We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family days and what sunsets!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

A beautiful island, visited first week of October 2011, we stayed in self-contained apartment (very clean) with two bedrooms (REALLY comfortable beds), kitchen, sitting room, shower room (no curtain - everywhere gets wet), aircon and balcony with view of town below and sea beyond. Beautiful beach within walking distance and STUNNING sunsets. Very warm sea (even swam at 21.00h at night!). All local amenities were available and plenty of English speakers. Sebastian is completely charming and runs a lovely hotel and restaurant with his family. Had a lovely Greek meal in his restaurant. Good place to be based if you want to explore the island and also a great place to stay for a whole holiday. We explored coves and little harbours. Very relaxing and quiet (late in the season is great).We ate well in traditional restaurants on the sea front. I would recommend the apartment to a family...plenty of space and good facilities for making a simple meal/snack. Also, didn't have to worry about our lively children making noise that would disturb others. Restaurant always busy, even in October!

Room Tip: See comments above. Some of the smaller rooms did not have an uninterrupted view of the sea and tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annoula_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

we have just returned from a week at sebastian's and had a fab time. the accommodation was nice and clean with aircon, the food was tasty and the staff friendly and helpful. agios gordios is a lovely little resort. we had dinner at different tavernas, one of them 'the romantic palace' right on the beach, michael, anna and their family provided great service and the food was very tasty or delphi, we had drinks at robin's nest and lemon tree and also a little friendly sports bar (sadly cant remember the name) we definately will come back again, just an awesome place, from martina and fred, southampton, uk

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

There are lots of good reviews for Sebastians. Here is another!
The staff are so friendly including of course Sebastian himself and Mamma.
The food was always first class. I think you would call it a rustic restaurant with chairs that are ok for a couple of hours! The experience of dining under the vines is lovely but this bit is closed when the rain comes down! (It can rain towards the end of September/early October). Customer service is very good. On the one day that they were more busy than expected and food was running out so there was a delay, Sebastian was very apologetic and we had some more of his excellent wine on the house.
We stopped in a double room and it was fine. Nice balcony, great shower kettle and fridge. I guess my only negative point was the noisy fridge at night!
The Sea Breeze was also a good restaurant as was Stevens on the Hill. The busiest restaurant every night was Sebastians - that tells its own story! Sebastians is slightly more pricey but there is not much in it.
We had a good (challenging) walk to Sinarades via the cafe Aerostat (you need a beer by the timeyou get there) the village is very traditional Greek with a good but small Taverna near the church.
So a good time was had by us both in a place we can recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peegee_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have visited Corfu on ten occasions and wish we had found Sebastians on our first visit. Our accommodation was equal to any four star hotel and kept extremely clean, and for the first time ever in Greece had the most comfortable bed. Food could not have been better and the staff are very friendly, especially morning Anna and evening Maria. Sebastian, Teresa, and not forgetting Vanessa, were lovely hosts. We stayed half board, (you select your choice from the menu with a price limit but you can still select a more expensive meal paying the balance at the end of your holiday) and if you have any sense you keep a note of what you have so you have a rough idea of what you owe so it's no surprise at the end of your holiday. On our last night we had a long power cut but the staff carried on very professionally and everyone got their meal. So if you are visiting Corfu stay at Sebastians. Our highlight was the grape picking for the house wine which we can recommend as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piggywig65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

When we arrived here it was a bit confusing regarding check in. You basically walk right into the restaurant off the street and the rooms are above and scattered around the property. The restaurant is very beautiful (very uncomfortable chairs though) and the food is extremely over priced and not that wonderful. Better than average, but super expensive for what it's worth. Very obvious Greece is in trying times. Our room was at the end overlooking an Internet cafe/club playing non stop disco dance music very loud. We had asked them to turn it down and they did very reluctantly stating they had permission to play loud music til late.Since we had a little one, we were bound to our room and unable to go out at night. Would have been nice to have the end room but were given no choice. The over all stay was ok. Rooms were clean, beds were awful, and there'd was no living space, just a huge dining table, no sofa to relax on or watch tv. Air conditioning was great to have. The part that confused us the most was every time we ate in the restaurant and tried to pay our bill we were told not to worry about it. By our last night, we were told to close up the bill (which was fine) only we had no clue what the total would be. The owner Sebastian knocked on our door at 11:30 at night asking for the money. His mother came up half an hour later for us to pay. Not sure why this couldn't have been done during the day. When they knocked my husband and I were in bed...it scared me! We were told everyone who knew how to collect money would be gone the next morning, which they weren't. The entire staff were there and still finding lost bills to be paid. In fact one of the waitresses yelled my husbands name at our front door when my baby was sleeping. Very unprofessional way to end the trip. Won't be going back, thought staff got pretty rude towards the end. To those of you who love this place, sorry! We just thought it was average. On another note, we got rushed to the airport due to a potential taxi strike only to arrive half an hour before check in to find our flight 8 hours delayed. Nightmare. We would have checked this at our hotel IF for once their Internet was working...never was. Oh well....look forward to spending our hard earned money somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goodrachie1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was our second visit to Sebastians and was equally as good, if not better than our first. Having completed a 450 mile round trip to attend a family wedding before flying out to Corfu my Wife and I were in need of some serious R&R and were not disapointed. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Anna(an absolute gem) until the day we left we felt completely at home and relaxed. All the staff are excellent and nothing is to much trouble. This year we stayed in one of the apartments which are spacious and very well presented. We chose the half board option taking Breakfast which is hugely entertaining and normally prepared by Anna and our evening meals which were all to a very high standard. I cannot say enough about Sebestian, Teresa , Vanessa and the rest of the team who all helped to make our holiday so enjoyable and relaxing. The village itself is fairly small and quiet but with plenty of choices of bars and Taverna's. There are a number of pools available for use and a fairly sandy beach as well depending on your preference. All in all it is a perfect place to unwind and relax to enjoy good food, drink and plenty of sunshine. Already looking forward to returning next year!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Having just returned from two weeks at Sebatians Taverna and Family Hotel all we can say is "wow" what a wonderful experience it was. From the smoothly, run and professionally arranged taxi service to the lovely warm welcome from Anna. We stayed in one of the new apartments with a wonderful sea view. As mentioned in a previous review it was a delightful to see both the sunrise each morning and sunset in the evening from the balcony. The apartment was very well appointed and was a delight to come back to each day - especially the power shower!.

On a further note, we stayed half board and the food was of a standard that met, even sometimes surpassed, the standard of the five star hotel in which we stayed last year. The food was delightfully presented, always with a smile from Sebastian Teresa, Maria and Vanessa as well as the breakfast in the morning being cooked to a perfect standard each morning by the delightul Anna - I don't know how she managed to keep the standard, but she did. All in all it was truly genuine Greek experience, which if you have the opportunity to take, do so- you will not be disappointed.

Hopefully, one day we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue-jones15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
0.3 mi away
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
0.2 mi away
Romantic Palace Hotel
Romantic Palace Hotel
#4 of 13 in Agios Gordios
94 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pink Palace
The Pink Palace
#11 of 13 in Agios Gordios
394 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
17.3 mi away
Seafront Apartments
Seafront Apartments
#1 of 12 in Kavos
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation

Address: Main Street, Agios Gordios 490 84, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Gordios
Price Range: £43 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebastian's - Traditional family run Greek taverna with home-made food and wine and high quality apartments and rooms. Surrounded by stunning scenery and with a fabulous sandy beach and private pool, the perfect place to experience the laid back Greek way of life. You may even get the chance to help make their excellent wine made from the surrounding grape vines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing