We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

After reading all the reviews, I was hesitant to stay here. Was so glad I did though, as the room was lovely, great view of the river & the food was amazing.
I had the calamari and risotto and both were excellent.
Can't comment about the lodge rooms as I havent seen them, but my room with a view if the river was lovely.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    279
    233
    181
    215
See reviews for
194
592
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
weymouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Just returned from a few days away in The Old Mill, Bath.

In general and in our opinion bad value for money and most comments previously are in our mind pretty much correct. We are mid age couple looking for a medium priced base to visit Bath, Old mill appeared to tick all boxes, wish we checked Trip adviser before booking though.

The Hotel is cheap(not in price per night!), scruffy, unfriendly and simply not good enough.The glossy website and you tube video shows the hotel as a slick, charming and well maintained hotel, wow that publicity was money well spent as this does not represent what we saw.

On arrival the sign to the hotel is very unclear, if you over shoot you'll have to cross the toll bridge and come back again, if you have a large car be careful on the entrance and when moving around the very tight car park. we arrived early evening so the car park was pretty full.

On check in the receptionist was friendly enough and told us we were in the lodge, on reviews published previously i felt nervous to what we were to find. Once we worked out a swift kick of the door was required to open the door we were greeted by a very small room, very small TV, basic small wardrobe and dressing table, bathroom was modern and clean which was OK..The largest thing in the room was the fridge housing the mini bar with very high scruffy price list attached. Do away with the unnecessary bar fridge and gain extra needed floor area! (not even any where to keep bag/suitcase!!!)
The bright neon light might keep you awake at night as this is situated right outside your lodge door and stays on till the sun comes up, they do have blackout curtains but as we all know they never quite keep out all the light especially one so bright..

River was 10 seconds away and was nice, shame the garden was littered with old parasols, dirty BBQs and old pallets. Again with a little care the garden would be lovely, totally wasted opportunity to make a great area even in Autumn.PS the old dominoes Pizza box remained hanging out of the bin for all of our stay!

Cigarette ends littered the Lodge areas and directly outside the main entrance, poor first impression as was the filthy entrance canopy adjacent to the entrance.

Up the stairs to reception area,which is tired and dingy past the 'trip adviser sticker' affixed to the door, around the back to the bar and breakfast area this is open and of a conservatory appearance nice and light and plenty of space BUT again cleanliness is an issue dirty windows, worn carpet and furniture. Breakfast 7.00 to 9.30am was OK, normal help yourself cereal etc. Coffee was nasty tea was OK. Cooked full English was adequate, again cheap bacon etc etc.

Hotel staff, young guy was ok if you can call it that, not massively welcoming no smile no how was your journey or even a welcome to the Old Mill... Or am i expecting to much!!! Information given was basic but in a I don,t want to be here attitude. Head breakfast waitress friendly enough and seemed to care...everyone else - Poor, not sure who the manager was illusive and kept busy somewhere else, female receptionist was sullen and untidy in appearance.
Lone female housekeeper did a good job in the room although a tap on the door at 8.30 am was far to early. We have stayed in many 3 star hotels and have never been woken this early! late morning is plenty of time to clean before guests return or arrive surely if a system was in operation that worked this would not be needed. The cleaner was of eastern European appearance and was fine, a proper uniform would give her a more professional appearance rather than a track suit and trainers. However there was an odd looking guy who would stand smoking and watching for the duration of the clean and to be honest was quite intimidating to us, no idea why he hung around, he never seemed to have a purpose!!

Never ate in the pizza/pasta restaurant as we didn't expect a meal that fitted the price being charged, we went to the more expensive restaurant just across the bridge, very nice but expensive, be aware of the drinks cost!!

The following night we went to the George in Bathampton, just a 10min walk across the bridge and over the A4, worth the walk as food is good, cheap enough, busy (always a good sign) and staff were great, in fact we returned the next evening to receive yet more great value food with good service.

So to sum up our short time at the Old Mill very disappointing, no customer care or service in place and the lodges could do with some much needed TLC.
I work in the Hotel industry and realize how some peoples opinions are different to others. These are ours and hope they help..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauriegarside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batheaston hotels

South West England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Not much room to move in a three person room. The taps in the bathroom didn't work and the door onto the balcony was jammed open so we did not feel that our possessions were secure. It took a couple of hours to get someone to come and fix the problems.

The food was OK though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank -Slush-x-Puppy-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The rooms in the actual hotel may be ok but The Lodge part are certainly not. Talk about misrepresentation, the Lodge is more like two portacabins on top of each other with extremely poky rooms. The bedside table on one side of the bed is a fridge with no lamp on top, The shower was dreadful and nearly flooded. Travel lodge has better sized rooms often at less than half the price. The breakfast looked as if the plate of food had been heated in a microwave apart from the egg which looked freshly cooked. Looked like black mould or dirt around the windows. The only redeeming feature was the lovely view. Certainly would not stay there again

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Lodge part
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie2443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Nice hotel, nice views of the river and the bridge. Quiet location although near to toll bridge which traffic gets heavy at times although very quiet at night. Car park is tiny not much room to park or move.
The bedroom was average, stains on carpet, bed was of two different beds put together. Shower room door did not close, shower was cold and no heated towel rail so towel remained wet. Restaurant, average breakfast, dirty worn out table mats, stained floor and dirty windows all round. WIFI had to pay for, not worth £115 a night!

Room Tip: Next time I would travel further into Bath which is not far and get better hotel for same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrreid1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Good point
the hotel is located in quiet and beautiful area.
view from restaurant is terrific.

The rest
you can reach Bath only by car/taxi/bus - or else it's 40 min walk.
the rooms are SMALL indeed - and the effort was made to put everything you need in - but the way sockets and things are arranged is absolutely inconvenient for users.
breakfast is ok - nothing great.

Room Tip: no car - no go. you cant reach Bath on foot - unless you are big fan of walking ( appr. 40-50 min)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Creatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Wish I read this before we booked! As regular visitors to Bath we've stayed in several hotels and b&bs. Although the hotel looks nice & is in a picturesque location, it leaves a lot on be desired. We were in a lodge room. The one on the end by the metal stairs. Yep, we had people clonking up and down stairs all night. Secondly the loo seat was literally hanging off. Why on earth had it not been reported and fixed? The reason it was hanging off is because of poor planning. It wasn't actually possible to sit on the loo straight because of the great big wash basin, so you end up hanging off one side! The minibar is nothing but a trip hazard, plonked right in front of the bathroom door. The bed is probably the worst I've ever slept on. I've never slept on a mattress that didn't actually touch any part of my body other than my head and feet (that's how badly it sagged). The housekeeper also needs lessons on how to make a bed, a flat sheet is supposed to be flat to the mattress not wrapped round it and screwed up underneath it to keep it in place.... Now the breakfast.... It was ok. The smoked salmon and scrambled egg was nice, the toast was appalling, literally warm bread. It just felt like the hotel was badly lacking in tlc......

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H3ndrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Property: Old Mill Hotel
Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing