We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmm, interesting stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mmmm, interesting stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is our second visit here having stayed here 2years previously in the main building. First time round couldn't fault it...... this time, mmmm....... We booked x2 double rooms, we weren't in the main building but in 'The Lodge' out the back. No problem with that but felt let down as one room had a double bed and the other was two single beds pushed together with a double sheet over it! Not the nicest thing to happen, when you fall through the gap in the middle of the night. We booked through booking.com as I always do for our trips away and paid £49 a room. Pretty good price really which included breakfast - however, felt like that because we paid less than half the price of an actual room rate we were thrown out the back into 'The Lodge'. The shower was temperamental, hot one minute then freezing cold the next - was told that there was nothing wrong with the showers. When we went to have a 'word' at reception we were told that we could fill in a complaint form for the issues and it will then to be forwarded to head office in London - funny how nothing is dealt with on the spot. Would not really recommend a night stay unless maybe in the main house however breakfast was nice and a good reasonable selection, bar staff were friendly and helpful, reception staff not so. All I would say is look at the other reviews before making a decision. Bon appetite

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheKiwi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    278
    233
    181
    215
See reviews for
193
591
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

When I booked this night to give my partner a birthday break with out breaking the bank . I wish my money was back in my bank . Room is small and fills Damp . Hot water did not get to the room so showering was not nice . Car parking is so BAD your car will be knocked as we found out . The staff unhelpful . I was glad to leave . I should say one think nice about the stay and that it is made me love HOME

Room Tip: I can only say pay a bit more and stay in Bath and not here .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batheaston hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The flooding has obviously caused several problems and the smell of damp is quite off putting.
We stayed for two nights and really wished we had not bothered. On our first night we arrived to find we were in what they call a superior twin, we told them it should be a double superior. They said they had no staff until after 6pm to resolve the problem. We actually ate in the restaurant that night the food was good and returned to our room to find that the most uncomfortable beds on the planet had been pushed together. On the first night the room was like a sauna so we turned down radiator and opened windows. Complained to staff who said because Hotel had been flooded they had to have the heating on full. No hot water for a shower was very inconvenient when I mentioned it to the man on reception he said that we had to leave the shower running for 3mins. Believe me it ran for 10mins before we gave up.
Because of Bath Half every where else was booked so we had to endure another day and evening. The second evening having spent half of the day watching the bath half marathon we returned to a hotel room that was freezing. Mentioned it at reception and was told they would look into it. Between 3pm and 7pm when we went out to eat that night nobody visited our room to address our complaint. On our return the room at 11.30pm was still freezing. The staff on reception were also fed up and with no resolution in sight, cold and fed up we went to bed. I have to say that this place is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and shall not be ever going back.
Also people need to know that they charge a 4% surcharge if you use a credit card so if you do not have a debit card or cash the diabolical experience costs more and you cannot charge anything to the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirstie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days at The old mill Room and bathroom ok reasonably clean and tidy smelt a bit damp thoughprob from the floods.
Room very noisy with inconsiderate tenants returning late.
The double bed was a horible cheap steel frame bed sagging in the middle awfull to sleep on mentioned it to reception who said it would be sorted.
Having got back after a long day out and about to find nothing done so stripped off bed and used the foot stool to bend the base back...
Slept better then.
Restraunt ok for evening meal breakfast very good.
Would I stay again definitely not.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Where to start. Floods happened which is a huge shame but the hotel decided to rent the rooms out anyway. Arrive to find we're in 'the lodge' - get to a place looking like a shed with building materials outside only to find that it's our room. Door sticks, hurt ourselves opening it only to find a tiny box with a god awful smell! We complained and got moved upstairs to a room slightly bigger but full of health and safety hazards. Lamp cord running under the mattress, back of fridge right up against plug points, curtain hanging directly on top of the radiator, the list goes on. For the price you pay it's horrible!! Lovely location on the river persuaded us to book but it doesn't tell the true story. We were meant to stay 2 nights but moved out to another hotel after 1 night. We had arrived late after a long drive and couldn't face finding somewhere else at such a late hour - we would have point blank refused if we hadn't been so exhausted.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanaMcvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have stayed at other B&B establishment ,but staying at the Old Mill Hotel was certainly far better and having a restaurant on site save the necessity to find somewhere to eat , so we would definitely book The Old Mill again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Property: Old Mill Hotel
Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing