We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Misleading" is the word”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ammos Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ammos Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"Misleading" is the word”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This year we decided not to pay attention to little details in our vacation with our 3 kids but to focus on having a great time. We stayed at 4 different hotels / apartments and the only feeling we got from Ammos Bay was that we were being “punished”. What we read on the site was definitely NOT what we found when we arrived. We were five persons and although the room was spacious, it felt like a mouse trap. The two very small windows looked at the corridor and a wall outside. The balcony door looked at two lemon trees that were literally in ours faces. The photo I had seen showed a wonderful view of Agios Gordios which was not the case as the view was only from the reception area at the top floor. There were only 2 glasses, 3 spoons and forks and the rest missing you can imagine. We were told that the couch would open up so one of the kids could sleep there but when we opened it, the support was missing so it fell on the floor! The site said there was a shared parking lot in 50m. but we were never told how many staircases we had to go up and down to reach it. The pool was supposed to be in 50m., but it was in more than 400m (!!) and a common one!!. We had booked 2 nights there. We arrived late the first night and the next morning we left as we preferred to pay more (cancelation fees) than to stay there one more night! It you don’t mind spending your vacation in a mouse trap and exercise well at the same time, then…go ahead. If vacation is about rest and view, Ammos Bay should not be on your list.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elena_p72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larisa, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was there for 5 days and it was a pleasant stay.The hotel was quiet and you feel right at home!!!!Room was very nicely decorated,clean,next to the sea and the owner was very helpful!!!The view was wonderful.Near the hotel are restaurants and shops where you can enjoy yourself.Another important is that the town of corfu is very near!!!!Thanks for everuthing!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EYH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

It was my second time in greece and i will definitelly visit this hotel again!Agios Gordios is a great village with a wonderful beach.Amazing sunset not only from the beach but also from the room.The hotel was very clean and included all we needed.Tasos was very friendly and helpful,he helped us a lot with the sightseeings,and believe me Corfu has a lot of them!Best choise-memorable holidays!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The studios are comfortable and clean, with some nice decorating touches. The people at reception are really friendly, and the place is kept immaculately clean. I think that if you are in one of the top rooms you are extremely lucky - the lower ones still have a nice view but are a bit dark in the mornings. Beds are on the firm side.

It would be amazing if on their terrace they had some kind of drinks service, or an honesty bar as the sunset is spectacular.

The showers are very small for anyone but children, so I removed the soap tray and did not draw the curtains, which flooded the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 can be a bit dark in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SlartibarfastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Ammos Bay is a paradise in Agios Gordios. The view is spectacular. A short walk to the beach but just far enough for privacy.

The rooms are clean and super comfortable. Mine had an incredible view of the ocean. The staff is 5 star. SUPER friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Medora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I recently had the pleasure too revisit Corfu after a long time, usually I would be pleased by their general hospitality from the locals, but this time I was definitely overwhelmed from the hotel of Ammos. Its what couples look for, amazing view, great scenery,a mixture of modern and traditional. Summer colors, comfortable environment and easy access to the beach. I still remember the view and the morning sounds...just amazing, The stuff and accommodation was very helpful and full of recommendations. The prices are very logical and I would say that if you are a couple or a group of friends you will enjoy every bit of it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elisavet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OXFORD - ENGLAND
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at this hotel and I must say we really enjoyed it. The apartments are located on a small hill overlooking Aghios Gordios and are very easily accessible from either the beach itself ot the main street in the resort... we are talking about a possible 3 to 4 minutes walk and very easy at that. The owner, Tassos is a great guy who tries to please and assist you in any way he can and ensure you have a lovely break. The prices charged for the Apts/Studios are very reasonable, given the quality and location of the place! One piece of advice I would have is for people to contact Tasso directly, bypassing the intermediary agencies and negotiate a much better price, as we did..!! Tassos will definitely do that and any agreement you make with the guy is quaranteed..! (Tel : - +30 26610 53870 .... or mobiles - +30 6948 288180 and - +30 6973 530013). Robyn who helps out is also alovely lady who owns and runs Robyns Nest, a little bar, just down the road which is bijou and so charming.
Another thing that impressed me a lot, is that we were upgraded for free to the top Apartment which is arguably the best of the lot and, while this perhaps was possible due to it being the beginning of the season, it neverthelss speaks volumes about the kindness and commitment of Tassos to give his clients the best deal possible...On the street level there is a huge verandah where all the residents get together and get to chat and know each other and we made quite a few acquaintances this way.
Overall we found this to be a lovely place, so near to the centre and beach and yet so quiet and peaceful, just the perfect place for a relaxing holiday.
Thanks Tassos for being a great host and hope to see you soon..!


s

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VAGGYPAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Gordios hotels
0.1 mi away
Mazis Apartments
Mazis Apartments
#6 of 13 in Agios Gordios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloha Hotel
Aloha Hotel
#10 of 13 in Agios Gordios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dina's Paradise Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantic Palace Hotel
Romantic Palace Hotel
#5 of 13 in Agios Gordios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pink Palace
The Pink Palace
#11 of 13 in Agios Gordios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Family Beach Hotel
Sea Breeze Family Beach Hotel
#4 of 13 in Agios Gordios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Bay

Property: Ammos Bay
Address: Agios Gordios, Agios Gordios 490 84, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ammos Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ammos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Bay Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing