We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but wouldn't return.”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok, but wouldn't return.”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Wish I read this before we booked! As regular visitors to Bath we've stayed in several hotels and b&bs. Although the hotel looks nice & is in a picturesque location, it leaves a lot on be desired. We were in a lodge room. The one on the end by the metal stairs. Yep, we had people clonking up and down stairs all night. Secondly the loo seat was literally hanging off. Why on earth had it not been reported and fixed? The reason it was hanging off is because of poor planning. It wasn't actually possible to sit on the loo straight because of the great big wash basin, so you end up hanging off one side! The minibar is nothing but a trip hazard, plonked right in front of the bathroom door. The bed is probably the worst I've ever slept on. I've never slept on a mattress that didn't actually touch any part of my body other than my head and feet (that's how badly it sagged). The housekeeper also needs lessons on how to make a bed, a flat sheet is supposed to be flat to the mattress not wrapped round it and screwed up underneath it to keep it in place.... Now the breakfast.... It was ok. The smoked salmon and scrambled egg was nice, the toast was appalling, literally warm bread. It just felt like the hotel was badly lacking in tlc......

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H3ndrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    287
    238
    183
    216
See reviews for
197
608
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed one night and would not return. Shoddy hotel and staff that could not 'care less'. Hotel felt uncared for and dirty. Stained carpet in bedroom, cheap furniture. Torn seats in restaurant. Waitress looked as though she had just been pulled out of bed. When waitress laid up a table at breakfast she placed clean cutlery on a chair seat and then put on table. Breakfast food was cold. Gardener strimming lawn at 8. 15 a.m. No relaxed wake up then! The male receptionist was, as previous reviewer stated, absolutely clueless. The hotel was poor. Guests were smoking in the next bedroom to ours and the front door of the hotel was littered with cigarette butts. Think again before visiting this shoddy, dirty, hotel with staff who really we're not up to the job of working in a job that requires some customer care or service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batheaston hotels

derby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Spent one night here in the Lodge annexe. Bit worried after reading reviews but was pleasantly surprised with the room. There is a lack of attention to detail which spoils the overall effect. Lovely modern bathroom but the shower was difficult to operate. Bed comfy, but bedside lamps old. Tea and coffee tray but very small cups. Fridge in room with glasses and wine list(crumpled) slept very well but woken at 7am by staff in car park. The hotel is located by the river and has lovely views over the fields. The biggest problem for me was the breakfast. It was busy but again furniture threadbare and tired. The food was cheap and of poor quality served with no enthusiasm. Cold white toast, coffee pot dirty and tatty. Left most of the food and walked out. Ashamed for the poor impression this hotel gives to tourists. Sorry but not good enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

just had a two night stay at this place,the staff great and doing the best with what they have to work with,the refridgeration unit running all night not good as no sleep urrgh,was told manager would talk to you in morning ,which he avoided at all costs,shower did not work,the only plus was haley doing her best to patch up the let downs by the manager

Room Tip: pray before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localbathboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Booked this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend. We booked a superior room with river view, over the phone. On arrival, a view of car park was provided. Luckily we had backed up our booking asking for e-mail confirmation, so produced this and were moved which was OK. Room was just OK but if this was superior, I would worry about a standard. Aware of reviews about the noise when a wedding takes place, we specifically asked if there was one when we planned to stay and were assured there was not, so we booked. Sadly on the 2nd night there was a wedding, clearly booked months before our booking and the noise was horrendous and would have been so throughout the hotel and restaurant. I discussed my annoyance with the manager who merely said it was not his fault, made no effort to make any amend and did not even bother to apologise for his staff making such a monumentous error! We went out and stayed out as late as we could but this was not what we had planned and should not be necessary but was the only action as our room (which we were paying for) and the restaurant were unusable. At check out we were then charged for items from the mini bar when we had not used any. Again it was corrected but is a further sign of very poor management. On a positive, the location is lovely, the breakfast was good, waitresses excellent and the restaurant is OK. Very disappointed and spoiled our break.

Room Tip: Get e-mail confirmation of what you have booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beattie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

What we liked:
The breakfast was nice and the view from the breakfast room was nice.
The lady at reception was friendly and helpful.
It was close to sights in Bath.
Coffee facilities and hairdryer were provided.

What we didn't like:
Our room was quite cramped which made it hard to open luggage.
There was a strange 1 knob shower that took ages to figure out - you have to turn it around to full pressure then keep turning it until the temperature is right - otherwise you get no hot water.
Our room was in a separate building which isn't nice if you want to have breakfast and the weather outside is bad.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night break to the Old Mill and Lodge in Batheaston Bath, i have to say some of the reviews on this hotel are very harsh. It is in a beautiful setting right on the river and weir. We stayed in room 226 which was one of the lodge rooms. Ok it was small but lovely decorated and very modern and above all clean. There is a mini bar & fridge but the prices are off the scale for expense, take your own is my tip and dont't touch it. There is an Italian restrurant on site which is reasonable as are the drinks. I did however have to send mine back because it was cold, they were very apologetic and it was nice when i eventually got it again. The breakfast was good with local produce but the toast was more like bread it was so under done. We didn't use the river boat because the weather was appauling on our second day so we drove into Bath because i couldn't get the staff to direct me to the park and ride because they didn't understand. There is a pub/restruant over the bridge but it was very expensive, £10 for a pint and a glass of wine. The george at Bathampton which is 5 mins further walk is good and not expensive and in lovely spot on the kennet and avon canal. Overall we had a good stay and i would go back again. The maid service is a bit early in the lodge, we only just woke up and she was banging on the door. The hotel is on a busy toll bridge but it didn't cause a problem, parking is a bit tight especially of you are later back.

Room Tip: if you want a view go in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Property: Old Mill Hotel
Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing