We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickle and Diming”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nickle and Diming”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I really don't get why they do it ? Gorgeous views and a nice hotel and then they start to nickle and dime you. From the toll bridge you cross to get there 60p each way and it's right next to the hotel to the single sausage and the single rasher of bacon on the full breakfast and the 24 pounds a day for wifi access ( £2 per hour) to the dangerous tight parking and having to ask for toast they really ruin a stay. Lovely hotel. Lovely staff. Shyster mentality. Why why why ?

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorningstarTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    291
    238
    184
    218
See reviews for
197
610
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at The Old Mill for 1 night. Our room was in the Lodge, seperate from the main hotel. Our first impression on approaching the Lodge was that it looked like an old Pontins chalet but, despite it being very small, the room was extremely clean and had everything that we required, The bathroom was obviously new and the shower was lovely and hot.
Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very attentive.
Would also recommend a stroll across the toll bridge to the Bathampton Mill pub and restaurant.
Would definetly consider staying here again if visiting the lovely city of Bath.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel shouldn't be allowed to operate with such a disastrous level of hospitality and service. We booked a room with view, parking, and a bath tub instead of a shower, but instead we were given a tiny room with a view of the parking lot and adjacent rooms, and with a shower. The room was so small that our luggage didn't fit and you had very little space to get in and out of bed. The room had a broken window which made the room cold, and we noisy because of the parking lot. The toilet was clogged and the shower was equipped with a faulty shower mixer. The staff is extremely unhelpful and unwelcoming, and have no clue on how to provide decent hospitality. Since the hotel focuses on weddings and events, the parking is always full (i don't understand why they bother advertising it as 'large parking with no reservation needed) so you have to park in the street and walk. The walls and doors are wafer thin so you pretty much know what the other residents are doing and saying. On one particular day after a wedding some guests decided to blast off music in the parking lot at 4.30, and the security / night reception didn't even bother to quiet them down. The location is good, a the scenery is amazing, but thats about it. Don't be fooled in thinking it's romantic or the service is up to scratch.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batheaston hotels

Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I spent one night in what was described as a superior room. It was anything but. The room was so small that the double bed was pressed up against the wall. The bath was unusable due to "health and safety". We were kept awake until the early hours by a wedding reception next door and a service lift taking dishes up and down. The management were off hand and disinterested when we complained. The food is adequte but not great.
Overall the location is good but the hotel is poor.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else, but definitley not room 121.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Old Mill early Feb 2012. The weather was very cold (-6) and as we were staying the the Annexi was worried we would be frozen come morning. But the room was very well heated. I would have preferred a room in the actual hotel itself, but nevertheless the annex room was clean, presentable, although very small but suited us for the one night we had booked. The TV didnt work but was quickly fixed by one for the staff. We had an evening meal in the hotels onsite resturant which was very nice and reasonable. However my boyfriend did not enjoy his breakfast and it took us a long time to actually be served in the morning, we were sat there for almost 45mins before anyone took our order. The purpose of our stay was for a day out in Bath, so this nice little B&B served our needs, but when we return to Bath we will probably stay in town and go abit for up market. Bath itself isnt far away and the bus stop is very near and buses run every 10-15 mins until late at night. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recomend The Old Mill as long as your staying for just one or two nights!

Room Tip: As for a room in the actual hotel building and not the annex!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Considerating the amazing location!!!! The hotel is a let down!! They advertise a service that is non existable!! When you plan a nice cosy night in one of the advertised superior room with a jacuzzi bath that's not working!! Is a big let down to the romantic planned weekend!!! Staff can't understand you and they don't clear the tables, you just have to sit next to a dirty table.
It's such a shame for such a nice location!! Hopefully some one will take the place under there wing, because it's got very good potential!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DufoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Lovely location on the River Avon. Decent food. Helpful staff.. OK room.
Minor niggles include prominent bedsprings, dust hanging fromm ceiling, unlockage patio door, window that was difficult to close and impossible to lock, wonky soap tray, no iron, canned jazz muzac at breakfast and battered menus for evening meal. Also, that was the first time I've been asked to pay for wireless internet since 2008.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room in main building away from stairs and banging doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimDolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 34 in Bath
173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Property: Old Mill Hotel
Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing