We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Hotel in a Grand Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Nice Hotel in a Grand Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

This is a nice Hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. The food was good, our bungalow room was good, the staff are good, the drinks are well you have probably guessed it by now. It's a shame the Hotel is constrained by some terrible 60/70s design because I don't think there is anything they can do to make it into a truely platinum experience. The one showpiece the Hotel has to offer is the view across the bay especially at sunset. Memorable and magnificent spring to mind. If you have booked this Hotel and can see past the 'trades man like' entrance and the shocking 'blot on the landscape' architecture then you will have a relaxing, restful and enjoyable holiday I'm sure.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Dunkinbiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    700
    316
    71
    51
See reviews for
148
1,506
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My Wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Aquis Agios Gordios... The no children rule made for a very relaxing break around the pool and the location, food, rooms and service were top notch. Of particular note, the all inclusive package was very good, the rooms had everything you could need and sheets/towels were changed daily and the air conditioning was superb.

The animation team did a good job providing guests who wanted to participate with some activity during the days which without them would have purely consiste of sun bathing & more sunbathing... Mickey was great at organising the table tennis for the guys and he even made an effort to come and say goodbye as we waited on the lobby for our transfers, the girls also did a good job with splash dance, though I won't miss the music they used for it!! Only negatives would be the wasps around the pool, they don't sting but they are just there! All in all though, a great place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank legend777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The location was a plus and the sunsets stunning, The bungalows were vey comfortable but we were in one that was close to the Hotel---some were a long way away. The staff were efficient and in particular the ' Student Waitresses ' worked very hard throughout the day and evenings.
A shortage of beach towels led to chaos and frustration most mornings but it did become a race each day to acquire the towels , Our major disappointment was the quality of the hot food at meal times. Not very appetising and the same type of food every few days not particularly well cooked. We ate out most nights during our stay.Beware of the day long coach trips we spent almost two and a half hours at the beginning and the end of the tour pickingup from other hotels--we would not have gone if we had been informed of this. We spent a lot of money and were really disappoited with the whole experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was the 3rd time that my wife and I (plus 2 grown up 'children') had a week here in high-season August. With one or two niggles, we have been very happy here before; but not quite so much this year. Having said that, my complaint is more with Thomson's to whom I shall be writing separately to complain.

We returned this year because we assumed that Thomson upgrading the Hotel to 'Platinum' status meant that not only would the 'niggles' have been ironed out but the total experience would also be considerably better than before. After all, the double digit percentage price increase suggested that this 'hope' would be well founded on something. In reality, this year's experience was lacking in several respects...probably largely because of Greek economic pressures on the Hotel, and an apparently new Management team from the previous year.

Rumour amongst the guests was that they had recently had some staff industrial problems (largely over remuneration for differently nationality staff), severe problems over the supply of towels etc the week before our arrival; and it was obviously not quite the happy place it had seemed in previous years. This year, there was no ‘Manager's Evening’ (at which there was live music by the pool and the staff were rather quaintly paraded, giving us the opportunity to give them a round of applause!). There was no 'gratis' evening at the Olive Tree restaurant for each room booking (this year you would have to pay...which not many appeared to want to do)...and evening entertainment was much more muted than before taking place in the Reception Bar area. (The Sushi restaurant remained firmly closed...and seems to have become the overspill venue for guest's cases and Tour rep presentations). The Animation Team tried very hard during the day with a routine that – after 2 or 3 days – also got very repetitive, but they do try hard…even if this old moaner got fed up with their ‘Ghetto Blaster’ for Aqua Gym etc. often overrunning their slots (same music each day)…often competing with the more muted mood music from the Bar area. For a large part of the day, the pool area is not a restful place! (So, go to the beach during that if you want I suppose!)

As one or two previous reviewers have mentioned the food is plentiful; but the main course food is certainly not of a 'Platinum' standard: very repetitive and often overcooked…with few well prepared fish dishes etc. let alone local produce. The salads are very good…as is the good variety of bread and fruit which is always available. The fruit ‘juices’ and the cocktail drinks contain sugary fruit 'drink' as opposed to real 'juice' and are therefore very watery and the local spirits are not up to par. You can apparently get freshly squeezed orange juice (but costing 2.5 euros); and certain cocktails (eg. Pina Colada) will cost you 4.5 euros. During our week, they had some problems with some of the drinks dispensers which meant that often drinks were not chilled coming from hastily acquired bottles of (eg.) Cola or whatever. Hardly an ‘all inclusive’ ‘platinum’ experience!

This is all very sad because it is a lovely place and most of the staff could not be more helpful...especially in the restaurant. It would have been nice to see the Chef out front however! The main attraction remains the Hotel's beautiful location, and the beach below which is exceptional. Without this, it would be a pretty mediocre experience. (Don't bother with the Tennis Court: the 3 balls you will be loaned - in a container that says 'As provided at the Seoul Olympics' - don't bounce, and you will be charged 2.5 euros if you lose one...as you probably will down the cliff! Daily payment for a room safe always niggles...and the 'Free wi-fi' is in reality an unsecured ordinary network that is immensely slow especially at peak times as several hundred guests try to check their e-mails. I could receive - but not send - e-mails all week.

Overall, it remains a good average upper 3* hotel with relatively modern clean air-conditioned rooms (if poor pillows!) and wonderful views and swimming. Yes there are some wasp issues...but just don't over react and they will tend to leave you alone. The inconsiderate smokers on the beautiful restaurant veranda annoy me much more...especially at breakfast! But overall, my 'beef' is with ‘Thomson’…as this is currently NOT a 'Platinum Hotel' experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have a seaview; so not too much to choose between them. (I have not experienced the bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clifftopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The main plus points to the hotel are-
1) The setting and the sunsets- its a little out of the way and a trek into town
2) Its adults only

I have to say I have never been to a hotel where the drinks are so watered down. The food is OK but if you are a "salad doger" like my husband then you could be stuck for some choices.
The restuarant has a long trousers policy but it did seem a bit like one rule for some and not for others. There are notices around the pool area about reserving sunbeds but this did not seem to be enforced with such vigor and the usual towels were left out with not a soul on them.
We were also disappointed at lunchtime as if you wanted a light snack 2 trays of mini-rolls/sandwiches were brought out to the pool bar and left there to get warm and curly. They would have done better by getting a tall fridge and making and individually wrapping them up- then people could help themselves. Once these were gone there was nothing else and as the weather was so hot I didnt always want to trek up to the restuarant for a full lunch. The A'la carte restuarant was never open and we were a little disappointed by that, but being AI would not have expected to pay for this on top.
The entertainment staff were a little pushy someimtes and to be told "you're being lazy" I felt was a bit rude to say the least- I pay for a holiday to relax totally so I am entitled to be lazy if I choose to without being told that I am. The entertainment itself was a little poor but then this is usually expected. As this was June they were saved a little by the football which was on, so all they had to do was show the matches in the evenings. We were surpised that most of the staff were eastern european and not local.
Our room was fairly basic and was in the main part of the hotel to the left as you looked at it from the beach- our view was not that great as we overlooked another building so all we saw was a wall but the hotel was full so there was no chance of a room change.
This could really be a great hotel with just a few tweaks- but now its just average

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kingbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel 3rd August for a week, with a friend. We found the hotel, food and service to be excellent. The accommodation was immaculately clean with maid service every day. The staff were extremely polite and helpful except for the miserable woman that cooked the eggs at breakfast!! The bar and pool areas were lovely, particularly the roof terrace and the beach bar. Incidentally, as has been previously written, you have to go down (and more importantly up again) 60 something steps to go to the beach/beach bar and promenade where there are many tavernas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. However there are a couple of things that I feel are negative and should be rectified. In the evening the beach bar is not all inclusive, I really didn't understand this at all as it was in the day and for obvious reasons, albeit a gorgeous spot, there was hardly anyone drinking there in the evening. Also to get to the seafront tavernas you have to go through the beach bar and on to a stretch of unboarded sand before you eventually get onto a boarded path which goes all the way along the "promenade". The stretch of "unboarded sand needs to be boarded asap as although it was not a problem in the evening, walking over it during the day was like walking over hot coals and was really difficult and would be a huge problem for someone lacking mobility. As far as I was concerned I had a truly lovely holiday at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JillyF934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

After reading several reviews just before our departure date, we tried to change hotel, but due to the late notice, this was not possible, so was very reluctant and having book bungalow rooms I e-mailed the hotel and asked to be located near the main hotel (having read that some bungalows were located 20 mins hilly walk away.
On our arrival we were greeted with refreshing juice and a friendly welcome. When issued our room I was assured that the views and room would be worth the location and that we could get the hotel buggy back and forth. We were in bungalow 8203, which was great, with a large lounge with a comfortable settee, chairs, TV, fridge, large wardrobes and dressing table, the whole bungalow was finished to a high standard with patio doors leading to a large balcony with fantastic views. However the walk back in 38*+ heat up very steep hill, was very difficult and therefore we would walk down to the hotel and ask for the buggy to take us back. (This was not always gone with good will and one reception staff asked us why we did not stay in the hotel; I was always able to say that I had contacted the hotel before our arrival and asked to be moved, so we always had the upper hand) Speaking to other guests they stated that the walk to the bungalows had spoilt their holiday as it was taking them up to 30 mins to walk back up extremely steep hills in the heat.
The hotel is on a nice sandy beach, although to get there you have to go down a lot of steps however it's well worth the effort as there are plenty sun beds and parasols, plus the hotel has a bar on the beach which serves snacks during the day so no need to go up to the restaurant for lunch, the sea is great. If you walk along the beach, after a short distance there is a wooden walk way that takes you to the village, there is not a lot there, a few bars and shops, but very nice and worth the walk. The local bus stop is in the village, however we never used this due to the trek.
The pool area was a bit on the small side there were plenty of sun beds to relax on, and comfortable chairs around the bar area. The pool area was often very noisy with shouting from the entertainment team and noise from the activities. (Not the same quality as Thompson Gold, (but this is not a Gold hotel, having lost his status)

We found the food to be of a good standard, always plenty of choice, well prepared with a very good salad bar, there was always a vegetarian option too, and the occasional themed nights; however not to the same standard as Thompson Gold
The night time entertainment was not up to much, which was disappointing, One two occasions the entertainment team put on a DVD to watch on the roof bar.
The hotel requires a 10 Euro deposit for beach towels, which were of a very poor quality and they do not appear to have enough for everyone, with one couple waiting 2 day to collect their towels and changing was difficult, as they would run out by 10am
As this hotel is built into the side of the mountain there are a lot of steps and walking involved and if you have any difficulties in walking then this is not the place for you, even getting to the pool involves walking down steep steeps. However the hotel is very clean and has a very relaxing atmosphere. If you are looking for a hotel that is ‘away from it all’ then this is the one for you.
You cannot compare this hotel to Thompson Gold, in any area, it is sold as Platinum 4*,not Gold (Platinum is not higher that Gold) however I would suggest this hotel will lose its 4* status. The hotel would be a good 3* but not 4* this hotel was a Gold hotel in 2005

Room Tip: If you have booked bungalow rooms, ask for rooms beginning 6000, or 8000, these are nearer 7000 fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReynoldsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Property: Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing