We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conway”
Review of Creta Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creta Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Conway”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Excellent hotel good food good staff weather to die for pools were salt water but were so clean and fresh i was surprised there were 6 of us in our party and it was so relaxing the fridge was full showers were awesome air con was ok towels were changed every day pool bar was very good the minstrel restaurant was to die for

Not many english you could also use next hotel apart from eat and drink there
Buses were every half an hour and fairly cheap

Right the downside of the holiday was the germans and russians too many of them and there were a disgrace and rudest people i have ever met this is the only reason we would not return to this hotel and they seem to get priority on everything
Never want to see a german or a russian again at one stage was ruining our holiday

Ps if you get the chance go on the jeep safari awesome

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    105
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
51
202
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

very nice room, tidy and comfy to stay
very quiet hotel, thanks God no children, we were alone with our 5 years child
when we wanted to have fun we could go and have it in Creta Star nearby
our hotel was real deluxe if compare with creta star

food - EXCELLENT

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zhanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for a week at the Creta Royal. Nice hotel, not particularly attractive externally but bedrooms are pleasant, very clean, well equipped. Public areas are spotless.

Food standard and variety is excellent, particularly for an all-inclusive resort. Staff are friendly and attentive. They try very hard to mix things up with different themed nights for food so it's not the same every night.

Primarily middle aged clientele. Mainly German, some French, Russian and English.

Pool is medium sized, small beach and also a lawned area for sunbathing. Lunches are served at the beach bar/restaurant.

Only minor complaint is that the gym is pretty small and not particularly attractive.

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

we vacationed at the crete royal hotel. it is a 5 star greek hotel- the room is clean and the fridge is filled with included drinks. we booked the ocean view room which made a big difference (our friends stayed at the partial view room) so we also got a good breeze. we stayed with our baby and got a cozy cot for him. they have a babysitter for a pricy (15Euro / h). they have a nice selection of food for breakfast and dinner. the beach was almost unable to go in to because of the high waves. we rented a van from the crete star hotel and made a day trip to the lake. great option for friend and family to go to. very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank chana100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We came back on saturday 1st September from two fantastic weeks stay at the Creta Royal, lovely sea view room, fabulous food, service from all the staff was excellent. especially Katerina at the poolside bar during the day and Katerina and Manolis in the main bar at night. The BBQ theme nights were very good in the pool area. met some really nice people from various european countries who were also impressed with the hotel and the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haydn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just returned from 2 week holiday at Creta Royal - wonderful! Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Wide choice of tasty meals served buffet style. Weekly poolside BBQ not to be missed. Wonderfully relaxing salt water swimming pool with poolside bar and super views over the bay from beach bar. All areas of the hotel spotlessly clean. Hotel a bit isolated but bus stops outside hotel every half hour - a bargain at only 1.6 euros to Rethymnon 12km away. Couple of local supermarkets within 5 minutes walk for souvenirs, etc. Would recommend all inclusive deal. We booked with Jet 2 and their rep met with us on our first morning - she was very helpful and gave us lots of information about local trips. Creta Royal is a quiet and relaxing hotel but evening entertainment was on offer next door at the Creta Star, a more lively hotel.

Room Tip: If views are important, ask for sea view room when booking - mountain view room doesn't have a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 936alisonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for the past three nights , whilst checking in we were advised about where to eat breakfast and dinner and that's it . We had no idea whatsoever about what was offered where anything was etc . The gardens on the premises are nice that's about as far as it goes . Food has a large selection but everything is tasteless . We booked a month ago as a couple and where given a room with two single beds that could not be pushed together . There is major sewerage smells all over the premises especially in the lifts I did notice on one occasion someone had sprayed freshener in there but shortly after it smelt just as bad . The rooms where clean but not worth the expense because the sea view is not technically a sea view but a building view with a sea glimpse . I would not ever stay here again for the reason of not being shown around , advised where anything is or at least given a map or something . This is not a five star as their is no service to the patrons that stay there. The service is very very poor ! ! We actually felt uncomfortable like we were not wanted on the premises . On the last day of our stay we received a letter from the company that owns the place stating if we need anything to make us more comfortable to contact the person on the letter ... Funny it was just before check out . After the buffet on the last nights stay we went for a coffee at the restaurant down by the sea side which we stumbled on by accident thinking it was part of the other motel next door and where advised that we could have had dinner their whilst staying on the premises free of charge . Funny it was advised on our last night This is definitely not a five star establishment so do not be fooled and do not go here if you expect 5 star like we did. Their is nothing royal about this place . We were ripped off ! Really bad service

Room Tip: If you do choose to stay here their is no point getting a sea view room because its a building view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
0.2 mi away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
3.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
44.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
6.0 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
584 reviews
36.2 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Royal Hotel

Property: Creta Royal Hotel
Address: Skaleta Bay, Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skaleta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
#4 Family Hotel in Skaleta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creta Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Creta Royal
Creta Royal Rethymnon
Creta Royal Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing