We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2012”

Avondale Riverside Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Batheaston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avondale Riverside Apartments
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Sheila was very efficient in e-mailing details etc and arrived to meet and greet, I am afraid we did not see her again to thank her for the advice (The Crown is 5 min away and the food was lovely) and for the items she left - fruit, chocolates, biscuits and even two bottles of champagne for the festive weekend. Lovely Christmas tree and winter flowering plants. The apartment was well maintained, beautifully clean and well furnished with nice touches such as toiletries, many books, games, music as well as every sort of glass and plate that you would ever need. It is a gloriously warm apartment. Bath is a gem and close enough for us to see the fireworks from the balcony.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Avondale Riverside Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

Did all the usual emailing with the owner abt times we can arrive, leave etc etc and Sheila was extreemely helpful with all my enquiries.
Arrived on the Friday and met Sheila, was given the rules and regulations for the apartment and use of the hot tub, the apartment was fantastic, the dining room was brilliant for the 10 of us to sit around, dance around and have a really social evening. Sheila left us some lovely personal touches, chocolates, wine, milk, bread etc and some lovely smellies for the hen - me!
The hot tub was wonderful and as none of us own one we had no idea how to use it so were greatful for the instructions, sheila checked it the next day and topped up the water levels for us, contrary to some rather personal comments made on this forum we thought the owner was nothing but kind generous and helpful she certainly wasnt around the accomodation all weekend like some reviews suggest.
The location was great although the taxi's didnt seem to have a clue where we actually were when we booked them and so my suprise limo hummer for 18.00 on Sat eve was 20 mins late with the driver saying he got lost..

We would definatley go back, the apartments have everything you could possibly want and need, the beds were so comfy, the garden large and the hot tub was just amazing.

Do not hesitate in booking, you would go far to find better accomodation. The perfect girly get together house.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saramad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had a lovely time in the house and would definitely go back.
The owner made us feel very welcome and we the welcome pack of essentials and luxuries was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We did a long weekend in Bath over the August bank holiday. Overall I would say we had a great time and the property leant itself well for all our needs.

The property was very clean and tidy in our experience. The beds were really comfortable and could have slept for hours! The little extra touches such as fresh flowers, scones, bread and tea were very welcomed after our journey.

All the rooms were in good order and plenty of space for 8 people. Even massive DVD collection which was useful for a rainy afternoon.

Very convenient location to catch the bus into town which are about 30 min intervals and 10 min ride to town.

Overall we had a fab stay and I would recommend to groups/friends looking for a relaxing stay just outside of the city centre. Minor irritations about the property such as rules, recycling needs of the council and visits of owner to check hot tub are really just minor and I wouldnt be out off by it-most of this is understable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were six, three couples and we were looking for a house over New Years Eve. Although we did like the house and the surroundings there were some issues:

- No hot tub was bubbling and hot, it was locked (when we rented it was not listed as an "optional extra" as it is now. Basically the owner did not want to deal with testing the water during the holidays and told us as much. Mind you, she told us when we arrived, and not beforehand. She offered no refund and would not budge on our request to let us use the hot tub that she advertises as part of the rental.

- They had rules and regulations posted throughout the house (i.e. empty all of the garbage cans when leaving - we have no problem emptying the kitchen garbage, but why should we have to empty every can in the house - hire a cleaner). She even had tips on how to review her site on trip advisor (here's a tip, chill a bit and stop being such a micro-manager if you want a good review).

- We had a lovely view of the river behind the house, once we looked past the dead plants hanging from the porch and railings. There were also potted dead plants in the yard and along the steps leading to the yard. She made some flippant explanation, of course blaming her husband, for the plants not being taken care of. There was no effort on her part to remove them, which would have taken 5 minutes of her time.

- Every closet had cob webs in it, cob webs hanging from every light fixture too...nice!

- The shared bathroom upstairs is listed as having a shower, but there is no shower curtain and it's a clawfoot in the middle of the room. Pretty much useless as a shower.

- The garbage disposal didn't work and the first time we ran a load of dishes the dishwasher door broke and wouldn't open. Instead of being customer service oriented and apologisng for our inconvenience, she was snarky to us over the phone and blamed us...hello, we just got here, we are adults and we are capable of operating a dishwasher and disposal.

Overall the house was lovely, once you got past the cob webs and dead plants everywhere, but the owner, Sheila I believe her name was, was not customer service oriented at all. My suggestion to her would be to hire a company to manage her property or get out of the vacation rental business altogether.

Room Tip: Nice place, owner is a pain. If you can deal with it, then go for it.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Klmnop6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheilapex, Owner at Avondale Riverside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

These people came for New Year. The gentleman that booked it was told clearly that the Hot Tub was not available over the Xmas and New Year period and in my information it is an optional extra not available within the standard rent, He unfortunately had not told the rest of his party that this was the case. I don't have to justify my reasons for it not being available.
I was polite and courteous to these people during their stay including explaining how the waste disposal worked - they simply pushed too much down it and then were surprised that it jammed, my husband went and unblocked it straight away. The dishwasher was just one of those things and I did not blame them, he was quite rude grumbling that they didn't expect to have to wash up during their stay - I politely suggested that they use the second dishwasher in the other kitchen!!!!
The apartments are always very clean and just after their visit was inspected by the Tourist Board
Inspector who always comments on the high standard of cleanliness.
Perhaps these people should have stayed at a Hotel as they certainly didn't want to self cater, I try to make it as clear as possible what I expect in way of cleaning before departure - most establishments ask for the property to be left as it was found but personally this is somewhat unrealistic. We allow 3 - 4 hrs cleaning after a large party group so only ask people to put out their rubbish, replace furniture etc where it was and leave the kitchen reasonably clean. This group got a full security deposit refund and they didn't mention the champagne, flowers, fruit bowl,welcome pack, loads of towels. Why do people have to get personal and make petty comments about plants - its Wintertime. Was this review posted 8 months after their visit because it was raining and they were bored- Please Tripadvisor take this completely false review away as it is a pack of lies!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Had a great long weekend with 7 other girl friends, the apartments were fabulous, really felt at home. We had both apartments and it worked out really well, spent saturday sun bathing in lovely garden and used the hot tub several times over the weekend. The apartments were really clean and tidy and we loved sitting around the big square table catching up with a glass or two of wine! Went to the Komedia club saturday night and had a scream laughing at the comedians. Sunday toured Bath's great shops. Walked to the Crown pub and had a lovely meal. Would definately recommend to other ladies wanting to escape the children to be themselves and have a laugh.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank net_oakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I booked the Apartments in January for my friend's Hen do last weekend, and we all had a great time. I kept the details a surprise from the party until the last minute, and it exceeded everyone's epectations! (Phew!) The hot tub was a great added touch! We used the gardens for games and had no-one overlooking us, and the cooking facilities are perfect for a big group - we were a group of 10, and the owner happily put up two camp beds to accommodate us all. Not too far from town so handy for our night on the town, and for Bath Spa too. I'd definitely go back if I had an excuse....

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Trips2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
0.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poplar House
Poplar House
#1 of 2 in Batheaston
130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bailbrook Lodge
Bailbrook Lodge
#27 of 157 in Bath
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Riverside Apartments

Address: London Road East, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Batheaston
Hotel Class:5 star — Avondale Riverside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Avondale Riverside Apartments Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing