We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not 5 star, more like 3.5 !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Certainly not 5 star, more like 3.5 !”
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Although recently renovated and allegedly refurbished to 5 star standard, the hotel did not live up to this claim. Although location was excellent and view from the bedrooms was incredible,bedrooms themselves were average with no outstanding features.

Upon arrival at 10pm we were disappointed to find that no food was available. We knew that dinner finished at 9.30, but we have stayed at other A.I. hotels where a limited choice buffet or late snacks have been provided for late arrivals!

Food in the Buffet resaurant was ok, but not fantastic. There was always plenty of choice and you would never be hungry,although the quality was disappointing.

The a La Carte restaurant was a let down and certainly did not warrant its description . Food was mediocre, the location poor and no thought was given to ambiance or atmosphere.
Staff could have been more courteous and helpful. We had to ask Reception three times before a problem in the room was put right.
Having stated all this, I do concede that for what we paid it was good value. The location of the hotel, views and proximity to beach and nearby village were certainly plus points.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexas, Hotel Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2009
Thank you for reviewing Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel. We are very glad to be rated by experienced travellers and find our hotel clean, fresh and the location of our property and views spectacular. Please feel free to visit our website, to check yourself that we are a 4* property but several tour operators have given us five out of their own rating, and although we are very happy about it, we believe that apparently confuses the guest. During winter 2009 the whole Hotel has been completely renovated and refurbished elegantly, and we are really sorry that this does not end up to satisfy your standars and perspective. The comments you have raised about the food will be certainly looked at and assure you that all issues are thoroughly addressed internally with our F&B Manager.Now ,regarding food served after 21.30, in case that we have the information in advance we are preparing cold plates, fruit platter and a bottle of Mineral water in each guest room upon arrival, but only in the case that we have a rough estimation from the Travel agent about arrival time as Food Hygiene is for us top priority, which seems that we did not had from your Travel agent. Concerning the Reception I will be more than glad if you will kindly e-mail us what was the case in order to further investigate the issue and return with a proper answer.Once again thank you for your constructive feedback and rest assure that we will keep on constantly monitoring our performance against the high service and standards indicative of Aquis Hotels and Resorts and we will insure these areas are restored to approve upon these concerns for future guests.We will be glad to see you again in any Aquis property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    740
    319
    76
    53
See reviews for
165
1,663
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cottingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We found this holiday on the internet and read the reviews some where not so good especially the ones before the refurbish , we thought we would give it a try and we are all glad we did the staff where excellent always a smile especially the girls at the beach and pool bars they were lovely , the food was excellent if you did not like it there is something wrong with you, we had a nice room overlooking the sea it was clean and bright plenty of hot water and an aircon that worked well our only minus was the stairs when we had to take our cases from reception to room and vise versa the lift did not operate in one part, but all in all a very good holiday

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulettaCottingahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guidford UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We booked this hotel back in April as I had read fantastic reviews about it on TA.
Booked through You Travel and for a good price.
Having stayed in 4 star hotels in Europe before and all inclusive we were expecting something far better than we got:
The pool area is far too small and cramped for the size of the hotel, giving it a 'sardine' feel around the pool, many of the sunloungers are broken and sometimes there were not enough pool towels to be given to the guests.
The music around the pool is repetitive, not too bad to listen to but always the same songs!
Drinking out of flimsy plastic cups isn't 4 star, I can see why due to breakages but there are no children at the hotel and all the adults seemed very responsible. Sipping a G and T or a cocktail out of a plastic cup isn't pleasant. Even at the panoramic bar where the entertainment is in the evening, it was plastic cups and they only served beer, wine and soft drinks there, so if you wanted anything stronger you would have to walk down to the lobby bar and bring it up! If plastic cups are essential then perhaps colourful hard plastic would be better.
This hotel has extremely steep inclines and many steps so not at all suitable for elderly people or those restricted in walking. A lady in her 70's booked this hotel for 2 weeks and was not informed by the travel agent that it was unsuitable for her and her friend in her 80's! Very poor.
And finally, the food in the restaurant was dreadful. So much so that my partner and I would go out to the local tavernas in the evening to eat. It was repetitive and looked as it was made from left overs from the day before, only the breakfast was ok and salads for 7 days gets quite boring!
Although the staff were very pleasant and helpful,overall this hotel didn't match up to our expectations and I wouldn't recommend it as a four star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pndpnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexas, Hotel Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2009
We really appreciate when guests share their experience, whether good or bad, with us. At Aquis Hotels and Resorts we need to continuously work on the improvement of our service and for this need to rely on the comments and suggestions of our guests. We are very proud about the pool area offering comfort and relaxation while enjoy the sun or sunset and this is a major part of what our guests are looking for so we where really surprised about the"sardine" feel that you mentioned and the lack of pool towels as we are closing monitoring it daily compared with the number of guests taht we have in house plus a 10% more in order always to be on the safe side.!!!The comments you have raised about the food and the plastic cups will be certainly looked at and assure you that all issues are thoroughly addressed internally with our F&B Manager. We are constantly monitoring our performance against the high service and standards indicative of Aquis Hotels and Resorts and we will insure these areas are restored to approve upon these concerns for future guests.
Once again thank you very much for your feedback and we certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future to experience the hotel more fully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2009

having spent my first week of september in this Hotel, i would like to share with you my experiences of my stay there. we were very lucky as the weather ,the days we spent in Corfu, was very good-no wind at all-. and so we could not only enjoy swimming at the big pool of but also relax at the sandy private beach of the hotel. in addition the service was excellent. i would strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eladftROM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

This hotel is practically flawless. It was modern, clean, had friendly staff and the atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to just swtich off and enjoy beautiful sunsets and relax on the beach or by the pool. The food was good but not very varied so after day four you know exactly what will be on the menu. The hotel had activities every evening and tried to keep it varied and active. The gym has the basics but could do with a few more free weights and a stretching area. I would have no objection to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilisnimhidhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I read the reviews before we left and I had high expectations and I certainly was not disappointed. This hotel has to be the most beautifully positioned in Corfu. The sunsets every night will stay with me forever and they were even more poignant as we were the 1st ever couple to renew our Wedding Vows at this hotel on Friday 4th September up on the rooftop terrace. I emailed ahead to the Manager, Anastasios Mexas, to ask if they could do this and he said he would be delighted and leave it all to him. I have to say, Tassos and his animation staff, Mickey and Suzy, did us extremely proud. The night has to be the most memorable in my life to date and it went like a dream. They couldnt do enough for us and treated us like celebs. The memories of that night will stay with us forever and also will the kindness of Tassos, who will be our friend for life. The hotel is well situated for a remote hideaway romantic holiday with a beautiful beach adjacent to the hotel. The perfect place to unwind and fall in love again. The rooms are all new and very tastefully furnished and cleanliness is exceptional. The food was delicious and well varied and Fiona and her staff were always welcoming. The Pool Bar was lovely, seating area very comfortable and stylish and the sunbeds were plentiful and comfortable with plenty of umbrellas too for that much needed shade. I cannot fault this hotel and staff but the people who made it memorable for us will be Tassos, Hotel Manager, Fiona, Restaurant Manager, Aneeta on Reception, Dimitri and Sophia at the Tunnel Bar, the guy in the Sushi Restaurant (sorry cant remember his name) but his Sushi expertise was superb, of course Mickey and Suzy, the Animation duo and our witnesses, the head waiter of The Olive Tree who did a wonderful meal for our enjoyment after the renewal of vows and all the other staff that I never caught their names, they really looked after us and are all a credit to Tassos. A perfect holiday in every way and I would highly recommend it to everyone. So much so, we are booking for next year now. A2B transfers were great too, very efficient and easy. To sum up, the best holiday we have ever been on!!!!! Thank you everyone xx

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We were at this hotel from 25th Aug to 1st Sept. First time we have done AI and were very impressed with the whole experience. If you read the other reviews, you'll get a pretty accurate impression of the place.

On the plus side:
. excellent friendly staff, hotel runs like a well olied machine;
. good quality refurbishment; location is superb;
. AI food is very varied (although has to follow the buffet pattern);
. spacious -- although the hotel was full, it didn't feel crowded;
. Olive Tree a la carte restaurant very good;
.
Minus points:
. wasps! Our rep said they are all over the island, the manager said it was because of the gardens and nearby woods but if you go into the village or along the beach, there are none about. Whatever the cause, they were annoying until we had a storm which seemed to wash most of them away;
. arrangements if you have flights at an odd times (getting into your room and having a base when you've checked out);
. smoking policy -- inside the hotel, it is no smoking but outside, there are no designated no smoking areas. Sounds picky but we found that sitting at any of the outside bars, the smoke was a real nuisance.

All in all, very enjoyable and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,232 reviews
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
486 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,341 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Property: Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing