We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Nearby Hotels
Marina Apartments(Agios Gordios)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation(Agios Gordios)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pink Palace(Agios Gordios)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ammos Bay(Agios Gordios)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romantic Palace Hotel(Agios Gordios)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Stevens on the Hill(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Danae Apartments(Agios Gordios)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Irene Apartments(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,466)
Filter reviews
2,466 results
Traveller rating
1,161
806
357
81
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,161
806
357
81
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bartunnel barlemon treeperla restaurantcorfu townmain restaurantla grottaplunge poolroof terracelocal villagebuffet restaurantsea viewevening entertainmentrelaxing holidaythomson repagios gordios beach hotelgolf buggies
Filter
Updating list...
1,267 - 1,272 of 2,466 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We returned from the Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel last week, having had an excellent two week holiday. From checking in to checking out all of the staff were very helpful and seemed happy to serve you, especially if you say please and thank you which not everyone did. It is a super, quiet place to relax and unwind as it is an adults only hotel
The hotel is in a spectacular setting with marvellous sea views. The rooms are spacious with balconies overlooking the sea, and are cleaned to a very high standard every day.
The restaurant and the pool can be reached from all floors via either lifts or stairs. I am 66yrs (no spring chicken), and preferred to use the stairs as we were All Inclusive and did not want to put on too much weight. From the pool to the beach there are 74 gently sloping steps with hand rails. I could walk down from the pool, have a quick beer and be back in 10 mins. We had no problem getting a sunbed either by the pool or on the beach at 10 am, although there were a few guests leaving towels and not returning until after lunch.
The food in the restaurant at breakfast, lunch and dinner was varied, plentiful and well cooked. You can have a different main course every night for a fortnight. The hotel asks you to dress for dinner, but some guests turned up in jeans and tee shirt or shorts and flip flops (not what I would call appropriate dress for a restaurant). The Olive Tree a la carte restaurant is excellent with a good menu and wonderfully prepared food served by very attentive staff.
There is entertainment every day and evening, organised by the excellent animation team. The evening entertainment is varied and professional with something different nightly. If you want a more low key evening, there is the roof terrace where you can sit and have a quiet drink. The drinks are very good from the wine and beer to the spirits and cocktails.
There is a wooden walkway from the hotel to the village along the beach which takes about 10 mins. There are a number of beach bars on the way and more bars, restaurants and souvenir shops in the village itself. You can get the bus from here to Corfu Town for about 3 euros each way.
We will certainly be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe90DurhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is in a very scenic location beautiful views where ever you look ,the village is only a five minute walk along the beach ,the only thing I will say against it is if you are not to good on your feet there are a lot of steps to get down to beach .The hotel is kept clean and tidy the food quite good especially in the Olive tree restaurant situated in the hotel which you get an invitation to try for free if you go with thompsons we'll worth a visit . The staff at this hotel were excellent friendly and very helpful especially those in the restaurant and bar ,nothing was to much trouble and two of them gave us a good laugh a right double act they were .Had no trouble getting sun bed whatever time we went by the pool ,I found swimming in sea warmer than the pool .Would stay there again but not in September to many wasps around .

Room Tip: Most of the rooms had very good views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfairbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I'm 28 and my partner 34, we fully enjoyed our stay and would return.

FOOD, lovely and well presented. Lots of variety and cooked to a high standard

BARS, lots of all inclusive to choice from, I personally loved the jelly bean. My favourite bar was the roof top, lovely to watch the sunset

ROOMS, always tidy and clean. Aircon was a god send and satellite tv had a movie channel which was handy for afternoon sleep.
Only thing to take into consideration is the upgraded bungalows are a walk away. Not a massive problem but does get annoying

Location, it's a bit in the outback but I believe there was a bus to main Corfu. Me and my partner rented a mopead which was great fun and surprisingly easy to find your way round.

Entertainment, couldn't comment as spent evenings on the roof. Guests did say was very good tho

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe_And_Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We visited 2 years ago and I have to agree with other reviews that they have made cutbacks in order to keep their prices down. Having said that, we still had a wonderful 2 weeks and the staff made up for the shortfall in the dining experience. Breakfasts were very.good and lunch and dinner had enough choice as long as you didnt pile 'everything' on your plate all at once like some diners tend to do. If you chose one main part of the meal there was plenty of accompaniments to go with it to make it a lovely meal. I have to agree with some that the wine was pretty poor but the drinks at the bars were not bad at all. The staff appreciate you being polite to them and learning a few basic Greek words before you go can make all the difference. Even the shy cleaning ladies respond when you say good morning. The pool and tunnel bar staff made our stay very enjoyable, they are friendly, funny and very helpful. Wasps were definitely a problem at this time of year so take basic first aid or avoid this hotel if you have an allergy to them. A big thankyou has to be given to "Joanna" and Ali, the animation team, they worked very hard to get us all involved, the quiz on the afternoon was hilarious and my husband was actually persuaded to join in with the karaoke down at the beach ( we have been together 33 years and this has never happened before) . We were in a bungalow at the top of the hill which we thought was gorgeous, roomy, and quiet. It was well maintained and well cleaned. It was not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties as it was quite a strenuous walk back to change for dinner and at the end of the evening, but we loved it. The beach is also a fair slope with large steps but if you 'ambled' as you do on holiday, it wasn't a problem if you were able bodied and chilled out !

The reviews on here are mixed but we had a really good holiday and the location is spectacular. If you are the kind of person who likes finding fault then maybe its not for you, but if you relax into holiday mode fairly easily and realise that 4 star in Greece is not the same as 4 star in England, then you will have

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxDShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location - superb views with the village a short stroll away and not touristy. A couple of surrounding villages are a bracing walk away and the scenery is superb as you walk through the olive groves to reach them. (Be sure to visit Cafe Angela in Pentati where there are no menus - you are shown what is cooking in the kitchen and you choose.) The hotel is kept clean and tidy and most staff are very pleasant. It isn't A-class though as the hotel is rated (4 star by Thomson) and perhaps this stems from the all-inclusive mentality. The hotel think you are out to get all you can. For example, we went on a half-board basis and they won't let you swap dinner and have lunch instead. Other hotels allow this without any fuss but because this hotel doesn't check you in for dinner, they have no way of policing this and they must think you will pretend to be swapping but really eat there at both meal times. Similarly, towels are not freely available as you go to the pool, you have to pay 10 euros each deposit for a towel, at the reception and they insist on cash, you cannot charge to your room and then you collect the towel from the pool bar. We were not told the procedure for obtaining towels until the welcome meeting the next day at 11.30. We had gone down to the pool before the meeting, gone to the bar to ask for a towel to be told we had to go back up to reception(5 floors up) to pay the deposit there and come back down with a card before we could get a towel. Towels can only be changed three times a week- all in all not 4 star standard! The jacuzzis don't work and are on the roof top bar area (6 floors up from the pool) not by the pool where you might expect to find them.

Restaurant: Each guest is invited to eat in the A la Carte restaurant, the Olive Tree during their stay at no extra charge (non-invited visits are charged for). The food is of a high standard as is the service from Tasos - it would be good if the waitress could be trained to the same standard as him. It is expected that you won't want to spend money on drinks that are not free - which is good that they don't try and make you part with your money but when I said I'd like wine with my meal but I didn't like the house wine, there was no attempt to show me the other wines that could be purchased - we found these by chance at the back of the menu and had a very nice bottle of wine at the price you'd expect to pay in the UK. In the main dining room however, there is only a choice of a bottle at 6.50 euros (not good ) or 28.50 euros (we didn't try this due to the price) but why they don't have the same selection as in the Olive Tree I don't know. It is as though they assume everyone just wants what they can get for free but we were on a half board basis so none of our drinks were free and we would have liked more choice in both restaurants, not just the one you pay extra for your food in. We decided to ask if we could purchase the wines from the al la carte menu in the restaurant and the reception staff said we could. Not surprisingly the most embarrassing discussion was held with the restaurant staff with the Supervisor eventually pretending to go off and find our requested bottle which was only listed on the a la carte menu, she came back and said they had run out. We said not a problem we'll chose another but suddenly we couldn't have any wine from that list! Unbelievable!

The food is OK in the main restaurant but so much nicer to eat in the local tavernas in our opinion which are still quite traditional and good value. It is a pity this hotel doesn't allow just bed and breakfast. There is a good choice at breakfast if you get there early enough but the juices are like water. Food in the evening is edible and something to suit all tastes but nothing to write home about. The sushi bar is only open once a week in the evening and the prices are the same as eating out locally. The opening time may just be due to going late in the season I'm not sure.
We didn't arrive until around 10pm ish and we were told sandwiches were available for us - we were literally given a sandwich each (thrown at us in the bar without asking if we were vegetarian - they both contained ham) and that was it! The flight was on time and therefore both Thomson and the hotel knew when we would be arriving. I would expect them to had provided something more than a sandwich and at least given a choice. On checking-in the hotel did not explain that if you wanted to charge items to your room, that a credit card would be required. So we went to the bar on our arrival, ordered 2 drinks and showed our room card to be told we had to pay cash as we hadn't opened an account.
Room: the room feels small when you walk in as the door stopper doesn't allow the door to be opened fully - the wardrobes are behind it but once in it is a good size.
Tea and coffee facilities are provided in your room but only 2 tea bags and 2 sachets of coffee at a time and uht cream.
The mattress was so so hard - we like a firm mattress but this was like sleeping on a board. The headboard at one side was completely worn away and the material below was visible. The shower door kept coming away from its rachets at the bottom and some thorough cleaning of the shower head and screen is required (it wasn't dirty but could have been improved on). Also be careful that you know how to regulate the shower before burning yourself - the hot and cold were actually the opposite way round to the red and blue labels! Only one plug socket worked in the room. A safe is provided but this has to be paid for at €3 per day. It annoys me when the safe has to be paid for as an extra, surely this should be included in the price of the room - ?, although Thomson do make it clear there is an extra charge.
I would definitely return to Aghios Gordios but would be likely to stay in one of the smaller hotels / apartments we discovered in the village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travels039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews