We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romantic Palace Hotel(Agios Gordios)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Aphrodite Apartments(Agios Gordios)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Mary Apartments(Agios Gordios)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alonakia Hotel(Agios Gordios)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Hotel(Agios Gordios)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Irene Apartments(Agios Gordios)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pink Palace(Agios Gordios)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,442)
Filter reviews
2,442 results
Traveller rating
1,151
799
353
80
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,151
799
353
80
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bartunnel barlemon treeperla restaurantcorfu townmain restaurantla grottaplunge poolroof terracelocal villagebuffet restaurantsea viewevening entertainmentrelaxing holidaythomson repagios gordios beach hotelgolf buggies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,188 - 1,193 of 2,442 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel beautiful but only reachable from one side as built into a cliff, very steep with lots of steps not suitable for anybody who does not like heights or steps (me!). The nearest place was the little village which was down a winding road and had a few shops, and a bus stop to take you onwards to Corfu Town etc. The transfer going was at night so did not realise how steep and high the road to the airport was, but I did on the return journey!!!!The beach was not particularly nice and the hotel could be reached from the beach by a large number of steps (I could not negotiate these). The views out to see from the hotel were wonderful and the sunset to die for. Were not troubled by either mozzies or wasps. Food was good, entertainment consisted of one night of Greek dancers, one night a member of the animation team came round and asked us to write down on a list what sort of music we would like played - this is not entertainment as we know it. Would never return although cannot fault the staff, they bent over backwards to help us, as did the rep Toni as we enquired about a hotel transfer or even a return flight home, but turned out to be too expensive, I have to be honest and say I did not really enjoy this holiday.

Room Tip: We ended up in a room that overlooked the drinks terrace which was ideal for me, not wanting heights. The pillows are terrible, no substance in them at all. Rooms are very nice, with a good sized balcony, all in all the hotel is beautiful but not for me.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallywallyh6a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry that we did not achieve to offer you the holiday experience that you wished for. Regarding your comments, kindly be informed that the hotel in general is not suitable for people with walking difficulties/ wheelchair users due to location and sloppy morphology of the land and this information should have been very clearly explained to you by your Travel Agent at the time of your booking. We are sorry that the entertainment did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We always pay attention to all comments and we always try to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Perfect location with views over the beach and able to watch the sunset from our balcony or on a stroll along the beach. The room was clean, bright and fresh. Entertainment was too loud and more varied choice of food. But an amazing hotel

Room Tip: Balcony with sea room in main hotel saves the steep walks but still great views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank starlight555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel or in any of our sister hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely hotel, very clean and staff extremely friendly and helpful. The views were gorgeous. Food was varied and enjoyable and the drink was ok too, although the all-inclusive programme stopped at 11pm. The only complaint i have which ruined the holiday for me was the entertainment in the hotel as there was none! The Animation Team were very inexperienced and disappointing. I had heard from other holiday-makers who had visited the hotel previously that the entertainment was good with live music and shows but this was not the case on my visit and for that reason I probably would not return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fcameron17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Front Office Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel and for your kind comments regarding the quality of the food and the drinks. We are sorry that the entertainment did not meet your expectations. You can imagine that trying to cater for such vast number of clients from different nationalities is challenging. I would like to thank you for your sincere feedback and the opportunity you give us to further improve the service we offer to our valuable customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Certainly one of the more eventful holidays we've experienced. Once you've departed from the UK and managed to avoid the temptation of upgrading to extra leg room seats on the flight, (even though they can be snapped up at bargain basement prices) reduced from £60 for two to a mere £30', you arrive at what is rumoured to be an 'outdoor airport'. Having thought about it we can't recall ever having landed at an 'indoor airport', and so in hindsight the excitement and anticipation may have been somewhat unwarranted.

Sure enough the runway was outdoors and there was a roof over the airport complex which was small but perfectly formed.

On arrival you are greeted by a smiley Thompson rep attached to a clipboard, then ushered on to a coach, all excited to reach your chosen destination. No doubt you will be wondering whether you will be first or last to be dropped off at your hotel, having deciphered that there will be several stops on the way. This quandary all adds to the mystery and excitement of the holiday (until you realise you have drawn the short straw) and are stuck on the coach at the mercy of the bus driver for over an hour wondering if each twist and turn may be your last.

The Greeks are certainly very hospitable though and do not like to appear ignorant. I for one was pleased to see that the well-mannered bus driver opted to answer his mobile phone at least twice during the journey, whilst simultaneously steering one handed around the winding chicane corners which even Lewis Hamilton would find difficult to negotiate. No doubt all in an attempt not to appear rude by ignoring phone calls from friends/family.

Once you arrive at the hotel try not to be disheartened by those passengers who mumble remarks such as 'is this it'. Don't be fooled by the modest looking entrance, once inside the views are breathtaking and you realise how well positioned the hotel is.

If you are lucky your coach will drive you (almost) all the way to the entrance of the hotel, and not drop you at the bottom of a steep hill culminating in a strenuous 'welcome' or indeed 'unwelcome' walk, which is what we heard happened to one couple. That said, we did not suffer a similar experience.

Once inside the hotel the scene was a little chaotic. Guests were asked to leave their luggage just inside the front entrance then asked to queue up for a form which needed to be completed. You were then invited to sit down and complete the form, then queue up once again to be allocated a room number. Fortunately we are both fairly proficient in written english and unconcerned at the scruffy child like scrawl which resulted from the haste at which we completed the form in an attempt to beat the queue.

I'd assumed that we were asked to leave our bags by the front entrance to enable the porter to transport them to our room once it had been allocated. Having been allocated a room and on being told to enjoy our stay I posed the very obvious question as to how the porter would know which bags were ours. The receptionist seemed surprised at our expectation, and dug out what looked like some dusty and rarely used stickers and asked us to write our names and room number on them and attach them to our bags.

A word of warning, if you are allocated a room where we were you'll feel like you have completed a half-marathon on walking to and from the room every day, particularly when making your way down to the pool and sun-beds. We were therefore disappointed that our bags had not been transported to our room after over an hour and a half later and so eventually just collected them from reception ourselves. The other issue you might have is finding your room. The staff at reception are very kind and don't spoil the surprise by giving you any indication of which direction to head in. Just do what we did and think of it as a bit of a treasure hunt. Once we eventually found the room it was basic but pleasant and had an impressive view from the balcony.

We arrived just about in time for lunch on the first day. If you are concerned about your stomach getting accustomed to and adjusting to the shock of traditional Greek cuisine, don't be, mine coped with the spaghetti and chips offered daily. There were occasional unexpected treats served at breakfast such as pineapple and cheese, broccoli and green beans. We were a little suspicious that such items may have culminated from the leftovers of the previous night's offerings.

Most of the staff are friendly, although some of the restaurant staff appear hassled when guests have the audacity to request a drink with their meal. You may also find that your table is stolen whilst you are eying the delights of the self-service buffet unless you have clearly marked your territory first. Bringing a towel with you when you eat and placing it on your chair (much as you would on the sun-beds) is advisable.

In respect of whether to opt for all inclusive or half-board, as long as you don't consume alcohol to get drunk and can stomach for the most part cheap unbranded alcohol, then all inclusive is the choice for you. Don't order any drinks after 11:00pm though as the cocktail that you wish you hadn't ordered may repeat on you at the shock of being charged for it. That said, the view which you can enjoy at the hotel beach bar (tunnel bar) would make even paint stripper taste good.

The hotel entertainment team are really not up to much, (the imitation piano playing penis puppetry was suspect to say the least). Not to worry though as there were plenty of characters staying at the hotel who filled the void. I am particularly grateful to the middle aged northern couple (whose accents indicated they were possibly from the Manchester area) although it's difficult to be sure as I only had the benefit of expletives to go on. This couple provided some much needed entertainment by engaging in a rather comical and very public argument down at the beach bar. By the sounds of it tensions had been brewing over many years.

The argument appeared to stem from the gentleman moving a seat which his partner had just finished using, back to the original position it had been in when the couple arrived. This led to a tirade of unwarranted abuse from his other half who referred to him as 'Mr Bloody Perfect' and 'Mr F****** Status Quo'. The argument culminated in agreement that this would be their last holiday abroad and the lady stormed off along the beach threatening to catch a bus to an undisclosed destination. Her threat was somewhat weakened by the very poor and limited bus service available at this time of year.

Although some would think it a little selfish that the couple chose to conduct their argument in public disturbing the peace and tranquillity of the beach bar environment, I would have paid them money to replicate their exchange of insults over the microphone in place of the evening entertainment offered by the animation team.

Finally, spare a thought for the maid who services your room, and who has the unenviable task of emptying the bin next to the toilet. Whilst there is a prohibition on flushing toilet paper down the loo, we found that the substandard plumbing could more than cope with a sheet at a time.

All in all then a very entertaining holiday and we are already considering a return, although would only do so if the price was right and the couple from Manchester were also planning a return at the same time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank SuperSunSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Front Office Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take great pride in providing our guests with exceptional accommodation and service and I sincerely apologize for your disappointment. We always pay attention to all comments and we try to meet our guest’s expectations. Although that your comments are not consistent with the many positive ones that are being posted, be assured that we have take them very seriously and used them to improve our service.
We thank you once again for choosing the Aquis Agios Gordios Beach for your holidays and we look forward to welcome you again in one of the Aquis Hotels & Resorts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

no travel kettle no hairdryer no video player no shower shampoo all this is provided by this fantastic hotel the food variety was great the price of drinks was not over priced the staff are polite and helpful first time ever the wife did not want to go home and we are a well travelled so that is how good this hotel is

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Front Office Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel for your holiday accommodation and to thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience with TripAdvisor readers. We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews