that there is no wi-fi what so ever. There is but you can not open any page, even facebook. Also we were all inclusive but not really. After 23h you have to pay. Also there is just a small list of drinks wich are all inclusive. You have to pay even for a coffee.
Also there is not much to do if you are young couple. The programe in the hotel is quite borring and there is nothing to do also in the village .
My advice is to rent a scooter and go around the island. There is very nice sandy beach with a lovely bar on the beach - Glifada.
We realy enjoyed our holiday but we prefere to go next time in some other place!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    700
    316
    72
    52
See reviews for
148
1,510
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

A week here with my husband was relaxing and very enjoyable. hotel is very clean , waiting staff extremely polite and efficient .Food ( buffet ) good with plenty of choice ( maybe not 4* all the time but well cooked and presented). Steps to the beach really not an issue and we always found sunbeds and umbrellas regardless of the time of day.Some people complain about the sand being hot - this is ridiculous - of course it's hot ! The Thomson rep is too keen to sell excursions without really being truthful about what you get for your money so,I would advise independent exploration ! the only critiscm I have of the hotel is that the quality of the beach towels is poor and they don't seem to have enough for everyone but , in fairness to the reception staff , they did obtain fresh ones for us early in the morning when we complained . we will certainly go back to this hotel !

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Bev r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a lovely comfy and relaxing holiday in a the resort and hotel which is set into a cliff with a nice sandy beech just below. It's fair to say bar the walk from the beech to the hotel it's difficalt to fault the hotels location.(this may be tough for older or disabled guests)

Only one poor meal within the week but in general something for everyone to a high standard for buffet service.

Very nice clean rooms all with sea views, bathroom a little cramped but fine and well equipped.
The beach was really nice and clean with a small amount of shingle but in general very clean with clear tourquoise sea and very hot soft sand!
The hotel was mainly all inclusive with a nice mix of friendly european guests. We didn't have a ny major gripes with our holiday in fact I feel some of the reviews were a little unjust.

The only areas where we were a little unhappy were (1)the wasps, I thought the hotel may have been able to do more here but the issue isn't as bad as is made out by other reveiws, however if you have a wasp allergy dont go here!. (2) Dress code in the evening dining room needs reveiwing as women can wear shorts but men can't........ but some do, which again isn't fair for men who abide by the rules. (3) In the dining room, at times your plates could be cleared up from your table a little too quickly for example when you have finished your meal and your partner hadn't so watch out!. Minor gripes but all in all a very happy and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The hotel has 3 seperate blocks all close together with different perspectives that are good or bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Just back from 10 night stay at this Hotel,which we found to be comfortable, clean ,and a good hotel to relax and take in the sun, the pool was a bit on the small side but there were plenty of sun beds to relax on.
The hotel is on a nice sandy beach ,though to get there you have to go down a lot of steps(about 70) however it's well worth the effort as there are plenty sun beds and parasols ,plus the hotel has a bar on the beach which serves snacks during the day so no need to go up to the restaurant for lunch, the sea is great .
The hotel is adult only ,We found the food to be of a high standard for A/I ,always plenty of choice ,well prepared with a very good salad bar,there was always a vegetarian option too
There was the usual day and night time entertainment ,the rooftop bar was very cool in the evening,great to unwind with a drink and watch the wonderfull sunsets,
A visit to the local village which has shops,bars and restaurants is well worth the effort ,we found the locals to be most welcoming ,a special mention to Mike's music bar ,who after keeping us entertained then drove us back to the hotel ,
The staff at this hotel deserve a mention to,each and everyone of them where helpfull, pleasant,
always greeted you with a smile.
In our opinion this is a good standard hotel ,However there are lots of steps to manouver
so it's not for those with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: sea view room is a must as the view to wake to is superb,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JM1Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel. Had a really relaxing time.
The hotel has a very modern and up to date interior design. Externally the hotel is set into the hill side over several floors.
As well as presenting new furnishings in simple yet refined colours and textiles, there are innovative seating and 'living' space layouts in communal areas.
There is plenty of choice for where to spend your evenings, with a choice of bars from a roof top bar area with dimmed lighting and quiet ambience through to a beach level lively bar for the young at heart.
This hotel was a cut above the rest in regard to cleanliness. It was as if they had special cleaning fairies...as there were never staff getting 'under your feet'.
Service was always friendly and helpful yet not invasive or over attentive. Just the right balance!
I paid for the cheapest room and was more than happy with the quality of my accomodation, again modern and fresh with new wardrobes and a clean and good quality bathroom.
Dining is one large restaurant with the All Inclusive option with a good standard of service. I always would dine late and never felt rushed to finish my meal even though I was one of the stagglers at the end of the evening.
Even when the restaurant is busy I never waited more than a couple of minutes for my drink order to be taken. There are 2 other restaurants available, that require booking and additional payment. I was on a strict budget therefore didnt make use of these.
The clientel were also relaxed and friendly, with no bad language observed or loud behaviour. Ages ranging from early 30's to 60's. Mostly mixed sex couples, there were one other single sex couple/friends as well as myself.
There are steps to the beach and from the pool area up to the lifts in the main building. But not too many and you could have a rest mid way up from the beach if you arent used to steps or have respiratory health implications.
Its true that beach towels arent available on your first day, however they allow room towels for that day to be used. Room towels replaced every day. Also beach towels are swapped at the pool bar every day!!
A couple of chairs in the bar area needed some attention as it is rattian outdoor furniture. However this was only a couple and the vast majority of seating and sunbeds in immaculate condition.
People do reserve sunbeds although not allowed to, but saying that we never went without either a table and chairs or sunbed at any time of day.
I highly recommend this hotel and would urge anyone to stay. The local economy need our support, so our favourite destinations will always be there when we need them.
Thanks and Gratitude to the Excellent Agios Gordios Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenni113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekly stay at this hotel and it was a fabulous experience! It is located in a very beautiful area, the rocks and seaview are just stunning! The sea is very clean and refreshing during the hot day. There are two rocks near the beach and it was amusing to climb on them.
We got a spacious room on the first floor next to the pool. It was always very clean, towels and beddings were changed daily. At first we wanted to change the room because there were two beds pushed together and we were at once offered a bungalow with a more spacious room including sofa and a large bed. However it was a bit further from the main building and we thought it was not worth walking up and down the hill. :)
The food was excellent, especially italian and greek evening which they arranged. I personally got in love with that nice pie with feta cheese. :) It was very clean in the restaurant and waitress were helpful and polite, left only good impression.
Their adults-only policy is very nice, the hotel was full with couples of all ages. Very relaxing and romantic atmosphere. We could always find free sunbeds near the pool and on the beach. The animation team was awsome, esp many thanks to Ela, she always had some nice words to cheer me up! :) The beach party was an event worth going and there were some performances in lobby bar of a very high level.
Reception was always very polite and helpful. For example there was one evening when we arrived late to the hotel after sightseeing and we faced no problem in getting a couple of sandwiches to eat.
All in all I can highly recommend this hotel for relaxing holiday on Corfu. Only dont forget to rent a car or a scooter and go to see the island. Wish you a pleasant time!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I had a very nice week here in July following a busy week cruising. This is a perfect place to relax. Set on the side of a cliff in a nice bay with beautiful uninterupted views and lovely sunsets. There were plenty of beds on the beach and we didint find a problem with people 'booking' them. There were lots of beds at the pool and towel booking do go on here. Whilst there always seemed to be beds available on the pool deck the problem really was lack of umbrellas for shade and some people would bag 2 and three umbrellas. The beach is small and the sand is not the softest but ok. At the edge of the beach as you enter the sea there was pebbles which made it a little difficult to get in and out but once in the sea was superb with a lovely sand bottom. It was very hot when we visited and the sand got very very hot as the day wore on. Just one of those things but don't attempt the beach without footwear. The beach bar is excellent with plenty of seats and nice place to relax after a day on the beach before heading back up to the hotel. It closes at 6.00 and I felt a further 30 mins would have been better. Nice bar at the pool also. Pool towels are a major issue. Their quality is very poor and there seems to be a shortage of them. One of the ones we got on the first day had the top and bottom missing and a hole in the middle. It was all that was available and because there is a shortage of towels unless you queue at 10 in the morning you might not get a change of towel every day. For this they asked for a 10 euro deposit. You could buy a big beach towel in the village for 5 euros!The food was good and the selection extensive. We are not very keen on a buffet dinner which was negative for us. There is a dining room away from the main buffet which was a bit more secluded and you could sit outside but there is a problem with bees. The main problem was trying to get a drink in the restaurant and once you had attracted someones attention there was often a language barrier to get what you wanted and this was repeated every time you wanted a glass of water or a glass of wine. I also found the way guests collected their whole 3 courses around them before they started eating a bit off.
The bedrooms were spacious, clean and well decorated with good furniture. They were cleaned daily and linen was regularily changed as were the towels ( much better that the pool towels) Nice balcony all facing the sea.
There was entertainment of varying quality in the lobby bar each night.
The village ( easiest access via the beach) is small but there are some nice restaurants both along the beach and on the mainstreet.
Staff attitude was mixed but in general good.
All in all we enjoyed and would consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank damasust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
8.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Property: Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing