We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice spot for birds and animals in Pantanal!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pousada Rio Claro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Rio Claro
Ranked #4 of 10 Pocone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very nice spot for birds and animals in Pantanal!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I could not recommend any other better place in Pantanal! Although the installations are simple, the place is an excellent spot for birds and animals. It is located at the Transpantaneira road and they offer nice tours and really great food. The staff is very friendly and in the place itself it is possible to see many animals, if you are lucky. I recommend a walk around the hotel by yourself and try to spot some animals. Do not forget to take sun protection and repellent with you. If you get there with your own car you have the opportunity to drive along Transpantaneira (if conditions and season are good) and try to see other animals. Something really important is: Transpantaneira has a gas station only on its entrance so full your tank otherwise you will not find any other gas station until the end of the road which is about 149 km long. The car may spend more fuel than normal because of the speed you will drive (max. 60 km/h). Take care with your speed, keep your eyes opened and enjoy, it is really beautiful!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    60
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
39
56
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Devon, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for two nights on my way up to the Cuiaba River. As with all the lodges I stayed at the sink just has a cold tap and no plug. However, water in the shower was fine. A/C was on full blast the whole time I was there but couldn't really cope. Food was plentiful and fine. You don't go for the gourmet dining. WiFi worked very well around reception. No mobile reception thank goodness.

A morning trip on the river was pleasant but not sure about the idea of feeding the herons and caimans just to give the tourists a photo opportunity.

Not much wildlife around particulary on the night drive but the resident tapir turned up at breakfast.

Ok as a stopover but not a destination would be my overall view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJandMrsCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Relative to the other accommodations alone the transpantanal, this place is above average. We encountered problem with the toilet flush and wifi only works near the reception area not in your room. Mosquito infested like the others, but sighting of tapir, birds and anteater are fantastic. Good food and service too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Coming straight from Pantanal, where we spend a week, this ranch was a great two-night stopover. We enjoyed the attentive staff in the restaurant, with good food and service although the place was pretty full. The two river trip we took was very enjoyable, and the trekking was also good with lots of wildlife, incl. 3 species of primates, 2 x tapirs, deers, fox and a good variety of birds. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolarbearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
207 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

As with some of the other reviews, we stayed here one night en route to Porto Joffre. It looks and behaves like a second-rate motel. As a result, it's very popular with backpackers, so I would not recommend staying more than one night unless you want to hear drunk 20-somethings most of the night. The room we had was pokey, not particularly clean and we were not particularly happy with it. What made up for the motel room was the boat cruise. We saw lots of giant river otters, tons of birds and had a fantastic trip on the river. Dinner and breakfast were mediocre. Not the best food that we had at a pousada and not the worst. We did manage to see a tapir and a lesser anteater on foot walking around the pousada and on the road coming in. Despite my misgivings of the motel atmosphere, I would probably stay here again, just for the wildlife.

Room Tip: away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for one night out to Porto Jofre and for 2 nights on the return.
we had two different rooms, both fairly basic "motel" style but clean. The en-suite for our first stay was a bit smelly and the plug hole full of "gunge" but the second shower room was better.
Food was as described by others, but hot dishes were hot, unlike at some other lodges. There is no toaster for breakfast other than a sandwich maker. We were cold on our second visit wearing a sweater and socks in bed as the blanket was not enough when the cold front moved through. Everyone wore coats in the dining area which as described by others has no walls, just net insect screens.
We had a walk with our guide and saw peccaries, marsh deer, brocket deer and an armadillo as well as many birds including a flock of parakeets. Our night drive was not very exciting and the vehicle broke down, but only a few hundred metres from the lodge.
The wildlife highlight for us was the visit by Blue and Yellow Macaws towards the end of the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were a family of 8 people with different ages and we spent 4 wonderful days in this lodge. Very nice place to spent an adventure holiday with the family. The rooms were good and clean. The workers were helpful and very friendly. The food was good and typical from the region.

A very experienced and thoughtful german speaking tourist guide called Traudi Zobel (traudizobel@hotmail.com and www.pantanalbrasilien.com.br) was suggested by the pousada and we were very satisfied and happy with her service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocone
20.3 mi away
Pousada Estancia Vitoria
7.3 mi away
Pousada Piuval
Pousada Piuval
#2 of 10 in Pocone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
36.3 mi away
Pantanal Mato Grosso Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Araras Pantanal Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Pousada Pantanero
Pousada Pantanero
#2 of 3 in Barao de Melgaco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
42.4 mi away
SouthWild Pantanal Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Rio Claro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Rio Claro

Property: Pousada Rio Claro
Address: Rod. Transpantaneira - Km 42, Pocone, State of Mato Grosso 78175000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso > Pocone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pocone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Rio Claro, is located in one of the most privileged regions, the natural beauty of the Pantanal. It is integrated into the water cycle, in perfect harmony with the forests to provide you and your family unforgettable moments with nature. At Pousada Rio Claro, it has a diverse fauna and lush flora. The lakes, ponds, corixos, rivers and bays are transformed according to the volume of rainfall, thus creating amazing and varied scenery. We also have, from the wonderful river, which gives its name to the Inn, Rio Claro, where we can observe the sunrise together with the dawn of birds and a lush sunset with a curfew of animals. At Pousada Rio Claro, you can also watch and admire the local biodiversity, enjoying a rustic and cozy structure, consisting of spacious apartments with air conditioning, restaurant with self-service, swimming pool, TV room, kiosk and games more. Our tour is completely focused on environmental preservation, so we have activities that enable this complementary nature with nature, while maintaining respect and awareness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Rio Claro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Rio Claro Hotel
Pousada Rio Claro Brazil/Pocone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing