We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ
Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Here's another shot of the kitchen
There are two lovely leather Chesterfields you can relax in and lots of light.
The kitchen area. Hopefully you can see the quality!
The ensuite bedroom at the rear of the property
This is the shower room when both bedrooms are in use. There is also the ensuite off the rear bedroo
The super king size bed is 6' 6 long. The biggest you will find in any holiday rental
The bedrooms are on the ground floor. Underfloor heating feels luxurious under your feet!
Light streams in to the living/dining area in our holiday cottage
The 'front' bedroom, made up with two single beds. You can have it as a super king as well - it's yo
The drive way down to the Old Workshop which is the 2nd on the right, behind the oak tree
Difficult to take a meaningful picture of a shower, but hopefully you get the idea!
Our first testimonial for the Old Workshop holiday cottage
Flowers are still blooming in the courtyard
The view from the living/dining area of the 2 bed holiday cottage over the Bathampton meadows
Another view of the lounge in the cottage
The lounge area of our 2 bed holiday cottage in Bath
Another picture of the lounge in our holiday cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Maryam I
1 review
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed at this house with my family on a recent weekend trip and we had a wonderful time. The house looks even better than the pictures and was very comfortable.

The welcome/info pack had all the information we needed and we checked ourselves in and our with no problems. The owners were kind enough to provide some groceries as well which was much appreciated and a nice homely touch. The place was spotlessly clean and very welcoming. The highlight had to be the underfloor heating which was fantastic during the horribly wet and cold weekend we stayed! The beds were luxuriously soft, had a great sleep and need to get myself one of those mattresses :)

Also appreciated the movies available as the weather was too wet for us to go out much. The only minor inconvenience we had was trying to figure out the aircon/floor heating controls. They were preset and for the most part were fine but we were quite cold the first night and couldn't figure out how to warm things up!

Overall had a lovely stay and I would gladly return to one of the properties in this compound (got my eye on the 4 bedroom Mulsanne House for the next trip)!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Thanks for the review Maryam. We are pleased you had such a nice time. Cleanliness is extremely important to us. Unless we can keep it like new, John is not happy! He is a bit 'OCD' in that regard, but it's great for our guests!
Sorry you had a bit of initial trouble with the thermostats. There are instructions in the house - I guess you sussed it out :-) By the way, there is no air con, just a recirculating air system to keep things fresh. Anyway, glad you liked the underfloor heating.

If you would like one of the mattresses, we can tell you where we get them from if you email us. They are 1500 pocket sprung with a 'memory foam' topper. Like you, many of our guests have said they are the most comfortable they have ever slept on.

Hope to see you again at Mulsanne House - you will find it every bit as enjoyable!

Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77kitty77
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Old Workshop - great stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my Mum and sisters for a girly weekend and had a lovely time. Before arrival the owners sent detailed information about the property and useful local knowledge of local restaurants and bars. The property was immaculately clean and welcoming with a bottle of wine and locally made cake. The beds were so comfy and the location is perfect - so peaceful with gorgeous contryside views. Highly recommend this place will definitely stay again. Also recommend walking into Bath along the canal path and dining at The Bathampton Mill as the staff were so friendly and the food was fab.
Thank you for the late check out as well!!
See you again

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Thanks Rhian, so pleased you enjoyed it. Glad you liked the Bathampton Mill - it's very popular with our guests, being so close, so we are keeping our fingers crossed it maintains its good reputation. Hope to see you again soon. All the best, John and Jane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julesw83
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner stayed here over the weekend, it was the perfect getaway, a stunning cottage maintained to a very high standard, lovely views and good location to visit bath itself.
Would highly recommend to other couples.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words - very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you or your friends again in the future. Best regards, John and Jane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midagetra...
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place but terrible odor in one of the bedrooms.”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The place is very nice and well set up but we noticed a really nasty smell in the back bedroom from the start. Initially we texted the housekeeper who said she would check but we never heard anything. Later emailed the owners. They expressed regrets, said it was odd since there was no drain in the bedroom, and offered us 15% off on a future stay. Perhaps we are oversensitive to odors, but I would not have booked the place if I'd known this and I felt I owed this to others. To be clear, the odor (and the lack of any useful response) is the only problem with the rental.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Firstly, Jane and I are both very sorry and sad the smell in the spare bedroom affected you so much. This was not the impression we had from the communication during your stay. In fact you made a point of saying "The place itself is lovely, the location is great, but I'm glad we don't have to sleep in that room" You say there was a lack of action, which we don't understand because Deborah responded to your text immediately and said she would send our maintenance guy to have a look. Then you emailed me at 22.43 on the Monday night (I was asleep so couldn't respond immediately) I answered you at 05:03 the following morning as follows, "Very sorry to hear about that. It's a mystery as there is no drain going through that room.

Would you mind if we had a look whilst you are out? Thursday would be a day my maintenance guy could do that. We don't want to disturb your stay, so please let us know if that's not convenient. If you could leave your key in the key safe that would be great.

We apologise if this has inconvenienced you in any way and as some recompense, we could offer you a 15% discount on any future stay, at any of our properties." I hope this puts things in context. Obviously if you had been staying in that room, we would have had a look even sooner, but as you had shut it off and had no need to use it, we preferred not to disturb you and wait until you were out. When we looked it was evident the problem was in the ensuite bathroom which you were not using and there was no smell in the rest of the house. The blockage (these things can happen at any time as I am sure you can appreciate) meant removing the toilet, which we didn't want to do while you were there, as it might have inconvenienced you and bearing in mind you seemed quite happy to use the other bathroom.

I guess you felt a 2 star rating was applicable in some way to warn others about the smell, but this was a one off occurrence. I am sure you can understand plumbing blockages can happen at any time. This one is now fixed and once again we can only apologise at what you see as our inaction. In reality we were only trying to inconvenience you as little as possible and thought you were happy with the situation as the smell was in a room you weren't using. We can't promise we can fix every issue instantly, but we certainly try our hardest and reviews such as this deeply affect us, given the amount of effort and care we put into our business. Regards, John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you for the review. We would be interested to know what you felt was lacking in that you were only able to give a 4 star rating? We try our best to make everything as perfect as possible, so it's useful to know where guests perceive a shortfall. Thanks. John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Glad you enjoyed it and found us friendly. We try to be! :-) Hope to see you again soon. John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ENGLAND
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Glad you enjoyed the property and thanks for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing