We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“below average, dissapointing”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“below average, dissapointing”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

stayed for 1 night.pretty location, unfortunatly we stayed in annexe, liked a room from hi-de-hi, very small, no where to put toilet bag in bathroom. room very clean. mini bar very very expensive.ate in italian resturant, food very nice. breakfast nice, but luke warm, staff very pleasant and helpful. some of the chairs in dining room were ripped, and all missed matched! would recommend on booking, requesting a room in main hotel.was glad we only stayed one night.more 2* than 3*

Room Tip: request a room in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paynephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    287
    238
    183
    216
See reviews for
197
608
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Im lsying in bed in the hotel now room 102 the room is over a boiler room of some discription and has an extractor sound running all night which is not a problem as you get used to it.monday at six the dustmen turned up loudest binmen in england im sure.Being right on the toll bridge traffic backs up so it is like being on a motorway.The nice quiet l9okbof the hotel is faje its the most noisiest hotel i have ever stayed in two inch gap under oyr door which i had to lay a jacket across,computer being used right outside the room Why?put ut in a corner somewhere.You would be better in a travel lodge!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wyattfazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batheaston hotels

Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We came here for a few days as it was our silver wedding anniversary.
We both enjoyed our stay.
Staff very pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast every morning was delicious.Very plentiful.
Clean towels everyday and tea/coffee/milk and biscuits were was topped up every day .
We were very concerned about staying here after reading some very bad reviews, however after arriving at our room (106) we did question weather those who left bad reviews actually stayed at this very hotel!!!!
The shower was lovely, nice and hot and very powerful, room was very nice and people have commented that the heating/radiator wasn't any good, our's was fine no problems at all.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 and it was lovely, good size AND A GREAT VIEW AS IT HAS 2 LARGE WINDOWS,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Having read reviews on Trip advisor after we had booked got very concerned. However not as bad as we had read. Room in main house (112)was ok four posted bed was a bit over the top. Major problem was how hot it was even with the radiator switched off. The hotel is in need of some TLC, but they are working on upgrading. Friends were staying in the motel section and were unimpressed with size of rooms. Said good job they hadn't brought the cat!!!

Breakfast was fine and views are nice in the sunshine

Room Tip: Get in main house not motel section
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked here for an overnight stay last Friday before we read previous reviews. we had a pleasant room overlooking the weir in the main building, which was clean and airy. The bed was comfortable but some of the furniture was a bit tired. However the bathroom was modern and clean. Breakfast next morning was a good buffet ,with freshly fried eggs done perfectly.
Had we read previous reviews first, we would not have booked here but we have no complaint about our stay.The hotel is however quite difficult to find down a very small road to the tollbridge

Room Tip: We were in the main building which we understand is preferable to the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitey039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldershot
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed in the loge .it was like a butlins holiday camp ,had to move to another room it was smelly ,burns marks window still and on the net curtains.the other people i was with had to move as well.staff rude not helpful.push us to eat in there cafe only word i can use no way.go across the bridge to eat.great food.if. You can don't go

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

To start with I was travelling to Bath from Buckinghamshire as my father was terminally ill and he had very few days left. The manager knew this and was very helpful on the phone about how to get to the hospital and also suggested other hotels in the area for the Saturday night which he was not able to accommodate.

Having spent the day at the hospital I decided to go and book in and when I arrived in the room, number 114 (double superior) I straight away noticed an odd smell. I tried to open the window but there was no handle so I opened the Juliet balcony door to find a flower box with quite a few cigarette butts in it! The room was noisy from traffic noise and probably a huge boiler (or kitchen equipment) underneath and the windows did little to eliminate the noise. To be fair to the manager, when I asked to move rooms he offered me another double but that was smaller and just as noisy so I stayed put.

My partner and I went back to the hospital and returned about 11pm and went straight to bed. Now whilst I was on tender hooks waiting for the mobile to ring, it was not helped by the very uncomfortable mattress. In the morning it was found to be a zip system, with no topper to eliminate the springs pushing against the top making it a very uncomfortable mattress.

In the bathroom, the shower is plumbed in incorrectly; the hot is on the right and the cold on the left which is against the standards and can cause scalding to you or your children, so beware!

The towel rail was fitted into a stud wall with plastic raw plugs and is hanging off. The toilet is not fitted straight and the holders for the various items such as toilet brush, toothbrush holder etc are all wonky for the same reason.

For the first time in my life, I took the manager to the room to point out the faults and told him that I was going to breakfast whilst he thought about what he will be doing about these problems.

Breakfast was very nice with nice staff but as other reviewers have noted, you feel like you are trying to steal something when you go for more. The restaurant is in a great location, as is the hotel, but the seats are stained and threadbare.

Having checked out, I asked the manager what he is proposing to do about my complaint and he said he would be writing a comprehensive report and nothing else was offered. When I asked for the contact details of the owner, he would not give them to me and told me to email the hotel. He did eventually give me the owners name. Because the manager is hard of hearing I found I had to speak loudly for him to hear and he told me to stop being rude! I told him that I was not shouting, I was not being rude, I had not sworn or threatened him but I was angry with his attitude. Pointing to the CCTV camera, he told me that it had all be recorded which is good really, because if his boss is shown the footage he may be disappointed by his managers attitude. That is of course assuming that the cameras was fitted properly and not hanging on with raw plugs! Because

To his credit, the manager did try to please me by saying that the room, 114 (superior double), was a very popular room and guests ask for it when they return. All I can say is that they must bring their own mattress!

No doubt the manager will defend his actions and try to pass the blame, as he has in other reviews, but given that I was waiting for my father to die, I had received very little sleep the last few nights compounded by no sleep here, his customer service is lacking to non-existent and he may wish to consider how he handles customers genuine complaints in the future.

Reading the other reviews, thank god I didn't take the lodges rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid room 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lazysheepmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Property: Old Mill Hotel
Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing