We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value little hotel”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value little hotel”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Rooms in Lodge are small but very clean and comfortable. Bathrooms modern and spotlessly clean. For the price it's great. Beautiful location on the riverbank. Free parking. Seen some adverse review comments about level of service. Can't understand that as we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful at all times. Came on family business. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms small and separate from the main building but perfectly acceptable. Good for a night or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    291
    239
    184
    218
See reviews for
197
613
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We booked this mainly on its budget price - Booking.com's Smartdeal £45 for a double room midweek, breakfast included - and were not disappointed. Approach by car needs to be taken gently; the tollbridge is congested and only small signs show which of three entrances is the one. Parking is not roomy.

The receptionist was efficient and friendly. On seeing my wife's knee problem, she changed our room to a more accessible one (no charge) and we were lucky to find ourselves in Room 106, on the very corner of the bridge with river and weir views from both windows. Traffic noise was apparent but more than made up for by the soft rush of the weir all night. The online photos do not exaggerate the delightful location of this hotel and restaurant, although the weather on our short stay did not allow us to sample its riverside areas.

The room was warm, clean and the bed comfortable. Not much spare space but there was a mini-bar, complimentary tea-making, TV worked (although we had to go and ask for a remote), lockable safe, wardrobe, plenty of drawers, and two small upright armchairs.

Washroom was a reasonable size, with a roomy shower cubicle; plenty of hot water (after heeding receptionist's instructions on turning on).

Downstairs (open to non-residents) was a comfortable lounge area next to the bar, with the restaurant on the other side, all with good river views.

We dined at six, before the restaurant became busy. Dining area well set up and service was prompt and friendly. We cannot say much about the comprehensive menu as we had only a main course; spaghetti carbonara and chicken special were both good.

Breakfast menu was limited by recent river flooding of kitchen but there was still a reasonable buffet selection, nicely done. Our choice was only affected to the extent of having scrambled instead of fried eggs.

Minor issues were:
the cleanliness of the approach to reception and other outside spots (perhaps understandable given difficult winter season);
chosen draught beer not on;
bedroom carpet could have been cleaner.

Overall, we were delighted to find a warm, clean, room, a comfortable lounge for the evening, a good restaurant on the premises, superb view and friendly staff, and a good breakfast, all for half the price of the next few listed hotels. We would certainly return, and would expect summery weather to make this an even better bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, West Sussex ,UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We booked a Double room at the Old Mill a week before staying and got a double room including breakfast for £70 for the one night. We got a little lost finding our way to Batheaston as we had not visited Bath before, but the very firendly lady from reception guided us over the phone to the Hotel and when we got to the Hotel she greeted us very cheerily and we had a good long chat with her. I couldn't help noticing the duck tape repair made to her chair though! The room was good overall, but I was silly enough not to ask for extra sheets or duvet at the reception as there was only a thin blanket and sheet on the bed which is fine for summer but not for February. The heating was fine. The bathroom was very well decorated with expensive looking tiles and sink and was good quality. Our evening meal was very good, the best part of the stay. I had a delicious Risotto, the best I've had for a long time and my partner had the same. Although we had to wait a while for the food (because there was a big table of 15 eating as well), it was worth the wait. also, one thing, why is the bed shoved right next to a wardrobe on one side so there is no bedside table or light on the one side? So overall, it was a good stay, but there are quite a few little niggles that need sorting out.

Room Tip: Ask for more blankets in winter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warwicktn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is a beautifully situated hotel just outside Bath. It really has one of the loveliest settings you could hope to find and we had a real spring in our step when we arrived at seven pm on the Friday night. After negotiating a rather crowded car park we were greeted by cheery lady on reception who made us feel very welcome.

Unfortunately, it was pretty much all downhill from there. The family room we were given was rather small and dingy with an even dingier chocolate brown bathroom. It wasn't very clean - whilst looking for a plug for the reading lamp, I found a packet of biscuits crumbled behind the bedside table, embedded in some well established cobwebs.

There was no room in the hotel restaurant until 8.30pm so with a starving 10yr old to feed we had to go elsewhere for dinner. Some people might find this a bit of a bore but it suited us fine.

The real trouble began when we tried to get some sleep. I think it's fair to say we were woken pretty much on the hour, every hour through the night. The rooms have paper thin walls and little or no soundproofing, so any activity in the corridor or in the adjacent rooms felt deafening. We were also woken by pretty much everyone who left the hotel and most annoyingly by an RAC truck in the forecourt at 2am. The staff did their best to stop people from making too much noise as they left (there were loads of notices asking people to be considerate), but actually the leaving guests weren't even making that much noise - it's just that they might as well have been in the room with us.

This hotel needs a bit of a refurb - fewer, bigger rooms and some decent soundproofing. It has a bit of a neglected feel about it - dusty and unloved. And although the menu claims that all breakfasts are cooked to order - believe me they aren't.

We had such a lousy night that we checked out on the Saturday morning and escaped to the Castle and Ball In Marlborough. A really nice, quiet hotel with clean well sized rooms and quite a lot cheaper than the Old Mill.

Some time after leaving Bath we discovered that our car had been pranged in the overcrowded car park at the Old Mill. A fitting end to a pretty negative experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sioned W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batheaston hotels

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Well what can be said about the Old Mill.. HHHMMM well to start with the host Gary a man of very few words and none of them said in a particularly friendly manner was hardly endearing. The Bar and restaurant kept in near darkness in the afternoon . Upon our arrival we struggled to park even though it was late on a Sunday afternoon, our room was extremely hot and stuffy when we got in and just seemed to lack any character at all. We had to ask reception if it was known that the sink basin rocked and then went down again to ask how the whirl pool bath worked only to be told it didn't. That evening we decided to eat in the restaurant and had to once more go down to reception to find a menu we choose separate things from what was in the end a rather lack lustre menu. I had Pork escalope in bread crumbs on a bed of spaghetti in a tomatoes sauce, this was an obviously a mistake as that afternoon we had seen the chief in the bar ( an eastern European gentleman ) who when asked about the menu shrugged when asked what he would recommend from the "Italian" menu he told us lamb shank ??(My partner did have the Shank ) when I said I was going to have the pork he curled his lip and shrugged and said that is OK too. We had a starter but for the life of me I cannot or perhaps will not remember what it was, but then the mains arrived the pork was barely luke warm and the tomato sauce was watery to say the least and not presented particularly well. Not good. The shank however well the waiter and then the proprietor (Gary) did not bat an eye lid when we asked for a steak knife to cut it and later when he saw myself trying to cut it away from the bone for my partner hhhmmm, desserts ?? We where beyond wanting to try by then. The most my partner could say for the Shank was it had a nice gravy.

Needless to say the following night we ate out. Finding numerous tiny pubs and cafes which where so much better than the Old Mill.

Upon departure the bad feeling about the Mill did not end. I do not think I have ever been followed out to the car as I packed our suitcases and bags and finally when we settled our bill and went to leave, where we wished a safe journey or a come again?, oh dear me no, not even a good bye as Gary returned to his newspaper.
Oh and by the way Gary psuhing to single beds together is not a double it would of been better if there was not a ridge up the middle.



The area of Batheaston and Bathford and Bath in general have so much to be offered but not from the back ground of the The Old Mill Hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MajorWoodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel has a great location, & lots of potential but is lacking in many areas.
Check in was fine, although the staff member had his coat on ( presumably he was cold). The reception area was untidy & unwelcoming- some chairs had 'duck tape' repairs!
The executive double room was a good size with decent furniture. It had a river view.
There was no hotel information in the room.
The bed was 2 singles locked together. No valance. The bedding was inadequate ( a sheet & blanket, plus a spare blanket in the wardrobe.) Not good for winter- it was snowing heavily while we were there.
One bedside light did not work.
In the bathroom, the towel rail wasn't screwed onto the wall properly.
The hot & cold indicators on the bath taps were the wrong way round - confusing & potentially unsafe.
The radiator in the room wasn't on for 2 nights- so it was cold. We complained after the first night & we thought it would be fixed but it wasn't.
Breakfast was awful. There was no explanation given & no menus on the tables. The hot buffet had over- cooked scrambled eggs & cold mushrooms. The bacon was greasy & fatty.
The milk & yoghurts were on the cereal table - & both were warm.
The evening bar meals were good- but only Italian food was on offer.
The staff did not make you feel particularly welcome - & were not customer friendly.
The problems could be easily fixed & are not acceptable in any hotel these days. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This could be a lovely hotel, it is in a great position just outside Bath, apparently getting into Bath on foot is 'doable' but the bus service is very convenient so no need to take your car. However, I cannot recommend the hotel, I wish I could. The staff are pleasant but the rooms are not good. We stayed in a superior room and whilst the bathroom was modern and the view was good the bedroom was not good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#26 of 30 in Bath
173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Property: Old Mill Hotel
Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing