We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays in heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Perfectly sitauated, Hotel Aquis Agios Gordios provides guests with every possible attraction on a very high standart. The main advantage of the hotel is its location, near beautiful sea and lovely beach.

Agios Gordios is a little but lovely city filled with cafes, restaurants and traditional shops. It is perfectly suitable for people who are looking for peace and quite. However, it can be unbeliavably boring for those searching for fun and crazy parties=)

The staff in the hotel is helpful and friendly. Bedrooms are modern and clean and, what is more, from every bedroom there is a marvellous view at the sea. Food is delicious and tasty. Especially fresh vegetables and a range of fruits.Every night there is organised an artistic event, such as greek night or jazz night etc. Every bar serves delicious and unique drinks. There are also additional attractions such as sushi bar, spa and a little tennis court. Evertythings works fine.

The next adavntage is the free internet in the whole building. However, it is advised to have your own computer. If not, you can rent it from the hotel, however the price is pretty high - 15 Euro per day.

All in all, Aquis Agios Gordios Hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever been to. The weather, the conditions and the people make stay in theis hotel a very pleasant adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,064 - 2,070 of 2,439 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

The location of this hotel is idyllic and that alone is food for the soul. When we booked we were told it was awaiting five star classication but it is clear that this was not achieved. We totally agree that the staff were mostly wonderful and so accomodating. A huge plus was that we were upgraded to full board on arrival as the cost of hotel refreshment was extortionate. The food was varied but not hugely so and not well labelled beyond the obligatory 'fish', 'chicken', 'rabbit' (I kid you not) etc but the service was consistantly exceptional. The main public areas were beautifully designed and very airy with plenty of space and lots of comfortable seating. But the niggles spoiled it a bit.

In brief, there were quite a few children younger than 14 in this adult-only hotel.
Flexible plastic drinks glasses on the roof terrace and in some other areas in the evenings were most unpleasant, particularly with beer or wine in them.
The animation team, Miki and Susy were fantastic fun but the advertised 'professional' cabaret was abysmal to the point of insult when Miki and Susy were not on duty.
The bedrooms were unexceptional. There was one picture on our wall which was identical to the picture in our daughters' bedroom. I would class the bedroom accomodation as little more than basic but it was clean and airconditioned with plenty of storage space.
There were no tea and coffee-making facilities in the rooms and there was no iron available to use. When I queried this I was told by the Manager that this was for health and safety reasons but I could have my linen clothing ironed if I had a minimum of ten items (I hadn't) and I was willing to pay ridiculous amounts to their laundry service. I think this is highly unreasonable but he could provide no alternative. So if you go there and you have linen or cotton clothing, pack a travel iron.
My daughter and I went to reception at 10pm one evening to check opening times for Aqualand the following morning. Aqualand is new and is currently being heavily poster-promoted around Corfu, but the receptionist had no details - nor did she make any attempt to find out. So I asked if there was a telephone number we could ring that might have automated details of opening times. She asked if this was common practice in Europe and then said "We are not in Europe". !!!!!
We wanted to book some treatments in the spa but discovered that the manicures and pedicures advertised were not available, never had been available and there were no plans to alter this. The reason given was that they did not have the staff. She then rather sheepishly said perhaps they should not advertise the service. I asked about the reflexology foot masssage but she pointed instead to the relaxing foot massage. The message seemed to be that they did not have a reflexologist either.
The pool area is beautiful and the sun loungers comfortable but the cream coloured lounger cushions need to be cleaned. They were mostly quite dirty though the covers were removable for cleanng. And it is completely true that the usual practice of 'reservation with towels' took place absurdly early each morning. Though there were notices about the practice being disallowed., no one did anything about it. I watched one morning as a group of seven people arrived with much noise and joviality at 11.30am to claim the prime loungers they had reserved much earlier.
Other negatives were unsightly items in public areas such as on the walk back to the hotel building from the spa. These should be covered in and not exposed to the view of guests.
There were great tv .screens in the rooms but nothing on them about the facilities or any information about anything. It was a case of flicking to check channels (2 english speaking) and CNN news got a little tedious


Though the above criticisms may seem harsh they are factual and the hotel needs to address them. However it is clear that it is still a work-in-progress and we saw improvements in the decor even over the time we were there so I expect these problems will be smoothed out in time. Any service industry relies heavily on the quality of it's personnel and on that score the Aquis Agios Gordios is exceptional, bar the duty manager I spoke to about the ironing facilities who was most unhelpful and also two of the receptionists.

We would be interested in revisiting this hotel of enormous potential again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellieatchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Having stayed at this hotel for the past 16 years I can only say that this year was the best ever. The hotel has been modernised to a very high standard. The staff are so helpful and cant do enough for the guests. The food is very varied and we were spoilt for choice. The atmosphere at lunch was so laid back but the quality remained high. Tea served by the pool in the afternoon was a welcome treat. Don't miss the a la carte meal. The rooms have been brought up to a very high standard and the whole hotel is spotlessly clean. I visited the spa for a massage and it was so peaceful there. There are no wrist bands as proof of All Inclusive and drinks are available all day until 11pm. There is no hassle whatssoever.My room overlooked area where sunbeds were located( even the sunbeds are new and comfortable) and I can guarantee no one was reserving beds by putting towels out before 7 am. People who moan about crack of dawn reserving must be the ones who turn up at 11am expecting to find a free sunbed. Anyone arriving by 9am had no trouble at all and the hotel was full to capacity. My only observation was that some guests having spent an hour by pool then disappeared for hours before returning having left their towels out.
I can't wait to go back again next year to see the additional improvements the hotel plan to make. This place is perfect!!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corriebrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our 11th stay at the hotel, recently refurbished to a very nice standard, having been many times before just alittle of the "greek" character as gone but you cant have everything. All the staff are great from the maids to the manager nothing is to much trouble, first year it's been all inclusive, just needs a little fine tunning, dont like plastic beakers in the evening. But the location is infectious and brings you back time after time, the evening sunsets from the lobby balcony are breathtaking See you all next year

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Just returned from this hotel and although I've stayed in some really wonderful hotels in the past this is the first time I feel i should write a review.If you're thinking of booking this hotel - just do it- It's fab-in every respect. The whole hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard.The views and sunrises are amazing and the lovely town is only 10 mins walk along the beach.The hotel's spa is also a nice surprise - the gym has the latest equipment including a power plate machine.
The staff are friendly - the food is great ( although it may be an idea to include a 'themed' night ' to mix things up a bit .The whole atmosphere is very relaxed and if you're looking for some chill out time - this is the place to go.
One little bit of warning - if you have any trouble walking - you may find this a bit difficult to get around. There are lots of stairs and a few few steep hills.I'd consider a car if you're thinking of staying for more than a week.
One other improvement would be to open the disused tennis court -this would be a big plus.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chrissyh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We only had 5 days but had a perfect stay in a bungalow room which was very peaceful with a lovely view.
The staff at the hotel made the holiday very special - the friendliest, most helpful staff we've ever met - especially Sophia & Dimitri at the beach bar. We would recommend the beach bar in the evening - we had it to ourselves (probably because you have to pay after 6pm) - a really chilled place to be with great music and ambience.
The view from the terrace of the restaurant was stunning - food was varied & plentiful.
Loved the beach & swimming in the sea. The pool area was monopolised by 'reserved towels' from crack of dawn - why do people do that?!
We thoroughly recommend the Agios Gordios.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sussexbella24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Best All in Service with fresh meals and kind service. Excellent location near the beach. Good possibility to travel to Corfu-City by Bus. No problems. Kind people in every part of the hotel. A-la-carte-restaurant with premium quality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moses40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,482 reviews
18.5 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,459 reviews
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range: £98 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing