We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed there from 17 th October to the 24th. Stunning views. Stunning place.
Very clean. Excellent staff. Magical. Walk along the board walk to the small village, wonderful.
Small cats come out to greet you who do need to be fed as they are strays. They very much enjoyed cut up sausage and omlette with water in their little dish!!!!!
If you like a special spirit like a certain brandy, take it with you.
No need to dine out as the food is lovely.
If you are still awake, as it is so relaxing, later on in the evening, the entertainment is good.

Room Tip: if you are in the main part of the hotel you have a sea view, if you are in a villa it may not be gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kramek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,199 - 1,205 of 2,408 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

From wasps to 'other' bugs in and outside the bedroom we got bitten all over would hate to think what this place is like in the summer.
When we arrived and for the first three days of the week the lift in our block was broken, 70 stairs from the room to the main hotel front desk, i can walk but felt sorry for those that could not.
room was over looking the sea and we had a good seaview.
It would be nice if the hotel had a 'smokers' area rather than allowing smokers to smoke anywhere.
This is one place we will not be returning to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here from the 4th. to the 18th. October, and had a wonderful holiday. The hotel is on the beach, and the setting is stunning.the staff are very friendly and we have to mention Ivana, Svetlana and Georgia who were absolutely brilliant and helped in, no small way, to ensure we had a great time. We had no issues with the food, there was usually plenty of choice and a number of theme nights. Eating in the A La Carte restaurant "The Olive Tree" was a lovely experience and if you were travelling with Thomson one visit per week is part of the all-inclusive package.
The animation team of Ali and Johanna (Agli) provided the day time activities, around the pool area ( weather permitting ) evening entertainment was quite varied, quizes, bingo, Greek night, Belly dancing, Latin Dancing and many peoples favourite The Tenors.

Room Tip: Our room 3405 had a fabulous view of the sea, and the sunsets were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GILLANDJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Aquis for the second time in 3 years, the staff and service are excellent, there, to do all that they can to make your stay perfect, and genuinely hoping that you will be back.
The location on a steep cliff above the beach may not suit less mobile people, but the sea is good for swimming and the beach bar the perfect spot to while away the late afternoon and early evening, staffed by Dimitis and Joanna both excellent and efficient, no waiting for drinks because you are AI, like in Spain. The free sunbeds on the beach also a good change from previous.
Pool area nice if you like getting up early to reserve and sitting in the same spot every day stacked in like sardines.
Rooms fine always kept clean, first class house keeping.
Food has changed a little since our last trip and we did tell the chef not to bother with roast beef, but I think he is told he must do these dishes, pointless really, they cannot buy the correct beef, and it is not cut right. The Greek food is always excellent, and that is what we go to Greece partly for, well done Mr Cheffy.
Waiters and waitresses well staffed always happy and smiling, always a table available.
Bars main bar run by Michael, very professional , and friendly always a smile, Fotis who is either by pool or on Rooftop bar always happy to chat and tell you about the area, and the Greek way of life, tells a few jokes and funny stories too, brilliant fellow if you take the time to get to know him.
The Thompsons rep was hardly fit for purpose but did keep her nails well!
We hired a car from Thompsons before we went base model, approx. half price by booking online than in hotel, car not brilliant, screaming steering pump on full lock, this is the second and last time we hire from Thompsons, the previous car we had some years ago was equally poor quality.
The pick up point at the hotel is up a steep incline, some of the elderly had to drag suit cases up this as the coach does not pick up from the bottom, the Rep is working on this, taking into account we were there in September, all she had to do was ask the bell boy to drive the suit cases and folk in his electric truck to the bus stop, assuming the coaches could not reverse down. Working on it, all she was interested in was telling us to tick the boxes for good in resort rep, too busy eating crepes to check our return bus had arrived, this check was made by another tourist.
Transfers to and from hotel a cock up last to be dropped off and first to be picked up, on pick up we had a mini bus with no suspension, dreadful, on return to airport from the hotel to the main road a mini bus, then like some kind of hostage transfer we transferred to a coach, on a main road on a blind corner with passengers getting out onto the on coming carriage way. Thompsons were once the best but no more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radiostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our second visit here after a 2 year gap. We found the hotel in many ways just as before but it is perhaps better if I list the good things and the things to watch out for as many revues already exist.

Good,
Staff, all were friendly and happy to oblige in case of issues. We asked to change rooms due to noise from the evening entertainment and were moved as soon as possible
Rooms, the 2 we had were both to a high standard.
Hotel Entertainment-varied with something for everyone.
Food, in my view the food had slipped a little in the past 2 years particularly at lunch (but maybe its just that we have been to other hotels in that time and my mind maybe playing tricks

Issues- very few but if you want a good selection at meal times then don't leave it till the last half hour as the choice dwindles quickly

Don't go here if you cannot get around on your feet easily as its on a steep slope both down to the beach with many steps back up and outside the front door where there is a steep slope.

Try to keep away from the last few weeks before the hotel closes for the winter as the village also closes for the winter and options are limited beyond the hotel.

This is an excellent hotel which deserves its 4 * rating and has some great views from your balcony

Room Tip: keep away from the 31-- series rooms as they are too near reception and the entertainment if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashireterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have loved staying at this hotel over the last few years and have always recommended it and given it a maximum '5 star - Excellent' rating. Disappointingly on this occasion we encountered some issues that have slightly taken the shine off it for us.

We had always liked the fact that Brits were in a minority - however the hotel is now used by Thomson Holidays which means there are many more British guests. Unfortunately this has resulted in a few negatives for us.

The food seemed to be a bit more hit and miss and more geared to British tastes - one evening there was even roast beef and yorkshire pudding! This may appeal to some, but we go abroad for something different, not to be surrounded by other Brits eating a roast or chips!

Surprisingly for this late in the season the hotel was full to capacity and the restaurant seemed to be struggling to keep a variety of food on offer. There was a definite reduction in the number of dishes and salad options compared to before. The desserts used to be on a separate display table, but these were now within the main buffet area thus removing space for more food options. The greek yoghurt with fruit and honey which I previously enjoyed for dessert was only available at breakfast time and we also particularly missed the lovely variety of mini bread rolls that were previously in abundance and now non-existent. There was also no more muesli and branflakes available for breakfast.

Even though we booked the All Inclusive option we found we were eating out much more often in the lovely tavernas - Thalassa and Ortholithi are outstanding for food quality and service. And of course Madison Garden is great for cocktails.

There was also a terrible smell that seemed to eminate from the areas surrounding the lifts (as our room was close to the lift it seemed to pervade the room) - we had never noticed this on previous stays.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned moans we still had a lovely holiday and cannot fault the efforts of the staff that work so hard and are always friendly - particularly Dimitri who seems to spend about 14 hours a day working in not only the Tunnel Bar on the beach all day, but also in the lobby bar at night; and as the hotel was so busy he was even helping out in the restaurant as well! Also I need to congratulate the night receptionist (who's name escapes me - he might also be called Dimitri?) who delivered his welcome spiel when about 20 of us arrived late on Friday night - even though a very rude, drunken Brit was making it very difficult for us to hear by talking very loudly to his friends at the same time. I almost cheered when 'Dimitri' asked him to be quiet!

We went 11th - 18th October had fantastic weather - 25 to 28C most days (one thunderstorm and some rain on one night and into the morning but it cleared up afterwards and was hotter than ever!)

We still really love Agios Gordios, but next time (our EasyJet fights to Corfu next June are already booked!) we will be going self-catering in the village.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherrymc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here in October and the weather was perfect. Not too hot but a lovely 28 most days. The bungalow was private, clean, nice and cool with air con, and the decor was modern and comfortable. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. We had no complaints at all. Yes there were chips on offer which most of the English opted for most nights but if you try the other foods on offer you will be in for a treat. The staff were AMAZING. They work so hard to make your stay a hassle free enjoyable one and they always had a smile for you. learn some of the local language as they really appreciate you trying. If your a golfer, book it through the hotel as you get a really good deal and it was way cheaper than the Corfu golf website indicated. It's a really nice course and not to difficult to find. The views from the hotel are beautiful. Take a walk down to the village on the day you arrive as you can book boat trips to Albania, the blue lagoon and the caves, As well as hire scooters. Is a nice walk back along the beach to the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,437 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,439 reviews
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range: £86 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing