We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's your home now!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malemi Organic Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We are back from vacations at Malemi and it was just great! Small, but very well runned hotel with good location in the middle of the island. The staff was pleasant, our room was simple, but clean. The owner and his wife were very wellcoming all the time. When I wanted to give my key to the reception desk on the second day she said with a smile: You can do whatever you like, you can take it with you, it's your home now.
The food is fantastic, no frozen things, everything is organic from their farm near the hotel. Greek diet, little meat, but every day there was sea food too. A lot of different vegetable dishes!
The place is very quiet. No Greek nights and animation for guests. Nobody bothers you, you have opportunity to rest.
The sandy beach is close, there are some trees for a shadow. You can rent umbrella etc. The sea is very shallow and warm. There are some tavernas, minimarkets and bars by the beach too.
We rented a car for 5 days and visited some places on other parts of Lesbos. Our top three beaches are Skala Eressos, Agios Issidoros near Plomari and Molyvos where you can swim and look at the castle above. Specially I recomend you to visit petrified forest and Natural history museum in Sigri!
PS There is a big parrot in a hotel hall who is busy all day long. He (or she?) whistle, smack and imitate telephone ring very well:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dark_roseSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Malemi Organic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have been visiting Geaorge's Hotem Malemi in June 2013 for a week stay with our daughter of 2,5 years old.
The hotel is located in proximity of the Skala Kalloni beach (100 m) and village (300m) and gives the opportunity to live in a green welcoming familiar environment, being close to shops and restaurant of the village but not subjected to possible noise from the locals (despite Skala Kalloni is quite a relaxing easy going agglomerates of houses and restaurants and does not provide source of noisy environments).
Hotel Malemi is the first of 3 of hotels agglomerate (few buildings/2 floor max each resort) and looks like the oldest one, but has a real familiar spirit in it. We have had breakfast and dinner together with George's family and eaten the same food all along the holiday, that gave us a taste of trying something real in stead of the buffet food feeling that you get usually in bigger hotels.
The swimming pool was visited by our daugther regularly beginning and end of the day, offering refreshing baths and diversive to sea experience. Tennis pitch, playground for kids, birds cages, friendly parrot at the restaurant hall, everything is easily accessible and there for you at a simple request (or without, just enjoy what you want) The location is perfect for visiting Lesbos island and if you are inteested in bird-watching, bee-catching, natural environment hints and suggestion, George will help you to find your own way of holiday experience (if you need to rent a car, ask him and you'll get a car in the hotel parking where it will also be relseased back for a full service). All in all, we got what we wanted from our third greek trip, and Malemi Hotel supported our wishes just as perfect.

Room Tip: you can ask the hotel to have a room far from the restaurant, where sometimes there are parties, or...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teogabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The staff here was very accommodating and the hotel provided a nice comfortable atmosphere. The food was great. I enjoyed trying new dishes every night and trying home cooked Greek meals that you may not be able to get in a restaurant. The pool here is great and the hotel is just a short walk from the beach. We stayed here 6 nights and I definitely would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyler3887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is the best hotel experience I've ever had, I felt so at home. Not only are the views amazing and the location fantastic, the hotel itself is beautiful enough to go to for that reason alone. George and his family are the most welcoming bunch and WILL make you feel that the trip was worth your while. The food is incredible, the rooms are clean and cool, and taking a dip in the pool under the Milky Way was a definite must. Great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I visited Hotel Malemi in mid June of 2013 and it way surpassed what I was expecting. I was visiting with a group of research students which would usually cause some chaos, but the owner, George, took care of all of us. He prepared a special dinner for us the first night when we arrived extremely late and packed lunches for us every day! All of the food is fresh, either grown on George's farm, the hotel trees, or a local friend. I ended up eating tons of fruit from the trees and it was all extremely tasteful. Our beds were freshly made each day and the bathrooms cleaned. The atmosphere was extremely friendly and I will definitely be returning! Also, although the hotel is near Kalloni Bay, ask George about some great beaches and he will fix younup!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is amazing. The grow their own food, have there own livestock, a pool, berry, peaches and grapes everywhere throughout the hotel. You should definitely go. The people are very nice and social. They actually care about you. No problems ever.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have just returned from Our fifth successive holiday at Lesvos's premier birding hotel; Hotel Malemi. As usual we were welcomed as extended family and looked after by George, Effie and the rest of the family. We have no hesitation in recommending the hotel! It is clean and well looked after; It is strategically placed close to the best bird watching sites on the Island and the staff are well used to catering for the special needs of us birders. Coming in late for breakfast after dawn visits to secluded bird sites or late for dinner after trips to the furthest corners of the island is met with friendly understanding; nothing is too much trouble for the hotel staff. We are very happy to recommend Hotel Malemi!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.1 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#4 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#2 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#5 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
137 reviews
13.2 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vatera
97 reviews
8.9 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Petra
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malemi Organic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malemi Organic Hotel

Address: Skala Kallonis, Skala Kallonis 811 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range: £37 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malemi Organic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malemi Hotel is situated in the heart of Lesvos. Just 500 m. From the traditional fishing town of Skala Kallonis, Malemi Hotel is an ideal location from where one can set off on various activities and travel around the island. The hotel was named after the initials of the names of the owner's George Kapsalis three daughters. This family-run hotel was set up in the late 80's and since then it hasn't stopped developing. Our goal at Malemi Hotel is to make you feel as comfortable as at home and at the same time serve you discreetly but essentially. There is an interesting diversity of people who are attracted in Malemi. In spring and autumn all the pure essence of birdwatching in Lesvos is here. Malemi Hotel has been a popular birdwatching destination for more than a decade. People from all over the word, both amateur and proffesional nature lovers, have been visiting us repeatedly and have been using the hotel as a base for their activities and research. The bird-log is here, the repeaters & the proffesionals who guide the>, all the information that one can need will be talked through during the dinner at Malemi. For more information about birdwatching in Lesvos and other eco-activities see our special section in this site. In the summer there are those who want to enjoy the sun, the pool, the facilities for the kids and the popular beach destinations around the island of Lesvos. There are also others that combine summer holidays with seminars and research and they choose Malemi for its peace, quietness as long with its facilities. Whatever your purpose is for visiting Lesvos, you are more than welcome! The> Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malemi Organic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malemi Organic Hotel Lesbos, Greece - Skala Kallonis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing