We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The location of this hotel can't be beaten, the views from all areas are stunning. We were there for two weeks on an all inclusive package. The first week was much quieter than the second and service was therefore much more attentive. We found the restaurant for dinner a little hectic at times and the staff, although very good, struggled to keep up with the replenishment and tidying up. Overall the hotel was clean and tidy. We had a bungalow and on arrival it smelt very damp I think this was a result of being closed up for the winter months and the fact it had been raining for a couple of days!!
We enjoyed the Tunnel bar on the beach, a great place to sit late afternoon before getting ready for dinner. The Panorama bar on the roof was also a good place to watch the sunset from. The food and drink were of a good standard and there was plenty of it. Luckily there were plenty of stairs to burn off some of the calories.
We hired a car while we were there and toured the Island. Well worth it although we thought Aghios Gordios to be one of the best places to stay. There are a number of shops and restaurants in the village but not overly busy when we were there. I would gladly go back there.

Room Tip: We had a bungalow. I would recommend as there is a separate sitting area and brilliant views from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We pay attention to all comments and we always try to meet our guest’s expectations. We hope to welcome you again in one of our resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,191 - 1,197 of 2,439 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and myself have recently returned from another stay at this hotel.
We can only agree with the many positive comments on trip advisor. All the staff are helpful, but Tasos, Soula and Costas in the Restaurant and Mike, Joanna and Eleni at the Pool Bar are particularly friendly which goes towards making the holiday even more enjoyable.
This hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing holiday.
Having read the odd negative comment I can only think those people stayed at a different hotel and/or they appear to be the proverbial "professional complainers "
We find the food of a good quality, varied and plentiful and any reasonable person would have no problem choosing food from any of the buffets to suit their taste.
The hotel is not suitable for people with serious mobility issues, but it certainly enhances fitness levels and the steps to the beach are not steep and are easily managed.
The only criticism comparing this years visit is the "entertainment" in the evening which is provided by three young people who are very nice and outgoing, unfortunately their talent and acts are amateurish in the extreme. That being said we tend to walk into the village after the evening meal and are not reliant on the entertainment.
We have booked again in September this year!!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main hotel have sea views and the sunset must be about the most photographed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for selecting again Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel for your holiday accommodation. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyable holidays with us and even more that you took the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor’s readers. It is always a pleasure to welcome you at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just got back from this lovely hotel. Have to say my first Greek experience is very good. Staff is very friendly. Especially waiters and waitress. Feel bad I didn't get any of their names. But I just want to say big thanks. Hotel is great, although I felt bit uncomfortable with their toilet system (toilet paper has to be put in the bin instead of toilet) on the first few days, however, I got used to it at the end. Entertainment in the evening is big no no. Three staff tried their best to entertain people, I personally really appreciate their effort, however, it wasn't entertaining at all honestly. I felt bit disappointed. Food is great, delicious and fresh. Very quiet at night which is very good. Bus to the Corfu town is so easy. Local bus stop, cost us €4.40 per person for return tickets. I definately recommend bus travel to Corfu town. So many things to explore. I definately recommend this hotel. I will definately go back there and stay with them. Lovely people and lovely experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st 2nd 3rd 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Feifeilemon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that you had a positive holiday experience while staying at Aquis Agios Gordios and even more so that you took the time to share it with TripAdvisor’s readers. We always pay attention to all comments and we try to meet our guest’s expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Do not hesitate to book this hotel.

Location = excellent, set against a cliff backdrop with excellent views over the bay. A short walk into the village of Agios Gordios with a variety of shops, supermarkets, restaurants, atm and dr's.Typically Greek with a lovely atmosphere.
Numerous restaurants along the beach for those who are not on an all inclusive basis. Car hire is a great option for those who want to get out and about and explore the island.
Hotel itself = Food = excellent, great choice meat , fish, vegetarian, special diet etc. Meal times were an absolute pleasure, a great choice for everyone.
Staff= throughout the hotel the staff were excellent, professional and courtious.
Rooms = Excellent, comfortable, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Sea view rooms spectacular.
Numerous tiered levels within the hotel to relax. More than enough areas, sunbeds and also on the beach.
If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday without uncontrollable screaming kids running around everywhere (adult only hotel) you would be hard pressed to find a better hotel with an international clientelle.
Thank you to all the staff at the Aquis Agios Gordis hotel for a great holiday, who work so hard to make your stay enjoyable. I would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel. Wishing all the hotel staff a wonderful season.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor seaview room - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaweedtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Front Office Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for selecting Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel for your holidays. We would like also to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our resort with Tripadvisor’s readers and we hope to welcoming you again in any of our properties and of course Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just got back from this lovely hotel.

The staff are all lovely - it was my boyfriends birthday whilst we were out there and they provided us with a fabulous chocolate cake, little card, fizz and fruit.

The alcohol was perfectly drinkable, the food in the main was good - always something to eat - even if it was chips !

When we go there there were only around 50 rooms being used, but by the time we left 10 days later it was at full capacity.

There are a lot of pensioners there, my boyfriend and I are in our 40's so it was perfect - no horrid music around the pool and well behaved people !

The location is amazing - on the side of a mountain so there are a LOT of stairs - but I definitely came back fitter !

The rooftop bar and the beach bar were our favourites. In the evenings it's much easier to go to the rooftop bar to get a drink than in the main bar.

It's a very easy 1.5 mile round trip to the local village and it's very safe. I walked there by myself most mornings and left my boyfriend in bed ! The local shops are functional, but you can get some reasonable gifts to bring home and they're not overpriced.

The hotel says it has a gym, but to be honest the equipment is very old and most of it doesn't work. The 'Spa' isn't a spa - it's very very basic.

The beds are pretty hard and the room we had was above the staff smoking area and was noisy !

The hotel is definitely 1970's decoration and could do with updating, but it's clean, the beds are changed daily and it was perfectly functional.

Wonderful holiday - thank you !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We pay attention to all comments and we always try to meet our guest’s expectations. We hope to welcoming you again in any of our properties and of course in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We arrived at 9.30pm and were warmly greeted by Alexandra, who informed us that the dining room had been kept open especially for us and our fellow travellers. A very nice touch and got our holiday off to a good start. Our room was in the main building at the far end, nicely furnished, really quiet, with stunning views, only the crashing waves to disturb you.

Whilst we were at the hotel, we read a previous review which said the hotel was tired and shabby looking. We deliberately went looking around to see what these people were on about as this was not the impression we got at all, quite the opposite. We found the bar area had beautiful cream leather sofas, the pool area had comfy seating and loungers, the rooftop area had brilliant large wicker sofas and brand new loungers. The restaurant was perfect, stunning views, linen tableclothes, tables cleared very quickly. The only area we saw which was a little shabby was the stairways and frankly who cares about that...the rest of the hotel was absolutely gorgeous.
There was nothing we could find to fault with this hotel, yes its a steep walk back from the village but we were delighted about this as we got some exercise after all the lovely food. We walked most days and found it took about 50 mins to walk into the surrounding villages. Any locals we came across were very friendly and were delighted to help with directions to local beauty spots. It really is stunningly beautiful around this hotel and I would suggest that you do try and get out and about.
The only thing that prevented me from awarding full marks was the entertainment. The young team are very friendly and tried their best but it was just not to our taste I'm afraid. The singers on the Friday and the Greek night were fine but the rest I'm sorry to say was a bit of a let down.

Room Tip: Room 3315 was in a quiet area with stunning sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for selecting again Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel for your holiday accommodation. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyable holidays with us and even more that you took the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor’s readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely hotel , staff very friendly and helpful,, reception staff couldn't do enough to help , dining waiter's and waitress's were lovely, would definitely go back,, was very quiet when we arrived the hotel had only been open 3 days, our room looked right over the pool and beach , perfect

Room Tip: Night entertainment was rubbish, but it was only there 1st week of opening, !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxxdebbiexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience at Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel with TripAdvisor’s readers and we hope to welcoming you again in any of our properties and of course in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,481 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,460 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range: £98 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing