We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stevens on the Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Eltham London UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Have been to Stevens on several occasions (5) the last visit in June. Our friendly taxi driver Costas picked us up on time with a huge smile on his face, this can be arranged through Vlasis or Steven, from the moment you arrive everything is taken care of, the luggage is taken to your apartment whilst you are given refreshments after your long journey, a really nice welcome from Eleni, Vlasis & Steven. We always stay in block 2 down the hill, the apartments are of a very high standard bathroom excellent (proper shower cubicle very unusual for Greece, lots of hot water as well. Rooms are very spacious & spotlessly clean, beds comfortable linen changed every other day by their wonderful cleaner Maria, she works very hard & does an amazing job, she is a star ! There is a slightly obscured view overlooking Stevens but I can honestly say that it doesn't bother us in the least, we're not in the apartment long enough to worry about such trivialities.If you struggle walking you probably will find the hill difficult.We stayed on a B&B basis & the breakfasts were excellent, plenty of variety to choose from. The surroundings of Stevens is beautiful, gorgeous flowers spotless swimming pool great bar, so very relaxing. Outside the Taverna down to the beach is a 5 -10 minute stroll down the little lanes. maybe a little longer down through the village as you tend to stop & look at the shops..We always stayed in front of Thalassos Taverna, good sunbeds & excellent lunches, also a very big plus was the free sunbeds, (all you had to do was to buy your drinks there).Back to Stevens, we ate there every night because the food was of a very high standard, theme nights superb (Greek night good fun, BBQ night 5* Pizza night 5* I'm not usually a pizza lover but these were excellent, any filling you like, & kleftico night, all 5*. Our hosts Vlasis Steven & Elenis are amazing & work very hard to please, nothing is too much trouble & if you need anything you only have to ask.The restaurant staff George "head" is amazing here there & everywhere ! a superb Head Waiter, then you have 2 amazing girls Claire & Elenei they are lovely & always happy. I can honestly say that we have found no negatives since coming to Stevens, & I have traveled Greece & the Islands extensively & Stevens has always got top marks. This is a very accurate synopsis of Stevens On The Hill, well done Stevens for the most amazing holiday. Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicpatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Once again, we returned to Steven's on the Hill and were met by the usual friendly owners and staff. I have spent most of my life travelling on business and have stayed at some of the worst and some of the best hotels in the world but this place is something special. It is located in one of the most unspoilt beautiful places I have ever seen. The people in the local village remember you and are always ready with a welcoming smile, honestly pleased to see that you have returned again.
Regarding Steven's, you cannot hope to meet a nicer family and they are supported by a great staff, especially George, the head waiter. We have tried all the restaurants in the village, most of them are good, but why leave the hotel as it has probably the best food, and a hillside view to die for. We wish them all the best for the rest of the season, they deserve it for the effort they make to ensure everybody enjoys their stay and leave feeling they have been treated to something special.
Kind Regards,
Jim & Maureen

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen07_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a lovely lunch at Stevens on the Hill, bringing back happy memories of many visits about 15years ago. The place is just as lovely , if not more , with the pool looking fab and the plants blooming. The food was delicious and it's a restaurant worth visiting and a place worth staying at.Wish we had holidayed there.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have just returned from spending 2 weeks at Stevens. This is the second time we have stayed there and it just gets better. From the moment the taxi picked us up at the airport until we left last Friday everything was just perfect. Steven, Vlasis and Eleni and all the staff made sure we were well looked after. The pool area was spotlessly clean and a freshly laundered towel left on sunbeds every morning was a bonus. Although the pool area was very busy at times there was always plenty of sunbeds available. Our room on the top floor of the main building offered spectacular views out to sea. Again this was always spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable too. We ate in the restaurant at lunchtime and also in the evening and found the food to be of the highest quality and reasonably priced. The BBQ evening offered a wide variety of options that would suite most tastes. Don't miss the Pizza Evening and the Greek Night.
Thanks again to all the family and George, Claire, Yiannis, Eleni and not forgetting Maria the fantastic cleaner. Only 50 weeks to go before we return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corriebrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed for a week in the penthouse apartment in Block 2 and it was perfect for us ( family of four, with kids ages 8 and 12). As everyone was mentioned Vlassis and his family are very professional and welcoming. Vlassis greeted us upon arrival and helped us with our bags to our room. We had a late evening departure, and he again helped us with all of our bags (four heavy suitcases down three flights of stairs), arranged for us to use a back room to shower and change before our flight. He has always asking how our stay was, etc.

In terms of our room, it was a typical Greek room-to-let/apartment (basic, nothing fancy, very clean). The apartment was quite spacious and the two balconies were huge. Both balconies have sun all day due to the orientation, but there is a very large umbrella on the one balcony, which provides adequate shade throughout the day. We really enjoyed drinking our coffee on the balcony each morning, looking out to the sea. It didn't bother us at all to not be in the main building. The walk up to the pool/restaurant was just a minute or two, and we were happy to be a bit more isolated.

The kitchen was very basic, but totally sufficient for our needs. We didn't do any actual cooking- just coffee in the morning and yogurt, fruit, etc for breakfast and snacks. The bathroom was good (strong water pressure, shower doors). And the location was great. It was just a few minutes stroll along the walking path to "town". And not more than 5 minutes walk down the path to the beach.

The "town" was just one long street of restaurants and grocery stores. The one disappointment for us was that it was a town solely for tourists. There is no actual/authentic town with locals. For example, there is no fourno (bakery) in town. (But all of the grocery stores sold freshly made breads, tiropites, etc.) and everyone was very friendly and polite. We didn't find any great restaurants in Agios Gordios. Again, the town caters mostly to tourists. So plenty of English breakfasts to be found, but hard to find really good, authentic Greek food. (We are Greeks- so a bit more particular about our Greek food. ). Same assessment for the hotel restaurant- solid food, just not very authentic in terms of Greek food.

The hotel property is very nice. Lots of greenery, beautiful bougainvilleas and grape vines, great pool with a distant view of the sea. We had no issue finding sunbeds (though we stayed in very early July). The restaurant area is also very spacious and nice. Although we found the food mediocre in terms of Greek food selection and quality, the non-Greek meals we had were good. We enjoyed pizza night. We had breakfast a few times there, lunch once.

Agios Gordios and surrounding area is beautiful. Lush, green mountains, dramatic views from the cliffs above, beautiful sandy beach, clear water. Each morning I went for a walk/run. There's a path to the North that goes to Sinarades (great walk there/uphill and easy run/down hill back in to town; 5k total). And there was another hillside path to the South that was similar (uphill via mountain path up to village of Pentati and downhill run to return into town).

We ended up driving into Corfu town (Hora) for several meals. It's a very windy drive, but we got used to it after one or two times. It was only 25 minute drive or so. I particularly enjoyed Hora in the evening- beautiful buildings and really nice atmosphere. We recommend Rex for an authentic meal. Another restaurant worth the drive was Archontiko- located in a nearby village. Good food and great view/atmosphere.

We went to Glyfada Beach one day. It was fine for a change of pace, but Agios Gorias beach was nicer (wider). Agios Gordios Beach is very long and wide. We liked the beach area to the far left- which is also the section closest to the hotel. They charge for umbrella/sunbeds(6 euros), but the chairs were nicely spaced out and the couple running the chairs was very attentive and went out of their way to serve us. They had sand toys and magazines to lend, provided an extra umbrella free of charge, pumped up our air mattress, watched our towels/bags when we went to eat, etc. Most of the restaurants provided free sunbeds/umbrellas to their customers. We did this one day, but preferred to pay the extra 6 euros for this better beach area. The water was a bit colder than we expected, especially the first two days.

We would definitely return to Stevens on the Hill and to Agios Gordios. It was the perfect location for a family vacation. Beach in the morning, pool in the afternoon- very low key and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ymoustak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDENBRIDGE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stevens on the Hill in Agios Gordios has such a friendly relaxed atmosphere and yet the service is superb. Run by Steven, Vlasis and Eleni, with help from George, Claire, Elenei and co, it a wonderful place to unwind and relax. Georgeous pool with more than enough sun beds, superb restaurant, good clean apartments, I really cannot rate it high enough. Agios Gordios itself is a pretty village with stunning views as you travel down to it. Stevens is a great place to stay.
We will be back there next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Stevens in early June and would like to thank everyone for a wonderful week. The best part of the holiday was undoubtedly the people who made us feel like one of the family. Eleni, Stephanos, Vlasis, Claire, George and young Eleni were such wonderful people who could not do enough for you.
Stevens is such a relaxing place set in lovely gardens and although this was our first visit it was apparent that there were lots of returning guests. We had most of our meals there and could find little fault with both service and quality. We did however, eat out on 2 evenings but were a little disappointed in the other restaurants when compared with Stevens.
AG is a very relaxing place and may be too quiet for some but the whole place exudes friendliness, we will certainly be returning in the future. If I had one criticism (and I do this reluctantly) is that the rooms (we stayed in Stevens1) could do with updating (particularly the bathrooms). However this is a minor criticism and did not detract from a memorable holiday
Thanks again to everyone at Stevens, hope to see you all soon

Room Tip: Rooms 101 to 105 are on the first floor and have smaller balconies so try for rooms 106 to 109 on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Gordios hotels
0.1 mi away
Dina's Paradise Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Family Beach Hotel
Sea Breeze Family Beach Hotel
#5 of 13 in Agios Gordios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mazis Apartments
Mazis Apartments
#6 of 13 in Agios Gordios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romantic Palace Hotel
Romantic Palace Hotel
#4 of 13 in Agios Gordios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloha Hotel
Aloha Hotel
#10 of 13 in Agios Gordios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ammos Bay
Ammos Bay
#3 of 33 in Agios Gordios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevens on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevens on the Hill

Property: Stevens on the Hill
Address: Agios Gordios | Corfu, Agios Gordios 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stevens on the Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Stevens On The Hill” is a wonderful holiday venue whether you desire a romantic holiday for two, a relaxing break with good friends, or a fun packed holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stevens on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stevens On The Hill Hotel Agios Gordios
Stevens On The Hill Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing