We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday to chill !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alianthos Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alianthos Suites
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Holiday to chill !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our third family holiday here and find the location in small quiet village with beautiful bay and beach, mature garden setting, immaculate pool and simple but comfortable apartments just what we are looking for. So glad it's not a sterile hotel set up. Even when fully occupied there is plenty of space for everyone, including leisurely swims and a quiet drink at pool bar. Delicious fresh orange juices from the owner's trees. Our teenagers loved they had their own apartment with balcony in the trees while we had a studio with shady patio area and view of the sea. We enjoy the traditional local restaurants within walking distance serving delicious Cretan dishes at very affordable prices and very welcoming. 4 excellent and varied beaches within easy drive as well as Tersanas, a few minutes walk.
The attention and hospitality given by Zina and George who run Alianthos was personal, extremely helpful and cheerful.
We'll be back for more of this beautiful relaxing place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Alianthos Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very pleased to receive your wonderfull comments which is the best encourangement for us - but we always welcome suggestions to become even better.

We liked very much that you appreciated the natural enviroment and the fresh orange juice provided from our own oranges.

Thank you once more for staying with us and we hope to see you again next summer

Best regards from George and Zina

Manolis Georgiou

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our little family felt like we were in paradise. The accommodation was immaculately clean and functional, just as we had hoped. When something went wrong wrong with the cooker, it was replaced in minutes.

The resort consisted of a small number of apartments on an elevated hillside with direct access to the sea (via a pristine tennis court). The resort's swimming pools (one for small children, and one for bigger kids and adults) was well maintained, blue and cool. We all loved it.

The nearby taverna, right on the beach was a delight, just a 50 yard walk to the beach.

Zina and George (apologies for the 'Anglicised' names), our hosts, were all over customer service, and we felt like VIPs.

We loved it, and we'll be back next year.

Thank you Zinova and George.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, if you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Alianthos Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted with your description as a little paradise with all other comments
and we hope to welcome you again at Alianthos suites.

Thank you once more for staying with us and spread the word to your friends unless you wish to be kept as the best secret only for you.

Best regards from George and Zina

Kindly yours

Manolis Georgiou

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

A room we stayed was just located in front of a sea side on a small hill. It was very basic and a bit tired, but was enough for us. New towels were provided every few days.
One of reasons I chose the hotel was that it has a children's pool. Our children enjoyed the pool and a fresh juice at the pool bar. Small beach is reachable in just a few minutes walk. A taverna located beside the beach was also good. In the end, we spent most of the times in the hotel or the beach.

I would recommend the apartment to a person who is lookig for a hotel to just relax. The hotel is located in a very quite area, so a car is needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trocadero190356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Alianthos Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your comments and we would welcome any further suggestions
as you are a very experienced traveller.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again at Alianthos Suites.

Respectfully yours,

Manolis Georgiou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The garden is really nice, the bar and pool area is ok, but here the pluses of this place come to the end. The apartments are 2* standard not more (in Russia th hotel is sold like 4* which is very far from truth). The room facilities are old, there is a smell of old inside, the beds are squeaky, the bathroom is small, the WC is old and is placed next to the shower with a curtain, so after taking a shower you have a pond in your bathroom. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment in two adults, if there would be 4 people, it would become a whole lake I guess. The place is very isolated, there is only one tavern on walking distance, about 300 m from Alianthos down to the beach. The beach is nice, with very clear water, but small since it is just a cove, not really the sea. You can't take the sun beds on the beach because they are chained together and there is no one to take the money (the old board next to them says it is 6 euros for two). So if you don't have your own beach equipment be ready to stay at the pool in the hotel.
There is a mini market and a couple of tavernas in the village Chorafakia, about 1,5 km, but the road goes up on the hill and is really dark in the evening, it is quite unpleasant and dangerous to walk there with a flashlight (we rented a car but we saw some wandering people and did not envy them). We also understood that this is not a very big point to rent a car there, despite it is easy - here is a rent a car at Chorafakia with a lot of small cars, also with automatic transmission, but there are not much places to visit in the area, while if you go outside, the road is difficult and you have to cross the Chania centre with lots of traffic, so it is better to have the hotel outside Chania or somewhere at Kissamos, or just stay all the time at Tersanas and have economic vacations without car. One more thing to be mentioned, the airport is quite close, so you can admire the civil and military planes while laying in the un at the pool area. The military ones are noisy enough but where else you'll have chance? And the last thing about Alinthos Suites facilities: there is WiFi at the pool and reception, but it never works, so just leve your devices at home and relax

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inna B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Alianthos Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us and your comments are regarded as a constructive approach to become better.
We are pleased that you liked our gardens and pool area but it seems we fell short on your expectations regarding all the rest.
We never claimed Allianthos to be a four star hotel but is classified as a four keys which is equivalent to two stars.
So the accommodation provided is not less than what we claimed to be. There is always space for improvement and we try to do that by our guest recommendations.
If the agent sells Alianthos as four star property maybe a mistake in description but not with purpose to mislead anybody and our rates are not equivalent to Four Star.
However, your comments about the area are true but there is not much we can do and our repeated loyal guests love this isolation and tranquility along with the spectacular views to the sea, away from busy resorts.
Thank you once more for staying with us
Kind regards

Manolis Georgiou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Well we arrived into Chania airport and it took only ten mins after landing to be in a taxi on our way to Alianthos Suites.

When we arrived we were promptly shown to apartment 11 which was a one bed apartment as opposed to the studio we had booked. The apartment was lovely. Simply furnished and clean. The veranda had nice views across the sea and mountains. We simply couldn't believe what we had got for our money. I'm reluctant to share how great it was as We'd like to keep it all for ourselves.

After an early dinner in the seaside taverna we came back and had an unbelievable nights sleep. We live in the city and couldn't believe the quiet.

On waking on our first morning we were worried that as we didn't have a car we'd struggle to find somewhere to buy groceries. Our fears were unfounded. After a fifteen min walk to Chorafakia we found a supermarket and stocked up on staples, returning back to the apartment to feast on a breakfast of the most amazing bread and fresh eggs/bacon.

What I would add to the reviews that say a car is essential. Well it depends on what you are looking for. We came here to find peace and relaxation, that's exactly what we found. We explored the vicinity on foot. The local village is 15 minute walk and the beach town of Stavros 40 mins walking through farms and countryside. We didn't feel at all isolated and found a couple of regular tavernas that we visited each day for lunch and dinner. There's also the bus to Chania about 5times a day it you want to experience a little hustle and bustle.

The complex itself is concentrated relaxation. The pool area is beautiful and the gardens surrounding the apartments are just delightful. You can get drinks at the pool bar but the service was somewhat erratic and it's pot luck whether it was open or not but who cares? Our tip is to go to the supermarket and get some beers for 80cents each and enjoy them at your leisure. We would take a bottle of wine (3.30€) to the little private jetty next to the sea and watch the sun set. Sheer bliss.

So in summary a little gem of a place. If you are looking for nightlife it's not the place for you. However if you're after tranquility, peace and quiet then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewcastleDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigo m, Manager at Alianthos Suites, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your comments and we would welcome any further suggestions
as you are a very experienced traveller.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again at Alianthos Suites.

Respectfully yours,

Manolis Georgiou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very nice staff, we booked at 1 hours notice, very spacious, clean apartment, lovely pool, very helpful staff. Extras are a little pricey but overall excellent value for the high standard. Gardens are wonderful, lovely cove nearby with charming taverna. We hope to come back. The Akrotiri is a special place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peediewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigo m, Manager at Alianthos Suites, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appeciate your coments and we would welcome any further suggestions
as you are a very experienced traveller.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again at Alianthos Suites.

Respectfully yours,

Manolis Georgiou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I found Alianthos fairly easy to get to without a car - there is a bus from Chania that runs to Stavros several times a day, stopping at about a 15-minute walking distance from Alianthos Suites. The site is beautiful - the landscaping is so nicely done, with a square and sloping paths, and the plants are so lush and well cared for. Walking down one path leads to a tennis court and a breathtaking stretch of the coast. My room was clean and spacious and had an amazing view. At the bottom of the hill Alianthos Suites are situated on there is a private, gentle bay with sun beds and parasols, which were never over-populated during my stay. The pool at the hotel was large and clean and perfectly situated within the grounds. Zina and George were so kind and helpful and polite and contributed massively to making Alianthos Suites such a nice place to stay in. I loved staying here so much and will definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend it to others who prefer a quieter, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms at the far end of the swimming pool from the reception have a beautiful view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tersanas
1.2 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#18 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kavos Hotel
Kavos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Akrotiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloni Suites
Aloni Suites
#1 of 1 in Chorafakia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments
8.9 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zorbas Beach Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alianthos Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alianthos Suites

Property: Alianthos Suites
Address: Tersanas | Chania, Tersanas, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Tersanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tersanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alianthos Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alianthos, meaning flower of the sea, represents the ideal environment of our complex with a flourishing garden next to the magnificent blue of the Cretan sea.Alianthos Suites are located a little further north east of Chania, approximately 13 Km at the seaside village of Tersanas in the beautiful and historical Akrotiri peninsula. It is 5 minutes drive from the airport and 15 minutes away from Souda port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Alianthos Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alianthos Suites Crete/Chania - Tersanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing