We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel shame about the animation team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

great hotel all the staff bar staff waiters cleaners had smiles on there faces and a friendly word.the food was very good hotel spotless.don"t worry about the steps to the beach i have dodgy knees and had no trouble.beach bar is amazing sitting there with cocktail in hand waves lapping at my feet sun beating down HEAVEN.wasps what wasps spotted 2 could be the time of year.at night the acts the hotel brought in were very good magician singers all first class NOW FOR THE BAD NEWS the animation team were the worst i have ever seen.i have been to mexico.jamaica. all around europe and i have never seen such a bad team.lazy just going through the motions. the only time you se them move is meal times bingo is a joke.don"t let this put you off THIS HOTEL IS A HIDEN GEM

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience at Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel with the Tripadvisor’s reviewers. We are sorry that the entertainment did not meet your expectations. We always pay attention to all comments and we always try to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,352)
There are newer reviews for Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,086 - 1,092 of 2,352 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Spent a week at this hotel with my daughter -a relaxing break .The hotel was in a lovely location
and the beach was good. Our room was fine ,no complaints . Food was ok - wished that they served a few more Greek style meals tho. The staff were very friendly and always happy ! We had
a good stay and met some great people here .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pool-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to read that you had a positive holiday experience while staying at Aquis Agios Gordios and even more so that you took the time to share it with TripAdvisor’s readers. We would like also to thank you for the positive comments for our Animation Team. We hope to welcoming you again in our resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Staff are so wonderful - pity about hotel could do with some updating and certainly lifts to the Beach (instead of lots and lots and lots of steps), also need mosquito killing equipment in rooms - gosh never nbeen bitten so much !! even with stuff on. Food nice - loved Greek night could have done with more of that - Pool staff bar lovely so sweet and food nice - Town lovely but steep hill down unless you go along beach route. Wonderful greek meal on beach in taverna overlooking sea. Dont get rooms that are near Lobby Bar (sounds from enterainment loud) or one's that are on way to reception from main entrance as we got sewar smells from the Tunnel Beach bar (not nice) but not every day. Village pretty and people their great - Loved Seb and Joy on beach who had loungers etc , great ful and nice people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry that we did not achieve to offer you the holiday experience that you wished for. The hotel is built on the side of a cliff and due to the location is not suitable for people with walking difficulties. This information should have been very clearly explained to you by your Travel Agent at the time of your booking. Furthermore as our property is located in a real green environment and despite all measures taken, there is no way to prevent any kind of bug to be found in premises. Thank you for your feedback. We pay attention to all comments and we always try to meet our guests’ expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

no complaints what so ever!but i do believe that we choose the right time to go (1st june)when the season has started to get into the swing,as my daughter returned on the the 27th of may,and some of the issues she wasnt too happy with,were not evident for us,the food was really good,so was the white wine,lovely room,comfortable bed.(not hard)as some have said.brilliant service from the staff,and a special mention to spiros,who was in charge of the outside dining area,which we always used,who ran a tight ship,and was a real asset to the hotel.in fact all the staff were excelent,and very friendly.but as the saying goes "you cant please all of the people all of the time"but a very big thank you from two very satisfied guests!x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borntorock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that you had a positive holiday experience while staying at Aquis Agios Gordios Beach hotel and even more so that you took the time to share it with TripAdvisor’s readers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and two friends came here for a girly holiday and we have already planned our return which says it all. Although some of these reviews are negative, I think some people just like to moan! The hotel and staff were fantastic, couldn't ask for friendlier people. Beautiful views, beach and weather, definitely lived up to the photos. The excursions were brilliant, one to check out is Theo's bbq boat trip, it made our holiday. There could have been more variety of food, but what was available was lovely. Some amazing memories made here, one not to miss.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for selecting Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel for your holidays. We would like also to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our resort with Tripadvisor’s readers and we hope to welcoming you again in any of our properties and of course Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Firstly we are a couple in our mid 40s. I will start with the good.
The views from most rooms were great (Our room was at the rear of the hotel and looked down on the rear of the kitchen) but on the horizon you could see the sea. The general staff were very pleasant, and you always got served quite quick in the bars. Breakfast and evening meals was a bit slower, they would be better having a self service for coffee, and teas.
The hotel has been modernised, and was clean and tidy, the bar staff were always emptying bins.
The BAD. Food, was of a poor quality, Spam under cooked as bacon, Frankfurter sausages, and orange squash as juice? NO show cooking (A Chef cooking eggs and pancakes is not show cooking)!! as said all the meat was of a poor quality,fatty Pork belly, lamb bones, or chicken bones. we chose to eat later (8.30) and found a lot of empty trays, or slow at refilling them. and it was always hard getting a waiters attention to get a drink, they were very busy clearing tables and setting up for breakfast. SUNBEDS. why do old people (yes ALL the reserving of sunbeds) were by the over 65s and most English. they pop down for a 30 min sit in the sun, then leave there towels and books on them all day? why? and people who have to smoke while sitting on a sunbed? thanks pal I will share your fag with you!! so will everyone else sitting within 10 feet of you!! Antisocial, and not acceptable!!
The entertainment? just a few words to say here "OK if your over 60!!!
The first night we were tired so went to our room, to hear the dreaded words blaring out from the main hall. "Those were the days my friends, and yes I thought it would never end!!! then straight in to rhine stone cowboy!! the SAGA crowd would of been loving it!! its over 18s NOT 80s!!
And finally Nasty.
Loo roll in a bin next to the toilet? All Toilets!! this is 2014 and they cant upgrade the sewage system to take loo rolls? we are well travelled and will not be going back to a country that is so backward in its hygiene systems.
The return trip to the airport took 90 minutes(25 to the resort) as were went on a magic mystery tour, driven by a guy on speed!
Then its a fun wait outside the airport in the sun while 10 people go in at a time to join another queue!!
sorry its not for us!! we will stick with the Canaries next holiday.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much, and you wont be disappointed!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinf1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Front Office Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience at Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel with the Tripadvisor reviewers. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding the cleanliness and the service offered by our staff. We are sorry that the entertainment and the food quality did not meet your expectations. You can imagine that trying to cater for such vast number of clients from different nationalities is challenging. As we are an adults only hotel, even though we do our outmost in order to provide a good quality of entertainment appealing for all adult ages, it is quite difficult to satisfy all of our guests preferences. I would like to thank you for your feedback and the opportunity you give us to further improve the service we offer to our valuable customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was a lovely holiday. Staff are some of the best people I have ever met on holidays. All would go that extra mile to make your holiday enjoyable. There are plenty of walks around to do.
The fish lady gives a great foot massage ,well worth the money.
Go down to the town for excursions, you will save a lot of money.
The pool was cold, but we did go early May, Just be brave and jump in its not so bad once you are in. The day in Corfu town is good ,just get the bus down the hill ,but make sure you get your ticket in advance from the shop by the bus stop.
Had a lovely holiday, there were just a few things I was not happy with.
One being entertainment in the evening. One night we were given a bingo card and a cocktail stick ,the stick was to put a hole in the numbers called. I thought this was bad that they could not supply pens. The Entertainment team were changed after that, but the shows didn't get any better .Two of the nights we were there we had to go to our rooms, as there was not enough seating in the bar area.
We had a late afternoon flight, so had to use our pool towels to shower with up near the gym, as there were towels provided, hopefully this has changed as I did mention it to Toni before We left.
The beds are very hard.
I will not be going back, nothing to do with the hotel as I thought it was good value for money, it just that the worlds a big place ,and I would like to stay at other places. Thank you to all the staff who made my holiday a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for you kind comments regarding our staff. Our aim is to offer our guests a great holiday experience and we always pay attention to all comments. Regarding your comments about the entertainment and the bed, we always prefer our guests to inform us of any dissatisfaction at the time that this should occur to give us the opportunity to solve the problem immediately. Thank you for taking the time to share you holiday experience with Tripadvisor’s reviewers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,378 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,418 reviews
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range: £87 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing