We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crete, between sea and mountain”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vamos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vamos Traditional Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Vamos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Vamos is the ideal location for exploring the West part of Crete. Between Rethymnon and Chania, we rented a small house in this lovely, quiet but living village close to the sea and the White Mountains. We enjoy the welcome of the team of Vamos Traditionnal Village. They organise our arrival in Vamos, help us to prepare our walk, our visits,... We recommand Vamos! Thank you Kleio, Helena and Margherita ;-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Thiry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Since years I was thinking about a quiet little place in an authentic village on Crete - to recover from a quite intense business life with lots of travel. Thats what we found at Vamos: Aggelamos II, a mid 19th century building, downtown with little taverns, a real bakery, a mini market to get my Feta for breakfast, ... Warm welcome from Kleio and Margarita at the tourist office with all the help and advise we need, perfectly prepared and maintained appartment, "Les trois femmes" in the little amphitheatre during the Jazz-July and a perfect base to visit Chania and the nearby environment (look for Geocaches!). Perfectly sure... we will come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We rented Milo Petra - the Mill House in Douliana via these ladies.

The service we received from them was excellent.

The property itself was idyllic. Spotlessly clean with a great welcome pack including chocolate cake!! Konstantina the owner lives opposite and even provided us with a great bottle of red when she saw us sitting out one evening.

We will return in September 2015

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouandDek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We loved our stay (April 2014) .The accommodation was very comfortable and the view of the white mountains magnificent.We stayed for 6 nights which gave us plenty of time to explore the surrounding area on foot and by car.
Crete is a wonderful holiday destination ...we hope to return

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melaniejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

This is a really unique place to visit and stay for a few nights. It's the perfect non touristy, serene place to clear your head and switch off. The customer service is one of the friendliest I have experienced and the house that we stayed was beautiful. We also did the cooking class with Mrs Koula which I highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank VasTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I concur with all that has been written about this accomodation,the view,the sheet change after 2 nights!!the office staff,the village...and even the kitten which very nearly came back to Ag Nik with us.
As it was Christmas we had fairy lights and a roaring fire and plenty of warmth from the central heating,not the best ever weather and as I had visited before I actually stayed here I knew that the kitchen was not particularly well stocked,placed ,designed....no work space at all....but this does not in any way detract from the excellent rating......I was prepared.....
Kleio, Tzina and Eleni are all very committed to their work and their belief in Vamos Traditional Villages.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suebabsthenoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had read about Vamos in a guidebook on Crete while on a self-drive holiday. As it was mid November, we arrived with no reservation but were given the choice of three of the many homes/villas that they have for rent. All were very nice and we chose "Aggelomnos" a two level home with a kitchen,living room and balcony on the main floor and a bedroom full bathroom upstairs also with a balcony that overlooked the valley with a small view of the ocean as well.
It was very clean. comfortable and well appointed. Parking was by our front door. It was a short walk to the centre of Vamos and about 75m to the excellent reasonably priced taverna nearby. In the four days we made trips to nearby Chania, the ocean for a swim and to some of the other villages nearby. We wished we had stayed longer. Staff at the Tourist Office who operate the rentals are very helpful, well informed and are willing to help with anything needed or to provide information about the Vamos region. We would go back and stay longer.

Room Tip: In summer heat, choose a unit with a lower sleeping level. In the fall we loved the sunny and bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vamos
50.0 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
415 reviews
86.6 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#21 of 35 in Elounda
233 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 13 in Panormos
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.3 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,049 reviews
68.6 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#57 of 172 in Hersonissos
356 reviews
23.2 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vamos Traditional Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vamos Traditional Village

Address: Chania, Vamos, Apokoronas, Crete 73008, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Vamos
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vamos
Price Range: £53 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vamos Traditional Village 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you would like to live in a stone and wood Greek village cottage, taste natural honey and virgin olive oil, walk on village paths and in the local countryside, smell the flowers in blooming gardens enjoy our local food and enjoy the sun and sea in nearby beaches, then you will be in Vamos at the right place! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vamos Traditional Village Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing