We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water or heating yet still charged full price”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The hotel had no hot water or heating. Apron leaving we were charged the same rate and no discount for such disgusting level of service. The manager told us it was a good deal and could not reduce the rate. I surest you never never stay hear. I will never awful customer service cold hotel and no hot water to be able to wash.

Room Tip: Don't stay hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LornasHillingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

it must be sheer luck that people have left this hotel and felt the need to give it a good review! .. It is theee worst place we have ever stayed ! without question. The only two members of staff who always had a smile for us was the cleaner and a lovely waitress. I heard nothing but complaints from other guests. I'm not sure how many of these guests actually took their complaints to management like we did. Our first night here was horrendous i think we clocked up a solid 2 hour sleep. The bed was shambolic. The mattress was so old it collapsed when sat on. After spending the night unable to sleep we looked closer at the bed. The base of the divan was very stained and smashed in !! ... the hotel knew this as they have so kindly placed a large sheet of hardboard under the mattress 'for comfort??? ... i immediately complained we were then rewarded with the 'not so happy.. intimidating maintenance man'' .. we explained that the mattress and bed were broken and old and we were unable to stop ourselves rolling in to the middle .he said he would 'fix' it while we were out. We came back to the hotel to find 5, yes, 5 separate pieces of wood under the mattress supporting it at all angles. .. seriously??? i was furious. we then decided to research the hotel (too late yes i know) but were shocked although not at all surprised at the reviews.It's true everyone looked miserable .. i asked around out of 5 couples we spoke to ... 4 had old stained and broken beds. One couple said they were happy with their room and had stayed in worse places. We asked to be moved to a new room and were told the hotel was full. after speaking to management we learned the owner of this hotel is an Egyptian gentleman who has hotels all over the world ... he NEVER comes here either !!! .. bathroom however, was nice .. it looked clean and new.. big double shower .. but it was sleep we needed more than anything. We got money off our bill after speaking to management. Never again .. and anyone out there thinking .. ''it cannot be THAT BAD'' trust meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee !! it is ...
food is Italian .. the owner likes it that way ... ?? .. i had bolognese and it tasted like a frozen ready meal ... hubby had mixed grill ... not worth a fiver let alone fifteen quid !! i know everyone wants to make their own mind up but at your own risk of sleepless nights. We also saw a couple who turned up late in the evening only to be told they had not booked a room in the hotel ... the couple had confirmation but the hotel denied it and sent them packing ... so best you do check and check again when booking here... We recommend The George pub for food ... after this hotel ... we ate at The George every night !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Friendly warm greeting at reception. Our room had a lovely view over the river and watermeadow and had all the facilities needed for a one night stopover. All the staff we met were courteous and professional. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of juices and cereals and a wide selection of cooked dishes. The car park is a bit tight to negotiate but that is a minor inconvenience and i will definitely book again next time I am in the Bath area. Excellent value, professional staff and lovely location

Room Tip: From what we saw, the rooms in the main hotel are preferable over the outbuilding ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyGentGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed in the Lodge, rooms very, very small. Had to walk sideways to get between the end of the bed and the wall, avoiding the pictures and tv hanging on the wall. Only a very small wardrobe, unable to hang all clothes up, lived out of suitcase. No room in the room to put cases, had to keep them in the bathroom under the basin. However, both room and bathroom were clean. Shower controls ridiculous, only by chance overheard the receptionist telling another guest how it worked, as this is a recurring problem why has it not been addressed? Reception, no welcome given to our first guests told too early to check in when they arrived at 2.30pm, no offer of sitting in lounge and having a drink whilst they wait for the room to be ready. Guests left to their own devices and walked to nearest pub to sit and have a drink, having just travelled over 200 miles to get there. Bar/lounge very tired, three old leather settees, two old coffee tables and a mis-match of chairs to sit on. On the Saturday night the restaurant was full, only two staff on who were completely over whelmed. Gerry the Manager had to walk from restuarant to the dumb waiter to get the food, on walking back there was a queue of people waiting to be seated, he barged through them shouting 'move' (typical Basil Fawlty). Overcharged on bill for food that we did not have. Breakfast same recurring problems, poor coffee, under cooked toast and long delay for the cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HazeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The hotel room was very clean but quite cold on arrival. The radiator was set to off so I turned it on but it seemed to be on a timer so went off again later anyway. The bed was comfortable but its so long since I've used blankets it took a while to get to sleep, had to get second blanket out of wardrobe (could have done with a third but didnt want to go to reception and ask in my nightie!)
Bathroom was modern, no bath but big shower. Partner used all hot water on first day so I went first next day! It would be useful to have a minibar tarif in the room.Breakfast was very good, tasty and hot. Staff were all cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel proved to be great value for money. The staff were very friendly & the room was clean and tidy with great view of the river. I cannot speak highly enough of the restaurant. The food was great and very good value for money. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends, family and everyone that reads this review

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed for a nice get away with my mother-in-law so wanted a picturesque, relaxing place to stay. I was sold on this places views and location. On arrival we were put in a double room when we booked a twin so had two separate rooms. When we arrived there were people complaining about the hot water. When we left there were people complaining about the hot water. I did not have a problem but it is evident many other have.
At breakfast we were confronted with a rather grumpy man who acted as if us being there was an inconvenience to him. We were seated and helped ourselves to warm yoghurt and fruit ( only one type available- grapefruit!)
We then ordered our cooked breakfast which took over 40 minutes to arrive after we asked where it was, then it magically appeared bone dry from having been sat under the heaters the whole time.
And the tea was the worst I have ever had, it tasted like milk and water.
Overall nice place but terrible service. I feel sorry for anyone who has had a wedding here.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Alimaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range: £49 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing