We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location not far from the city of Bath”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here with a friend and really enjoyed it. It was good for the amount we paid. Nice beds and large rooms upstairs in the hotel. Great free breakfast. Easy to get a bus into town for a couple of pounds. I'd come back!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

the location is great and the rooms clean, BUT the rest of the hotel is very faulty towers and in need of being dragged out of the 70's, the dining room windows have cobwebs on the inside! the breakfast is cold and rubbery from standing too long, and the eggs had a hair in. the rooms are basic and as I said clean, but the decor and the finish is grubby and shabby, also niosy so sleep quality not great, on a plus side the staff are friendly and efficient

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patsyw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The main building looked beautiful and picturesque but we ended up housed in the portacabins outside. These are pointless rooms: could hear the neighbours loud and clear, the glass fronted door let tonnes of light in, the wooden temporary Stair was a hazard.
We went to have breakfast in the morning- we saw sad eggs and bacon and a small selection of sorry cereal and they wanted £15 for the delight! We went out for eggs elsewhere and were much happier!
So, only stay here if you get a room in the main building and don't have breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ally_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Bath Somerset, and in particular, to the above hotel. We were treated like VIPS and left more like old friends. The staff were tremendous, nothing was too much bother for them, they were so attentive at meal times especially. Our room was immaculate ,towels were changed without request, the en-suite was cleaned every day, nothing was left to chance.Staff members were on hand at all times,it was a novel experience. The food was exceptional and plentiful, it made our holiday. The manager led from the frontand wasnt afraid to to pitch in with the staff. We send our grateful thanks especially after the traumatic last 12 months following the death of our beloved grand-daughter from Pancreatic Cancer. It was the tonic we needed.

Room Tip: We were in room 109, try to get one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank umpyFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmillhotel, Duty Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. The staff and myself are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Our staff, on reading this, do remember you both with absolute fondness and were sorry to hear of your tragic loss. We do wish you both all the best and happiness and hope to see both soon again. Again thank you so much for your lovely words. I am always so pleased to read reviews like this out to my staff. With the kindest regards, yours sincerely, Rui Esteves, Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I must admit when we first arrived I was a little unsure as the car park was a bit cramped but as soon as we stepped inside I was wowed by the hotel, the man on reception was very welcoming and polite, we were given our room key and pointed down the hallway- must admit there was a lot of steps. The executive double was beautiful with an absolutely stunning view of the river, we had a shower cubicle & a bath, the bed was extremely comfortable but there was no hairdryer as advertised. We went to the lounge and had a pot of tea which was served promptly and we then booked a table in the restaurant for dinner- this is where we encountered a few hiccups, the tall brunette waitress was not very good at either the bar or table service, we had to ask for a soup spoon and then steak knives but I must stress the food was absolutely delicious and very well priced. The views from the hotel are absolutely breathtakingly beautiful, we sat by the weir at dusk just watching the water and listening to the sounds of nature. We shall definitely revisit the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmillhotel, Duty Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. The staff and myself are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We all do appreciate such lovely feedback and keeps us all motivated. We do sincerely apologise for the lack of a hairdryer and am going to attend to that matter with immediate effect. I am so proud of my hardworking staff and we take all the comments on board to ensure our guests have a comfortable and happy stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. With the kindest regards, yours sincerely, Rui Esteves, Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you for a lovely stay this weekend. The room was clean and nice. The view was beautiful from our room. The breakfast was really good, with lots of choice. The location was perfect, we were able to walk along the canal into Bath and get the little boat back. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Very child friendly and will def be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmillhotel, Duty Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. The staff and myself are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We all do appreciate such lovely feedback and keeps us all motivated. We look forward to seeing you again soon. With the kindest regards, yours sincerely, Rui Esteves, Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 day stay in room 109. The view from our window was fantastic and the family of ducks were very entertaining. The room was well decorated and the furniture appeared fairly new. The bed was a 4 poster and very comfortable. What did let the room down was the cleaning, a dead bee on the floor stayed in the same spot for "all" our stay. Also the patio door seal was disgustingly dirty and some of the electrical items had not been tested for a while. The car park was tight on a couple occasions but we always got a spot. Breakfast was good and the evening meals were a better value than the pub on the opposite bank. Also, the Lager was cheaper in the Hotel. We found the staff very professional and approachable.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, the lodge in the car park looked like a prefab unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pensionersPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range: £59 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing