We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Wedding Anniversary Party”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We hired the entire hotel for the weekend and our sixty guests and ourselves have nothing but praise for the hotel.Gary Button (manager) and his staff did us proud.Excellent food both in restaurant and the gala dinner.The location is second to none and all the staff made us all vey welcome.Yes there are some rooms that are a little tired,but all were clean and fresh and we all left noting we must return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSLONDON099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
respondance, Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. On behalf of myself and the staff it was a pleasure working and helping you and your party enjoy your stay with us
We all look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2011

We visited the Old Mill for a Golden Wedding party where the happy couple had taken over the whole hotel for the event.

The staff, especially Gary (who I believe is the Events Manager) were helpful, friendly and keen to assist.

The function was incredibly good. Excellent food. Attentive service. The staff really couldn't do enough to ensure everyone was having a good time.

We stayed in the main hotel and the room was clean and well presented. It was a little cold and when we mentioned this a fan heater was provided to boost the heating. The hot water was always hot and plentiful when we wished to use it.

The hotel does need refurbishment, especially the bedrooms, and this is well acknowledged with refurbishment planned for 2011. Bearing this in mind we did feel it was a little pricey, as we've paid less to stay in hotels which don't need refurbishment in the middle of Bath, but the location, food, service and general ambience are good.

Would I recommend it? That has to be a qualified Yes because of the need for modernisation and the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We had a room in the main hotel with a wonderful view across the river if we could have seen out of the dirty windows. There was no heating but were given a small fan heater which helped in the bedroom but not the bathroom. 2nd morning there was no hot water and we were told that another boiler had "packed in". The rooms are obviously never heated properly as there was a lot of mould everywhere especially in the bathroom and shower. I had to clean the shower head before I dared to step into it. To be fair we were given a decent discount after refusing to pay full charge. Breakfast was nothing special but edible. To be fair to majority of staff they tried their best and we extremely polite and helpful. I felt sorry for them have to take abuse from some disgruntled customers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eng-CJ-and-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

This hotel has a nice location, its not actually in Bath but only a 10 minute drive from Bath though, the hotel is right on the river and there is a nice old mill as well, there is land with cows across the river which gives this hotel a country feel.

The room we had was quite old and very over priced for what you get (£85 p/night); the bathroom was extremely tiny and the TV was very small and didn’t have a strong signal. The only thing I could suggest for this hotel is to have some snacks in the restaurant as we got back from Bath around 10pm and the restaurant was closed and we were still hungry. The breakfast the next day was very very good though, bacon eggs, sausages, toast, fruit, cereal, tea & coffee !!

I would stay here again as the location is great, but if I did find another hotel in the same area for cheaper I would consider staying elsewhere only due to the price ! If this hotel was even £70 per room per night rather than £85 it would be great !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amor_vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

we have just returned from a wonderfull weekend away, after reading some of the reviews we must be honest we were a bit worried, however I took the advice of one of the previous reviews and phoned the hotel before we set off. Yes the hotel in some ways is a bit old fashion and dated but the staff, the food and the service were all very good . The general cleanliness of the hotel is very good, there was a christmas party going on on the Saturday night we were even able to join in and had a fantastic night drinking and dancing, when we checked out in the morning our bill was explained and correct by a very cheerful receptionist, infact all the staff seem to enjoy their jobs and the management who seemed to be there all the time .
We have already booked to return in February to celebrate Valentine this time is a four poster for us!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Booked most of the hotel for our wedding evening do. Personally our room was reasonable seeing as it was the best room. It was never worth its £130 price tag for the night though. It was comfortable, but in need of renovating. Unfortunately, most of our guests rooms were in poor condition. My new in-laws had planned to stay for 5 nights. This was reduced to 2 after a lack of hot water and needing a portable heater! We were informed the boiler couldn't supply all rooms when the hotel was full! Our other guests were disgusted by their rooms in the Lodge, which resembled beach huts!! When they complained about the size and condition and mentioned not paying the asking price they were threatened with being banned from the party by an intimidating male manager. Later on in the evening most issues were resolved by a fantastic female member of staff and the party atmosphere was regained. The party was a success, but the state of the accomadation was an embarassment, and almost spoiled one of the biggest nights of our lives. A member of staff did mention the Lodges were due to be condemned soon. They are certainly fit for that! You are just paying for the location here, not comfort or guaranteed heat or hot water.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alrightmyluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My partner and I had a room in the main hotel. We paid £20 extra for the privilege of having a freezing cold room, with next to no hot water, no bath towels, a cold breakfast (even cold coffee!). Was so cold by the time we left it as nice to get in the car to warm up! The bathroom was tiny and covered in mould and the shower cubicle was so small if you dropped anything you couldn't bend over to pick it up. The older male member of staff is so rude it's unbelievable and has zero customer service skills, although the younger staff are very friendly and try very hard doing what must be a nightmare job. This hotel is massively overpriced. it's a shame as it could be nice as it's in a lovely location. There is supposed to be a refurb underway but they will need to spend a fortune on it (maybe that's why they're trying to save money on the heating bill?!). I heard the other guests complaining that the rooms in the 'lodge' are even worse... someone mentioned 'Butlins 20 years ago'

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini62c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 32 in Bath
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 32 in Bath
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range: £48 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing