We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, unwinding, serene. Highly recommended”
Review of Pasiphae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pasiphae Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Certificate of Excellence
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly, unwinding, serene. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

For a 3* hotel it pays itself back and extras. I am a returning guest since 2010: the hotel is being upgraded on an ongoing basis, and every year I see more changes for the better. Despite the hard economic situation in Greece the owners don't spare funds to invest into the facilities: new deckchairs and a new flooring in the pool area last year, a new veranda shelter this year.

The hotel is owned and run by the family, which adds to a personal touch and family atmosphere. They KNOW THEIR CUSTOMERS, try to entertain hotel guests, and make them feel really welcome. Last two years I have stayed on HB, because the meals (choice and quality) are excellent (way above the level of FOUR STAR hotels on the island which I know). WiFi spot covers it all, the rooms and outside. Can't but mention the food: ITS TOP QUALITY LOCAL PRODUCTS, VARIETY AND THE SUPERB CHEF. Don't compare it with Turkey, don't expect too much infrastructure-wise, and you will be rewarded far beyond the price you pay for your holidays. The beach amenities lack until June (for good or bad it belongs and managed by the island authorities), although the beach itself is a nice quiet sandy a Kalloni Bay outlet and is within a 3 minute walk from the hotel. I other words, it is a great price per value ratio. Top spot for nature lovers. The world famous salt pans - are unique ecosystem. The whole island is a GEOPARK (officially listed by the UNESCO).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexpa1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    61
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
134
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Arrived to Pasiphae on April 24, 2013, and stayed for one week. It is the best season to visit the island, in my opinion.
Pasiphae first in the area filled in the swimming pool this year (2013): when I arrived on April 24 it was already full, although the season officially launches off on May 15. With that in mind, be prepared that some of the seasonal works on-site may be underway should you arrive prior to May 15, and that will save you from being upset.
I am sorry for the author of the previous post, if all that they remember from their Greek trip is "a Cockroach in Greece": apparent mismatch of expectations, which can be partly blamed on a tour operator, and not on the hotel. Whether you travel with a tour operator, or alone, do your home work to learn about the destination before you arrive. For those people I could recommend Turkey or Egypt, to save them from disappointment.
The hotel is a great addition to the treasure box of gems, which the Island holds for nature lovers and sophisticated travelers, who look for more than all included holiday packages.
Great location (far from beaten tracks and yet within an easy reach from everything): a good starting point to plan your trips around the island should you have a car, and for 3 Euro a taxi will get you to its anchor-town Kalloni, should you have no car.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Essex, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

First time in Greece so didn't know what to expect from a 3 star hotel. Not sure if the Pasiphae Hotel should only be rated 2 star, very few amenities in the room.
To be fair, we were the first guests of the season, but the room was cold & damp when we arrived and although it was 32C some days in the second week, things in the wardrobes felt cold & damp until we left. It needs a coat of paint too, some small patches of crumbling plaster!
The shower was a big problem - most of the holes were completely blocked so hardly wetted you. I talked to the owner who told me new ones had been ordered and should arrive soon! As I couldn't shower I resorted to going to the local supermarket and purchased some descaler and pins and unblocked the shower head myself. Talking to fellow guests on the second week all had the same problem.
Then the toilet pan to sewer pipe leaked onto the floor - twice. Not really repaired, more just patched with lots of sealant.
And a Cockroach - to be expected in Greece??
In general the food was OK but just 1 choice, and the room cleaners and waitress were great, however it did feel like a Greek version of Fawlty Towers with Basil (the owner) regularly shouting for Manuel (The gardner & Odd-job Man)
During the second week the construction of a €15,000 pergola of steel girders started right next to the pool area. (The money may have been better spent refreshing the rooms) Those trying to enjoy the pool area had to put up with the noise of angle grinders, hammering and welding. Why this wasn't constructed out of season is beyond me.
The other thing to note is that this hotel during the spring is the choice of many 'birders' and twitchers and we felt a bit out of place. They appeared to be oblivious to the hotel's poor points. Mind you a number appeared to only have one set of clothes so blocked shower heads probably didn't worry them.
The island of Lesbos is certainly worth a visit but if we return we would certainly use alternative accommodation. I would probably avoid a Thomas Cook package too, as the reps were noticeable by their absence. (I think they turned up at the hotel at 11:20 a few times a week when most people were out & about).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vogiatzisv1972, Διευθυντής at Pasiphae Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comments. We have already finnished our preparations for the summer of 2014 and I must say that due to your comments we had the ability to correct the faults that you have applied.

Unfortunately altough our preparations when a hotel fills up in two days, as we are a perfect birdwatching spot it is very likely to face some problems because of the hotel being closed for several months. This year we discovered that carbon might make our lifes easier. 3 trays of Carbon has the ability to absorb the dampy atmosphere. Fingers crossed and everything might go right finnaly.

We were not ment to do the pergola while the hotel was operating but an accident just before we were opening forced us to reconstract it. It has been unfortunate for us and we did feel bad about the noise caused.

This year at our complete pergola we might have the ability to serve breakfast outside from April. The sound of the singing birds during the birdwatching season is even louder. We will be glad to meet you again to see if it sounds right. If the morning temperature allows it we will try the service outdoors.

Thank you for your comments. We will be glad to meet you again.

Yours sincerely

Vasilis Vogiatzis (Bill)
Manager of Hotel Pasiphae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This was our second holiday in Skala Kalloni and first in the Pasiphae. The hotel is in a great location, it's quiet and kept clean. There was a bath, fridge and efficient air con. The decor was a little tired but we did not mind. Some of the furnishings were coming apart - drawers and cupboard door. There was not much space to hook a clothes line so most people hung items over the balcony. Poor TV cover - but we did not go away to watch TV! There is a computer in the main building (lounge area) which guests can use. Breakfast consisted of tea, coffee, hard boiled eggs, bread, ham/spam, melon, cheese slices/feta cheese, biscuits; on occassions there was bacon and eggs, eggy bread, pancakes, olives and figs. The owner was quite distant but he was kept very busy. Lovely gardens and a good sized pool.
The village was as lovely as last year though there were a lot less visitors and the tavernas were noticably quieter. Prices had not gone up for anything and the people were just as friendly. We found a new location on the beach which provided complete shade by joining large umbrellas together - this was really useful as it was much hotter than last year.
For more info on the resort see my review for Aeolian Gae last year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had a very nice stay. The beds are excellent,the air-co exactly good, the breakfast is very tasteful ,the swimming-pool is large and clean situated in a beautiful garden. You can order a bear or wine while laying near the pool. We stayed all most 3 weeks at the hotel. The hotel lies in the middle of the island so it is a good point to make trips over the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nieuwsgierig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had a lovely week at the Pasiphae in May. No criticisms whatsoever. Just a perfect example of a well run, friendly hotel in a gorgeous place. Room was great, gardens stunning, breakfasts varied and delicious. The owner understands his customers needs very well and takes care to provide all the elements of a delightful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Situated in beautiful gardens and surroundings , the Hotel Pasiphae is an ideal hotel for a quiet relaxing holiday. Within easy walking distance of the beach and the village of Skala Kallonis. The hotel was advertised by Thompsons as a child free hotel, but beware !! It is not. The swimming pool is large and clean and the grounds are well kept. The breakfast was adequate for a greek breakfast. Nothing fancy but good enough. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable with a fridge which is a nice touch.The drinks at the hotel bar were quite expensive so after the first night did`nt use the bar much. We hired bikes to see the surrounding area as it is quite flat.They can be hired in the village for a small fee. We also hired a car to go further afield and to see the rest of Lesvos. It is such a beautiful, diverse island very different on west side and east side.The island is as Greece used to be 20 years ago. Un- commercialised and unspoiled. A very quiet and relaxing type of holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family4cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.4 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#4 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#5 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malemi Organic Hotel
Malemi Organic Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
129 reviews
11.6 mi away
Viva Mare Hotel
Viva Mare Hotel
#2 of 6 in Eftalou
199 reviews
13.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Vatera
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pasiphae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasiphae Hotel

Property: Pasiphae Hotel
Address: Skala Kallonis 81107, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pasiphae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pasiphae is located at the geographical centre of Lesbos, Skala Kallonis. Guests here have the chance to enjoy local products during breakfast, as the hotel has been certified from the Hellenic Hotel Chamber for offerring a greek breakfast along with an enriched continental self service. Greek specials are on offer during lunch and also at the pool bar next to the huge swimming pool the guests can find a large variety of drinks till late in the night. Good sized rooms, with a high quality bedding, cleaned daily, with a very efficient wifi complete in the best way the promise of a good stay. At the reception all kind of information are available with good tips which will help every guest to travel around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Pasiphae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasiphae Hotel lésbos
Pasiphae Hotel Lesbos, Greece - Skala Kallonis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing