We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be great when it's finished”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Reading UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“will be great when it's finished”
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Superb location, excellent evening meal, nice room : this just about made up for the general chaos caused by having the builders in. Service was good, breakfast basic. We had a laterooms deal, and they further reduced the price because of the disruption, which made it good value for money. I would have been gutted if I'd paid the full price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    292
    243
    188
    221
See reviews for
201
619
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

i had such a bad experince at this hotel i had to call the police as the duty manager was very threating towards me the rooms are dirty smell mould growing and wall paper peeling off walls

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
respondance, Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
This customer booked her room by using one of the many web sites that we accept booking from, she chose the cheapest price and did not realise that this rate was a room only rate, she tried to cancel the booking less that 24 hours before she was due to arrive, saying that her computer crashed etc, i explained to her that our cancellation policy was 24 hours and that if she cancelled we would have to charge her the first night but i assured her that she would be able to get breakfast at the hotel but there would be a charge for it.She decided that she didn't want to pay the first night if she cancelled so decided to go ahead with her booking.The customer had booked a lodge room at the hotel and as it was to be for two ladies I decided to up-grade her into the main hotel at no extra charge.
When this customer arrived I myself was on duty, i chatted to her and all the information about the hotel and restaurant times was explained to her.
About 20 minutes later the customer was outside the hotel having a cigarette, i enquired if everything was ok and she replied that she did not really like the room that she and her sister were allocated, with this I checked our bookings chart and offered to change their room, I showed her the other room and she decided that yes she did want to move. Later that night the customer complained that her new room smelt ( I myself couldn't smell anything and her sister made no comment) as it was then about 12.30 am they decided to stay where they were.
The following morning again I was on duty and this customer appeared at reception ranting and raving , by this time my thoughts were that this customer never really wanted to come here and what ever we did for her wouldn't be good enough so I offered that if she didn't want to stay the second night provided she informed us by 12 noon that I would waver the cancellation charge for the second night.
She and her sister both left the hotel saying that she would let us know, about half an hour later she returned and informed us that they would not be staying the second night and that she demanded a full refund for her first nights stay, when i did not agree to this she left the hotel but did not return her bedroom key. We did find out that she had booked into another hotel just up the road and she informed us that she would not return the key unless she got a full refund, we explained to her that we take security very serious and by not returning the key we would have to inform the police that she is witholding our property. With this she returned the key.
I do fell that the hotel went out of its way to try and accomodate this customer and that she is not tell the facts as they truely are
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batheaston hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Booked two night stay via www.laterooms.com

Day 1: Checked in c. 3pm, alarm bells sounded when I saw a vintage IBM in operation in reception. Bedroom featured a very unusual pane of glass and vacuum sculpture, possibly connected to ongoing work to replace hotel windows. Complained and given new room.

Day 2: Woken up c. 6am by workmen hammering on floor above. No hot water through shower and sink [no bath] in morning. Complained and given new room [with hot water and bath]. In evening, quarter of romantic bath ran from taps before hot water disappeared, cue application of 7 travel kettles of boiling water before surrender. Hair dryer did not work. Drank champagne, hid the TV remote in revenge.

Day 3: Breakfast awful so stole some cereals and jams. On checking out and complaining about lack of hot water, receptionist sympathetic but El Hefe the hotel boss came out of his office, or rather his one big eyebrow did first. North African version of Basil Fawlty and Rigsby's lovechild but without the canned laughter. No apologies for awful experience, but did offer us a guided tour of new hotel boiler [politely declined as wasnt sure tour was free].

Pros: Absolutely beautiful setting alongside the River Avon, couple of decent pubs in Bathampton and within five minutes walk of Kennet & Avon canal. Paid for one night only after complaining.

Cons: The fact you have to pay to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lylebignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We hired the entire hotel for the weekend and our sixty guests and ourselves have nothing but praise for the hotel.Gary Button (manager) and his staff did us proud.Excellent food both in restaurant and the gala dinner.The location is second to none and all the staff made us all vey welcome.Yes there are some rooms that are a little tired,but all were clean and fresh and we all left noting we must return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSLONDON099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
respondance, Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. On behalf of myself and the staff it was a pleasure working and helping you and your party enjoy your stay with us
We all look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We visited the Old Mill for a Golden Wedding party where the happy couple had taken over the whole hotel for the event.

The staff, especially Gary (who I believe is the Events Manager) were helpful, friendly and keen to assist.

The function was incredibly good. Excellent food. Attentive service. The staff really couldn't do enough to ensure everyone was having a good time.

We stayed in the main hotel and the room was clean and well presented. It was a little cold and when we mentioned this a fan heater was provided to boost the heating. The hot water was always hot and plentiful when we wished to use it.

The hotel does need refurbishment, especially the bedrooms, and this is well acknowledged with refurbishment planned for 2011. Bearing this in mind we did feel it was a little pricey, as we've paid less to stay in hotels which don't need refurbishment in the middle of Bath, but the location, food, service and general ambience are good.

Would I recommend it? That has to be a qualified Yes because of the need for modernisation and the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We had a room in the main hotel with a wonderful view across the river if we could have seen out of the dirty windows. There was no heating but were given a small fan heater which helped in the bedroom but not the bathroom. 2nd morning there was no hot water and we were told that another boiler had "packed in". The rooms are obviously never heated properly as there was a lot of mould everywhere especially in the bathroom and shower. I had to clean the shower head before I dared to step into it. To be fair we were given a decent discount after refusing to pay full charge. Breakfast was nothing special but edible. To be fair to majority of staff they tried their best and we extremely polite and helpful. I felt sorry for them have to take abuse from some disgruntled customers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eng-CJ-and-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

This hotel has a nice location, its not actually in Bath but only a 10 minute drive from Bath though, the hotel is right on the river and there is a nice old mill as well, there is land with cows across the river which gives this hotel a country feel.

The room we had was quite old and very over priced for what you get (£85 p/night); the bathroom was extremely tiny and the TV was very small and didn’t have a strong signal. The only thing I could suggest for this hotel is to have some snacks in the restaurant as we got back from Bath around 10pm and the restaurant was closed and we were still hungry. The breakfast the next day was very very good though, bacon eggs, sausages, toast, fruit, cereal, tea & coffee !!

I would stay here again as the location is great, but if I did find another hotel in the same area for cheaper I would consider staying elsewhere only due to the price ! If this hotel was even £70 per room per night rather than £85 it would be great !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amor_vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 31 in Bath
177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Property: Old Mill Hotel
Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing