We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Pousada with good food and lots to see/do”
Review of Pousada Rio Claro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Rio Claro
Ranked #4 of 11 Pocone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Spent two nights here on our return from our jaguar safari; took two boat rides and a trip on a kayak to see the sun rise. Also took several walks into the nearby 'forests' to see birds and animals. The rooms and other facilities are just as everyone else describes.

Highlights? Kayaking and seeing a tapir swimming across the river at dawn, seeing three anteaters (one Giant and two southern) on our second night trip (after dinner was much better than before dinner) and the boat trip where our guide fed the big otters and heron so we could take photos!

Friendly staff, clean lodge, good wifi under the covered area by reception. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this nice pousada right in the center of the beautiful Pantanal. The room we got was very nice, with airco en television. You can go by boat on the river, which is just behind the pousada, and see beautiful birds like macaws and toucans. Dinner and breakfast (buffet style) is in a german barn-like hall and is excellent. When you buy something (like a drink or a souvenir in the small shop) you show a card with your registration number on it, and you pay all when checking out. The rooms are built around a nice garden.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidoffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Rio Claro is a resort style ranch in the Northern Pantanal.There is a swimming pool, wifi intermittently available near reception and a large dining room where quite good buffet style meals are served. Our cabin was spacious, clean and comfortable and fully air conditioned with a well maintained en suite bathroom. Activities offered at the ranch include horse riding, night safari, a short nature trek, pre dawn and sunset boat trips, pirana fishing. Of these the boat rides and the nature walk were the best.The Pantanal has to be one of the best wildlife areas on the planet and Rio Claro is quite a civilised way of visiting it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gurubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pousada Rio Claro for the two nights of our excellent Pantanal tour with Julio of Pantanal Trackers. The rooms are clean with good air-con and nets on the Windows, though there is no escape from the mozzies.

Wi-Fi is only available near the reception and shop area but there is space there to sit and work.

The food was very nice and it was great having hammocks and the pool area to lounge about in.

The staff was great and even made my husband some soup to nurse his bad stomach.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirageva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed one night at this poussada after the jaguar tour.The rooms are simple yet comfortable.The staff very friendly and helpful especially Junior at the reception.
The buffet lunch and dinner were nice and varied.The setting is in a lovely garden with mango trees and loads of birds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank toothlady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This pousada can be a nice stop-over (if your goal was a photographic trip of the jaguar) as well as a good place to have a few activities for a few days. I cannot comment on them since I just took the boat, but the boat ride was excellent with very good sightings of playful otters.
Do not expect luxury, it is fairly basic but this is something I like: it is clean, with good food, nice people and everything is very simple!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here one night after our jaguar camp. It is a very well run pousada, room is cool though A/C and fan are quite loud( but it is like that every where) and a nice pool to cool down and swim a bit.
The buffet lunch and dinner are quite plentiful
We took the boat trip on the river. we like it and no... because they tried to feed caiman/eagle/otters so they come closer to the boat for tourists to take pictures. nothing wrong with it but not so good to train animals to be fed by human.... but we did see the tapir getting on shore(which was a highlight!) and the sunset was just amazing.
definitly recommanded this pousada if you are not going further on the transpantanalian road and stop here for some animal sighting and enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinelpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocone
7.3 mi away
Pousada Piuval
Pousada Piuval
#2 of 11 in Pocone
360 reviews
36.3 mi away
Pantanal Mato Grosso Hotel
0 mi away
Pousada Pantanero
Pousada Pantanero
#2 of 4 in Barao de Melgaco
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pousada Pantaneira
Pousada Pantaneira
#8 of 20 in Pocone
17 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pousada Santa Rita
Pousada Santa Rita
#6 of 20 in Pocone
4 reviews
17.5 mi away
Araras Pantanal Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Rio Claro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Rio Claro

Address: Rod. Transpantaneira - Km 42, Pocone, State of Mato Grosso 78175-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso > Pocone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pocone
Price Range: £119 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Rio Claro 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Rio Claro, is located in one of the most privileged regions, the natural beauty of the Pantanal. It is integrated into the water cycle, in perfect harmony with the forests to provide you and your family unforgettable moments with nature. At Pousada Rio Claro, it has a diverse fauna and lush flora. The lakes, ponds, corixos, rivers and bays are transformed according to the volume of rainfall, thus creating amazing and varied scenery. We also have, from the wonderful river, which gives its name to the Inn, Rio Claro, where we can observe the sunrise together with the dawn of birds and a lush sunset with a curfew of animals. At Pousada Rio Claro, you can also watch and admire the local biodiversity, enjoying a rustic and cozy structure, consisting of spacious apartments with air conditioning, restaurant with self-service, swimming pool, TV room, kiosk and games more. Our tour is completely focused on environmental preservation, so we have activities that enable this complementary nature with nature, while maintaining respect and awareness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Pousada Rio Claro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Rio Claro Hotel
Pousada Rio Claro Brazil/Pocone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing