We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-trained staff”
Review of Pousada Rio Claro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pocone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pousada Rio Claro
Ranked #3 of 10 Pocone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Well-trained staff”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Coming straight from Pantanal, where we spend a week, this ranch was a great two-night stopover. We enjoyed the attentive staff in the restaurant, with good food and service although the place was pretty full. The two river trip we took was very enjoyable, and the trekking was also good with lots of wildlife, incl. 3 species of primates, 2 x tapirs, deers, fox and a good variety of birds. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolarbearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    63
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
39
58
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
218 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

As with some of the other reviews, we stayed here one night en route to Porto Joffre. It looks and behaves like a second-rate motel. As a result, it's very popular with backpackers, so I would not recommend staying more than one night unless you want to hear drunk 20-somethings most of the night. The room we had was pokey, not particularly clean and we were not particularly happy with it. What made up for the motel room was the boat cruise. We saw lots of giant river otters, tons of birds and had a fantastic trip on the river. Dinner and breakfast were mediocre. Not the best food that we had at a pousada and not the worst. We did manage to see a tapir and a lesser anteater on foot walking around the pousada and on the road coming in. Despite my misgivings of the motel atmosphere, I would probably stay here again, just for the wildlife.

Room Tip: away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for one night out to Porto Jofre and for 2 nights on the return.
we had two different rooms, both fairly basic "motel" style but clean. The en-suite for our first stay was a bit smelly and the plug hole full of "gunge" but the second shower room was better.
Food was as described by others, but hot dishes were hot, unlike at some other lodges. There is no toaster for breakfast other than a sandwich maker. We were cold on our second visit wearing a sweater and socks in bed as the blanket was not enough when the cold front moved through. Everyone wore coats in the dining area which as described by others has no walls, just net insect screens.
We had a walk with our guide and saw peccaries, marsh deer, brocket deer and an armadillo as well as many birds including a flock of parakeets. Our night drive was not very exciting and the vehicle broke down, but only a few hundred metres from the lodge.
The wildlife highlight for us was the visit by Blue and Yellow Macaws towards the end of the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were a family of 8 people with different ages and we spent 4 wonderful days in this lodge. Very nice place to spent an adventure holiday with the family. The rooms were good and clean. The workers were helpful and very friendly. The food was good and typical from the region.

A very experienced and thoughtful german speaking tourist guide called Traudi Zobel (traudizobel@hotmail.com and www.pantanalbrasilien.com.br) was suggested by the pousada and we were very satisfied and happy with her service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was our last stop of 3 in the Pantanal. We were three travellers - 2 adults and our 8 year old daughter. This lodge is half way up the Transpantaneira road and is therefore a convenient stopover to or from Porto Jofre. We stopped for 3 nights and had we been starting our journey into the Pantanal, we probably would have enjoyed it even more. With it being our last, and with the Pousada having a definite transient stopover feel, I was slightly disappointed.

Rooms are pretty sparse but clean. Ours had very little natural light so was a bit drab and not somewhere you wanted to spend much time. It feels like a motel with all rooms at ground level. Each room has a hammock which can be hung outside on the walkways.

Food is taken in a barn style restaurant. There are no windows in the restaurant, just netting, and with a cold spell going through Brazil, eating at night was cold. The food was typical Pantanal food - stews, fish, vegetables and salad. They almost always served a pasta dish as well (bolognaise, lasagne) which was a nice change for our daughter. Drinks are ordered on a tab system and unlike anywhere else we stayed, we could buy ice creams and drinks throughout the day.

There are a number of benches around the common areas and we spent most of our free time on these watching the many bird feeders. The bird feeders attract many birds and we saw crested cardinals and Arricaris here easily. There is a pool (which was freezing!) and a games room with table football and snooker.

The reason why I was a little disappointed here compared to other places was the anonymity of it. It feels like a roadside motel - you don't get to know any of the team here and the guests are many and constantly changing. The hotel has a big souvenir shop to try and capture some extra money. There is wifi advertised, but we were told that it was broken so it wasn't available which given that there isn't so much to do in the day time is a pain.

There are little things that could easily be improved here. Our room wasn't cleaned on the first day - we asked why and you have to hand your key in to get your room cleaned although nobody explained this to us until we asked. The electric sockets are 110v ones so it takes a while to charge things, particularly when you need a key card in a socket to keep the electricity going. You have to wear life jackets on the boats - but most of the life jackets are broken and had to be tied together (including the kids ones). It just feels like it needs some love and attention.

Activities are pretty typical - horseriding (no helmets), jeep safari, boat trips, pirinha fishing. We didn't find the wildlife quite as prolific here. We saw Marsh Deer, the wonderful Sun Bittern, Neotropical Otters - we heard that other groups saw Southern Tamandua.

This would be a good place to stop on the way into the Pantanal to give you an introduction - but I found 3 days a bit too long. With a bit of love and attention, maybe it will become more of a destination stop?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolihullPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Spent two nights here on our return from our jaguar safari; took two boat rides and a trip on a kayak to see the sun rise. Also took several walks into the nearby 'forests' to see birds and animals. The rooms and other facilities are just as everyone else describes.

Highlights? Kayaking and seeing a tapir swimming across the river at dawn, seeing three anteaters (one Giant and two southern) on our second night trip (after dinner was much better than before dinner) and the boat trip where our guide fed the big otters and heron so we could take photos!

Friendly staff, clean lodge, good wifi under the covered area by reception. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this nice pousada right in the center of the beautiful Pantanal. The room we got was very nice, with airco en television. You can go by boat on the river, which is just behind the pousada, and see beautiful birds like macaws and toucans. Dinner and breakfast (buffet style) is in a german barn-like hall and is excellent. When you buy something (like a drink or a souvenir in the small shop) you show a card with your registration number on it, and you pay all when checking out. The rooms are built around a nice garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidoffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocone
20.3 mi away
Pousada Estancia Vitoria
7.3 mi away
Pousada Piuval
Pousada Piuval
#2 of 10 in Pocone
328 reviews
36.3 mi away
Pantanal Mato Grosso Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pousada Pantanero
Pousada Pantanero
#2 of 3 in Barao de Melgaco
67 reviews
17.5 mi away
Araras Pantanal Ecolodge
42.4 mi away
SouthWild Pantanal Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Rio Claro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Rio Claro

Property: Pousada Rio Claro
Address: Rod. Transpantaneira - Km 42, Pocone, State of Mato Grosso 78175000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso > Pocone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pocone
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Rio Claro, is located in one of the most privileged regions, the natural beauty of the Pantanal. It is integrated into the water cycle, in perfect harmony with the forests to provide you and your family unforgettable moments with nature. At Pousada Rio Claro, it has a diverse fauna and lush flora. The lakes, ponds, corixos, rivers and bays are transformed according to the volume of rainfall, thus creating amazing and varied scenery. We also have, from the wonderful river, which gives its name to the Inn, Rio Claro, where we can observe the sunrise together with the dawn of birds and a lush sunset with a curfew of animals. At Pousada Rio Claro, you can also watch and admire the local biodiversity, enjoying a rustic and cozy structure, consisting of spacious apartments with air conditioning, restaurant with self-service, swimming pool, TV room, kiosk and games more. Our tour is completely focused on environmental preservation, so we have activities that enable this complementary nature with nature, while maintaining respect and awareness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada Rio Claro Hotel
Pousada Rio Claro Brazil/Pocone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing