We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be a superb hotel with a little bit of tlc!”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a 40th wedding anniversary celebration staying at this hotel. It was disappointing! The one saving grace was the view from our bedroom window, well almost the dead flowers and cigarette butts in the planter on the balcony railing spoils it! Also we were booked into superior rooms but one had a bar one didn't one has nice new furniture the other had shabby but not very chic! Breakfast was mediocre at best and there was no lunchtime menu available.

The staff tried their best but most had English as a 2nd language and 50% did not seem to be very happy in their role.

If it wasn't for the fact we were with friends we probably would have checked out asap!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and stay in Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank georgieannjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We found this hotel through Booking.com and chose it because of the price and location. It was a great choice. The location is amazing, sitting alongside the River Avon and the Toll Bridge. The hotel Management is working hard to improve the facilities and the level of service and are doing a great job. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and full of information. Throughout our seven night stay we could not fault the level of attention, friendliness and professionalism of the staff team. We dined several times in the Hotel's own restaurant, with views across the River. A good variety of menu items, reasonably priced, and all the meals were very acceptable. The wine list was also up to standard with a perfectly good red at £14.95. Our room was on the first floor - no lift (possibly the only criticism) and met our needs perfectly. There was a full length window that opened with a balustrade. The gardens of the hotel are ideal with the opportunity to sit at wrought iron tables and chairs on the river bank or alongside the weir. Walking over the Toll Bridge takes you to the Bathampton Mill, typical pub / restaurant and the landing stage for the Pulteney Princess boat taking you into the centre of Bath. If you are looking for a quiet, semi-rural peaceful holiday only a couple of miles from Bath City Centre, this hotel ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IanFaeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmillhotel, General Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with The Old Mill Hotel. We are always striving to improve things and with such lovely positive feedback like this we are reassured that we are heading in the right direction. As the Manager of the Hotel I am so proud of my hardworking staff, they all strive to do their best to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable and when we read reviews like this I am only too pleased to pass on such great words of praise. We do hope that you will come and visit us again soon. With kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

An excellent hotel near Bath, at reasonable prices. An Old Mill by the Stream? Prior to checking in, took a river trip from the Poultney Bridge in Bath and coming up to the hotel, we said 'that looks a nice place' and it turned out later that it was the hotel we had booked to stay in.
The prices were very reasonable, breakfast good and lovely river views.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmillhotel, General Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with The Old Mill Hotel. We are always striving to improve things and with such lovely positive feedback like this we are reassured that we are heading in the right direction. As the Manager of the Hotel I am so proud of my hardworking staff, they all strive to do their best to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable and when we read reviews like this I am only too pleased to pass on such great words of praise. We do hope that you will come and visit us again soon. With kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I must be honest I was more than a little concerned after reading some of the reviews on this hotel from this site, however I am delighted to say that the reviews are nothing like what we experienced! It was a truley stunning old mill venue, with a breath taking view. Many of the comments that I have seen were regarding the poor management, we arrived at this beautiful hotel on the 26th July and were greated by the manager himself, he was very proffessional and made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. The hotel is set in a beatiful location which looks very rural with the river Avon just outside, having said this it is also a very short journey in to the gorgeous city. We stayed in room 103 and we had an amazing view. If you are looking for a lovely location PICK THIS HOTEL! There is a boat ride two minutes walk away from the hotel which is £5 one way and £8 return, this takes around twenty minutes and takes you in to the beatiful city centre of bath. ( We paid £8.90 for a taxi back after 12pm... if the boats don't take your fancy) There is also a row boat hire at the same place. There is a lovely restaurant within the hotel on the ground floor, this has a view of the Mill and the river and truley looks stunning, alternatively there is a lovely Free house pub with a stunning beer garden next door. The hotel also has a restaurant on the 1st floor which is not as modern but still kept in a good condition and is very fitting to the venue. The rooms are small, but they are not tiny! More than big enough!! - I'm not entirely sure what the bad reviews were complaining about with the small rooms, unless you are looking to do acrobats in the room of course!( Being an Old Mill, you wouldn't expect them to be huge! From what I understand the MAIN hotel has the nicer rooms, the lodge rooms are located just next to the hotel and I am guessing these are the ones that the reviews relate to as our room was stunning! The receptionist Barbara allocated a lovely room for us at a simple request over the phone prior to arriving. The rooms are modernly decorated and a lovely bathroom too! We did have some trouble with the shower but the reception staff came up straight away and fixed this for us. Breakfast was also lovely and again the team there were very friendly and accomodationg. I would recommend this hotel to anybody and we are even considering this as our wedding venue! Step away from the standard Holiday Inns and the other main stream hotels and stay at a hotel that you will be talking about for years! :D

Room Tip: Request a roomn in the main building prior to arriving. Leave a good comment if you enjoy it and sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have just got back from our honeymoon after a great 3 days at this hotel, after reading some of the reviews we were a bit worried, but just proves you shouldn't believe everything you read . Staff were very friendly, food was great, was given a lovely room with a 4poster bed, now I have spent over 20 years in this industry so I know what to expect, grounds and gardens are great for a relaxing evening , Is this a 4/5 star hotel.. No... But did we pay 4/5 star hotel prices... No. For what you pay to stay here it's is well worth it, get the boat £8 return is a great way to get to bath. Some say it's over £15 by taxi, well we got a taxi 3 times and never payed over £8,

Would recommend this hotel every time and looking forward to coming back on our 1st year anniversary

Room Tip: 112 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmillhotel, General Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with The Old Mill Hotel. We are always striving to improve things and with such lovely positive feedback like this we are reassured that we are heading in the right direction. As the Manager of the Hotel I am so proud of my hardworking staff, they all strive to do their best to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable and when we read reviews like this I am only too pleased to pass on such great words of praise. We do hope that you will come and visit us again soon. With kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

As far as hotels in bath go, the mill is on the cheaper side, it's about a 10 min drive from city centre, we took a cab to the centre of Bath (£15) as parking is limited and expensive.
The reception staff on arrival weren't welcoming and irritated that we had interrupted whatever they were doing!
We stayed on the lodge.....the room was extremely small and dark with very low ceilings, with a shower room at the back of the room which had no windows. The latches on the windows were broken and filthy curtains provided privacy from other guests..on first inspection the rooms looked clean but we found two abandoned socks which very obviously had been there for some time..
The bed reminded me of one of those fold out affairs, the bed linen was clean but the duvet and foam pillows could do with replacing. Navigating around the bed is tight and you've no where really to sit other than on the bed. The room was hot and stuffy, with inadequate ventilation.
The shower room was adequate although my partner struggled to stand up right in the shower as the ceiling is very low and the extraction fan was ineffective at clearing the room of steam.
Parking is inadequate and cramped. Breakfast were served in the restaurant, which over looked the river, the food on offer was varied and plentiful.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cannygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were worried about the reviews when we went to stay here, however, we were delighted by what we found. The hotel has a wonderful setting by the river. The rooms were spotless with an equally spotless bathroom - great shower. Breakfasts are amazing, lots of choice as it is buffet style. The staff are really friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's an quick and easy ride by ferry or bus into Bath city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmillhotel, General Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with The Old Mill Hotel. We are always striving to improve things and with such lovely positive feedback like this we are reassured that we are heading in the right direction. As the Manager of the Hotel I am so proud of my hardworking staff, they all strive to do their best to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable and when we read reviews like this I am only too pleased to pass on such great words of praise. We do hope that you will come and visit us again soon. With kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range: £59 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing