We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely spot on”
other travellers have booked this property
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ
Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Here's another shot of the kitchen
There are two lovely leather Chesterfields you can relax in and lots of light.
The kitchen area. Hopefully you can see the quality!
The ensuite bedroom at the rear of the property
This is the shower room when both bedrooms are in use. There is also the ensuite off the rear bedroo
The super king size bed is 6' 6 long. The biggest you will find in any holiday rental
The bedrooms are on the ground floor. Underfloor heating feels luxurious under your feet!
Light streams in to the living/dining area in our holiday cottage
The 'front' bedroom, made up with two single beds. You can have it as a super king as well - it's yo
The drive way down to the Old Workshop which is the 2nd on the right, behind the oak tree
Difficult to take a meaningful picture of a shower, but hopefully you get the idea!
Our first testimonial for the Old Workshop holiday cottage
Flowers are still blooming in the courtyard
The view from the living/dining area of the 2 bed holiday cottage over the Bathampton meadows
Another view of the lounge in the cottage
The lounge area of our 2 bed holiday cottage in Bath
Another picture of the lounge in our holiday cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Daniel G
1 review
“Absolutely spot on”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a lovely post Christmas break in this superb little spot. Wonderful easy walk down the canal to Bath to explore the city and a handy bus stop very close to the apartment for the return. Not too far to the shops and for something to eat, the apartment was well equipped and a good size for us as a family with two young boys. We came away with many happy memories of our stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
I guess your good memories were very strong Daniel as it's been a while since you were here :-) So even more thanks for thinking of us after all this time, that's brilliant. Hope to see you again.
Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiny50
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Old Workshop was good base with everything we needed for our stay. The bus service into Bath was easy and efficient, and it made a nice change to not be driving daily! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thanks very much for the review. Yes, we are very lucky with the bus stop right outside. It makes life very easy for everyone. Thanks for any recommendations you can give :-)

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thanks Fintan, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much

We hope you will be able to visit again sometime.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annemiek...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely week in a lovely cottage ”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in the Old Workshop for a week in july/august. We had a bit of bad luck with the weather but we really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is very comfortable and offers everything you need. And the location is great: nice view from the living room, frequent buses to Bath at the front of the house, lovely footpath at the back, little shop nearby and a nice restaurant at the Watermill. We left this morning and I miss it already!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thanks for the review - sorry the weather stooped from making it a perfect trip :-)

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiDaZa
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage was very comfortable and quiet. Beds were excellent. The canal walk to Bath was wonderful. All in all, a very nice and relaxing place for a holiday.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thanks Kim. Glad you found the canal - it really is quite special isn't it? And quite soon there will be a water taxi there as well :-) Glad you had such a nice stay.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dohertyfa...
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Batheaston”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Old Workshop was ideally situated in the picturesque village of Batheaston. Accommodation was very modern and everything we needed was available. There was a bus stop right outside the property which gave us great access for the city of Bath. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Excellent Caroline - we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and are happy to recommend us :-)

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thanks Monica for your review. Glad you explored all the options for access to Bath, especially the boat :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing