We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely 2 day break”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
South Brent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lovely 2 day break”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night break to the Old Mill and Lodge in Batheaston Bath, i have to say some of the reviews on this hotel are very harsh. It is in a beautiful setting right on the river and weir. We stayed in room 226 which was one of the lodge rooms. Ok it was small but lovely decorated and very modern and above all clean. There is a mini bar & fridge but the prices are off the scale for expense, take your own is my tip and dont't touch it. There is an Italian restrurant on site which is reasonable as are the drinks. I did however have to send mine back because it was cold, they were very apologetic and it was nice when i eventually got it again. The breakfast was good with local produce but the toast was more like bread it was so under done. We didn't use the river boat because the weather was appauling on our second day so we drove into Bath because i couldn't get the staff to direct me to the park and ride because they didn't understand. There is a pub/restruant over the bridge but it was very expensive, £10 for a pint and a glass of wine. The george at Bathampton which is 5 mins further walk is good and not expensive and in lovely spot on the kennet and avon canal. Overall we had a good stay and i would go back again. The maid service is a bit early in the lodge, we only just woke up and she was banging on the door. The hotel is on a busy toll bridge but it didn't cause a problem, parking is a bit tight especially of you are later back.

Room Tip: if you want a view go in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    291
    239
    184
    218
See reviews for
197
613
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Be careful when booking your room. Confirm you are not staying in the porter cabin (Lodge). I ended staying in a trailer they called a lodge. It had dirty carpets and was the size of a walk in wardrobe. You have to go in and out in the rain to get to the actual hotel. The hotel looks tired and the only thing accurate in their marketing is the "Old" part. The manager is extremely rude, although the only positive part of this hotel is Haley who put up with numerous complaints and played the role of assistant manager, receptionist, bartender, waitress and general dog's body.

If you wish to experience the "Faulty Towers" of Bath - without the humour - then this is the place for you.

P.S. The plumbing system is very dangerous - be aware.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redlemon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batheaston hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days. In a lovely location but a few niggles which brought down the overall stay.

No hot water mid afternoon. Fire alarm sounding off at 11.30 at night with no advice from staff. The restaurant is dark in the evenings, the rooms are small.

On the plus, the staff do try to please and aren't lazy. The food is hot. Fabulous views, good location outside of Bath city centre.

Parking is a little tight close however, be prepared to park your car away if it's a new one !

The overall stay for 2 nights was enough but I wouldn't choose to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ttrace1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just returned from a great weekend at the old mill hotel. If you want a good and very clean hotel in a lovely setting just a 30 min walk to bath city centre than this is the one! Service from staff was friendly and very good. The beer garden by the waterfall is beautiful. Food and service in the italian restaurant was both great and very good prices on drinks and food. We stayed in the main hotel so can't comment on the lodge rooms (but they are probally fine as some people just enjoy complaining). Thanks for making our weekend in bath a special one. We will 100% be returning soon!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pal04ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a weekend at this hotel and found it to be delightful. Every room we went in to was clean and well presented. We stayed in the main hotel and had a really nice room. It was a little small but it was clean, had a lovely veranda and a wonderful view over the river and the bridge. The staff were friendly and helpful and helped this to be a very enjoyable stay.
Breakfast was a bit slow as the dining room was busy but other than that we have no complaints at all.

Room Tip: From other reviews it sounds as if the main hotel has better rooms than the annex but I didn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Whilst the location of the hotel is excellent, the rooms, and the facilities are frankly awful.

We were in the ‘Lodge’, we had the worse room we ever had in three continents, small and claustrophobic, a very low ceiling, views to the car park and the open corridor. One morning we were waken up at 5:30 am by the rolling of the industrial size containers, stored behind our room I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for any purpose

Room Tip: Do not book the 'Lodge', the rooms are set similar to portakabins. Anybody six feet tall wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fxbronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I booked this trip as a surprise birthday present for my girlfriend and was left rather disappointed. For the price I paid I hoped for so much more, especially after seeing the camp bed we were expected to sleep in. I didn't complain as I didn't want to tarnish our weekend, but the dirty and unkept accommodation, coupled with the lack of care and service was hard to take after forking out my hard earned cash.

Tips: Don't stay in room 120, unless you want to re-live your scout days
Avoid breakfast, it's apparently too much to ask for a bacon toastie WITH BUTTER
Parking is awful, get the train

Bath is a lovely city, make sure to visit but don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martoomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Property: Old Mill Hotel
Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing