We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and unspoilt backwater”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty and unspoilt backwater”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've searched for years for an unspoilt Greek island resort and this is it. Slaka Kallonis is a tiny pretty fishing village with good tavernas but without night clubs and karaoke bars. Bliss. The Kalloni Bay Hotel is a trifle jaded but with charming and enthusiastic staff who cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasure. The rooms are small but adequate and the bathrooms interesting - the shower is tiny, the shower curtain barely contains the water and a challenge for my 6' companion. Breakfast is OK and we ate out every night so I cannot comment on the evening buffet; but poolside tzatzika is the best in the resort - creamy Greek yoghurt, roughly grated cucumber and packed with garlic. The menus in the village tavernas are more or less identical but Sampo, Dionysos and Ambrosia are well worth a visit. A typical evening meal of a half-litre of local wine (quite often a litre), a litre of water, 4-5 mezze dishes is around 25 euros. Between us! Most places offer a free pudding - melon or pannacotta for example.

A previous reviewer has alluded to an incident in the hotel involving a puppy - one hopes it was a one-off but it was distasteful to many guests. The stray cats and dogs in the village hover around the tavernas and the beach and guests should be advised by hotel management not to feed them, however sorry you feel and some of them are horribly pathetic. A good spritz of insect repellent before venturing out at night helps keep fleas away.

Would I go again? Yes, before someone wakes up and realises Skala Kalloni is ripe for development and that would be a terrible shame.

Room Tip: An upstairs room for privacy (downstairs rooms have a small terrace open to a pathway surrounding th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    51
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
96
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WALSALL WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff at this hotel are lovely are do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. The pool and public areas are very nice and the gardens are well kept. The rooms, as stated the beds are twin, very small single beds, if you are six feet tall then your feet will hang over the ends significantly. The pillows are like sleeping on a rock but the bathrooms are the worst part, very small shower cubicle, taps at an awkward height for us ladies as you can quite easily knock yourself in the chest!!! The lighting I feel is dangerous as the shower curtain is right next to it and wraps round your body and moves against the light fitting. A nasty experience at breakfast when horrendous screams from an animal disturbed many guests. It was the owner beating a puppy who had dared to lie under a lounger at the pool. There wasn't anyone at the pool at this time and whilst I understand not everyone likes animals this beating was totally unnecessary. If it hadn't been for one of the guests intervening I dread to think how long the beating would have gone on. I was there for two weeks and only saw two dogs wander through the grounds and when ignored went away. This experience made it that I would not return to this hotel whilst owned by this lady.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEARORFAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgios G, Inhaber at The Kalloni Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Madams,

we would like to offer our sincere apologies for not meeting all of your needs while staying with us. We do of course appreciate your comments and take them into consideration in our effort to offer the best possible service to our guests. We would like to reassure you that The Kalloni Bay Hotel will undergo a complete refurbishment in 2015 and all rooms will be newly furnished, including all-new bathroom fittings.

Due primarily to concern about hygiene, animals are not allowed on our premises. Unfortunately it does occasionally happen that well-meaning guests take pity on the dogs, bring them onto our premises and feed them there. When these guests return home the unfortunate dog will often hang around in expectation of food and attention. Recently a guest was bitten by one of the dogs and since these are stray dogs and they don't have any kind of vaccinations the consequences of such incidents are potentially serious. Also, for obvious reasons we are anxious to minimise any risk of dogs fouling in the vicinity of the hotel so we do operate a zero tolerance policy when it comes to dogs. Of course it is not our intention to harm the dogs in any way and we sincerely apologise if our response on this occasion was heavy-handed. It was only with the best interest of our guests in mind, but in future we will endeavour to achieve our objective of keeping dogs away from the hotel without resorting to unnecessary measures.

Incidentally, last year the owners of the Kalloni Bay Hotel (and first of all that lady mentioned) went to considerable trouble to rescue an injured White Stork that had spent several days wandering about the salt pans after flying into a power line and eventually ended up walking along the busy main road. "Icarus" received vital veterinary attention in Agia Paraskewi and was then looked after for almost 10 days in a quiet corner of the hotel grounds until it was strong enough to be transported to the ANIMA wildlife reserve near Athens where it is surviving quite happily despite its inability to fly.

please check the facebook entry of ANIMA - The Association for the Protection and Welfare of Wildlife
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10153243363920157&set=gm.656144727728868&type=1&theater

Finally, we would like to reassure anyone reading these pages that we will continue to make every effort to ensure that our guests receive the warm and attentive hospitality that The Kalloni Bay Hotel has become known for over the years. - We are proud to announce that we received Tripadvisors 2014 Certificate of Exellence

Sincerely
J. + C. Sakalis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at this hotel. This is the place to go if you want to leave the rat race behind. We came back totally relaxed. The hotel itself is located just across the road from the beach, where the hotel provide free sun beds and parasols. We had a sea view room which honestly we could only just see the beach, but only because there was a big palm tree in front of our room. But it was so peaceful sitting on the balcony. Oh and by the way when I said the beach was just across the road, do not be put off the traffic was very light and almost none existent at night. The harbour is a short walk away, we sat each evening at the Sugar Bay bar and watched the fish jumping. Then the square a minutes walk from there for tavernas.
The hotel was run very well, decor a bit tired but immaculately clean. I found the beds and pillows very hard but other people said theirs were fine.The breakfast each morning was plentiful fresh fruit, yogurt, honey, cold meats ,cheeses, cereals, eggs (boiled, and usually scrambled or fried) bacon and sausage, fruit juices , tea, coffee .
They did do a Buffett each evening as much as you could eat for 12 euros which was really good value for money, we tried it twice, but most evenings went into the village to eat, I will write reviews about the places we thought were best later.
The staff were very helpful and attentive, nothing too much trouble.
Would I return a definite yes.

Room Tip: We requested a sea view but room 226 had a big palm tree outside so could only just see the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having been to many Greek islands I found this the most relaxing. The hotel is situated close to the beach and a short walk to the village with a working harbour, fishing boats coming and going.The hotel was spotless and the staff very friendly and helpful.The pool was great and the surrounding gardens were well looked after. After a week there I returned home feeling very relaxed and ready to face the world again. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our first visit to Lesvos - just had a week & we will definitely be back. For us this hotel was brilliant. The staff so welcoming & nothing was too much trouble. Situation was great - just across the road from the beach with free sunbeds which was a bonus. Having said that we spent most of the time on sunbeds around the lovely gardens & just popped over the road for a swim to cool down. We thought breakfasts were much better than the average Greek hotel breakfast & found it really good. I think if you couldn't find something you liked then you are very hard to please. We loved the setting of the resort - surrounded by mountains but everywhere we wanted to walk was flat & a good path. We visited the bird hide regularly which was a pleasant walk. Our favourite taverna was Sampo, & it was lovely having a beach front seat every night. Locals in the village were equally friendly as the hotel staff & I just hope that the powers that be do not try to make the place more up market & touristy. We felt that we had been there longer than a week, & we definitely will be next time. Trev & June, Biddulph

Room Tip: Our room was on the back right on the end above the eating terrace area - no complaints except mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a week at this hotel and were impressed on a daily basis by the care from the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the pool and the well tended gardens.
We appreciated being just a brief walk across the road to the beach where you could easily grab a free parasol and sun loungers and enjoy the breeze. There are small fish in the sea but they do not bother you at all and there is grass on the sea bed so some people might wish to bring something to wear on their feet but we didn't and were fine. We travelled in June and benefitted from a less busy period. We were also very pleased with the very effective air conditioning system in our room. From a nature perspective, we enjoyed watching the swallows and house martins feeding their babies above our heads while we ate breakfast and we also saw many birds, lizards, owls plus many cats and dogs.
For a short break from quiet Skala Kalloni we shared a taxi to Molyvos (costing 50 euros return) which is well worth a visit, with its pretty cobbled streets and views.
We would recommend restaurant 'Caprice' in Skala Kalloni overlooking the sea, the food was excellent and reasonably priced.
We had an absolutely fab time and hope to go again in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

the hotel is located in a nature reserve next to the beach.plus points include a decent pool with views of the mountains to the rear of the hotel, a short stroll to the local village/harbour with many tavernas,friendly staff who want you to have a good holiday,special mention to kostas who helped me visit the hospital due to an ear infection:25 meters to the dark volcanic sandy beach ,good weather and less of a mosquito problem than other greek islands, plus well maintained gardens. on the demerit side there is only one english tv channel, the rooms are basic, the dining room is dire(although the bar is good) the breakfast is ok but a little limited, there are stray cats and dogs wandering around begging for food in the village, i was even approached by a beggar child on the beach. all in all the island could be seen as a little boring but the saving grace is the occasional bursts of sheer mellowness which really made the holiday

Room Tip: upstairs at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.4 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#1 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#6 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malemi Organic Hotel
Malemi Organic Hotel
#4 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
8.1 mi away
Plaza Palace Hotel
Plaza Palace Hotel
#1 of 6 in Anaxos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pela Hotel
Pela Hotel
#5 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kalloni Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kalloni Bay Hotel

Property: The Kalloni Bay Hotel
Address: Skala Kallonis 81107, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#5 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kalloni Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kalloni Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medsun Kalloni Ii lésbos
The Kalloni Bay Hotel Lesbos, Greece - Skala Kallonis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing