We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed room 105, with pool shared with 101 to 106. Food great, staff helpful. See my full comments in Royal review. Would not visit again, nowhere to walk to and not much to do if you can't swim. Olympic rep could not offer the excursion I wanted but the land rover safari was best day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Tracey B

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to post your 2nd review to the correct site. We really regret that your rep could not offer the excursion you wanted. As I wrote in your first feedback we would have welcomed the opportunity to give you inquiries about the desired excursion. There are lots of excursions daily and the buses pick up the passengers in front of the hotel. Unfortunately you made no contact with our staff. They would have been delighted to help you with that.
Concerning your comments “nowhere to walk”, you are right that there are not footpaths but allow us to inform you that 50 meters farther down of the hotel there is a passage to the beach. After the passage on the right there is a lane with taverns, a cafeteria, a hotel, rent rooms, a supermarket and at the end there is a small picturesque church.
Following, after the passage on the left there is an other lane with two hotels,a supermarket, car rental and the little yellow train which travels in lots of villages in a short pace, and gives its passenger the chance to enjoy the scenery to the fullest and they also can step out and visit the villages, churches, monasteries and archeological sites.
Besides , on the left side of the hotel`s entrance there is an other lane with one more supermarket, a jewell`s, a pastry shop some hotels etc.
On the right side of the entrance there is a way to the neighboring hotel and if you continue walking a bit you return to the hotel from an other way. The team of the reception is very obliging to help and make happy our guests.
As I wrote you in the other review, Rethymno Mare is a resort hotel, a place for relaxation, recreation and swimming.
We do try to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We really do want you to have a good stay with us.
Once again thank you for your kind words about our staff and the food and for your contribution and the time you have taken to rate 2nd time our hotel.
With the best wishes
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    155
    47
    20
    7
See reviews for
191
139
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Vacationing with the family in Rethymno Mare in July 2014. Madly liked everything from the meeting at the airport. Arrived around 11 pm, waited a little one more flight with vacationers and moved on. Got to the hotel around 2 am. Settled very quickly, did not have time to look around, bags were already in the room, then we carried out in a restaurant, met the waiters in white shirts with a smile from ear to ear, was carried to the table, fed and watered. If the theater begins with a hanger, the first opinion about the hotel is composed with a meeting with the housekeeping staff. I liked the fact that no one expects you a penny for any service (bring a bag to clean the room). On the contrary, even the maid saw you smile widely, say hello and ask how are you.
The rooms are great: clean, comfortable, high-quality daily cleaning. We stayed in room 126, it is located on the ground floor, we had a sort of terrace with a table. Restaurant, reception and the beach are very close to the rooms, the pool had to climb the stairs.
About food. Someone wrote that it was monotonous. I do not agree! Breakfast yes, every day is the same. What else can you offer other than eggs, cereal, pancakes and other standard breakfast items? But for lunch and dinner was so much variety that two weeks of rest, we have not tried all the dishes. Fish, lamb, veal, chicken, pork, every day; shrimp, mussels, octopus and other marine reptiles-bit rarer every day works grill where they cook vegetables, steaks, fish, etc. About vegetables, separate conversation, could never think of them can cook so many dishes! Wide variety of salads, fruits and desserts. There is a Greek table with artichokes, sun-dried tomatoes, olives, etc.
The hotel staff deserve special thanks. At the reception there Noni girl who speaks in Russian, super polite, friendly. It is difficult to single out any of the staff, because every one worthy of praise, but the maitre d 'was very much remembered Nicholas, who met us at the entrance to the restaurant and escorted to a table. He was very affable, courteous and when he learned that we say in Russian, it was so nice to tell us, "Hello, how are you" or "Bon appetit." Never saw waitstaff moody, always getting the right information, you say "You are wellcome".
Animators do not miss giving entertained from morning to evening: arranged themselves show, was a Greek evening came the international festival "Silver Dolphin" with Central Television announcer Tatiana Sudets.
Nature is awesome range of colors and a lot of trees that provide shade. The beach is sandy and rocky entrance to the sea (need special shoes). Always goes along the beach waiter serving drinks and fruit.
Not convey all the emotion, but if we go to Greece again, then definitely it will Rethymno Mare!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 126, it is located on the ground floor, we had a sort of terrace with a table. Res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Надежда С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Надежда С

What a beautiful review!
There aren`t enough words to express our gratitude for your support.
Nothing makes us happier than the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know that we had the opportunity to contribute to it.
Your sweet comments have touched us and we have shared them with our team. Your kind appreciation of the hotel facilities,the staff,our service,the variation of food,the room and the nature around the hotel are very much appreciate.
You have best regards from everybody working here especially from Noni and Nikos the maitre of the restaurant and we do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you very soon again for an other amazing holiday in the small piece of paradise. Please do not hesitate to send us an e-mail in case you need any assistance.
.Once again thank you for your contribution and support.
Warmest regards
Rethymno Mare Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Mare with my wife for 10 nights in late June. There are two hotels on this complex, the Mare and the Royal Mare. Both share the same reception and all facilities can be used by guests of the Royal but not all can be used by guests of the Mare.
The room in the Mare was on the third floor and was spacious. We had an issue with the glass on the shower not having been cleaned as there were loads of mucky fingerprints on it when we arrived but a call to reception soon put that right. The rest of the time the cleaning was excellent.
We were very close to the Mare pool which was quite large but also fairly busy and was where the animation team based themselves during the day. It was therefore quite noisy with constant music and various pool side activities. The sun loungers have seen better days but there were enough to go around.
The Mare restaurant had a reasonable selection of food including fresh cooked items by the chefs. Again the restaurant was always busy and sometimes you had to queue for a few minutes.
There was, according to the literature that we were given on arrival, a dress code of long trousers for gents in the evening in the restaurant but this was not followed or enforced.
The Mare bar again was more than not really busy with only a couple of bar staff even at peak times. Being English we would queue patiently but it was very frustrating to see guests of other nationalities push in and be very rude!! The bar had a good selection of drinks and cocktails.
On our third day we spoke with a staff member who informed us that it was possible to upgrade to use the facilities of the Royal for 10 euros a day each. We did this at reception and by doing so were able to use the Royal pool which was never crowded and had new wooded sun loungers with thick cushions, the Royal poolside bar which again was never crowded and the staff would serve on you if they were not too busy. We could also use the Royal restaurant which was outside by the pool and was waitress service for drinks. In addition we could also use the Royal bar which again was never crowded and opened for an extra hour than the Mare bar, until midnight.
The best thing that we did was to upgrade to the Royal facilities. We kept the same room as we really liked that but the extra comfort, service and less queuing hassle was well worth the extra money.
Thank you to Noni, Denisa, Michaelis, Christina, Lucia, Ann-Marie and the rest of the staff who looked after us on a really good holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank and49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear and49

Thank you for your contribution and for posting your candid comments.
You are correct that the facilities in Rethymno Mare Royal are better than in Mare and it is proper as Royal is 5 stars Hotel.
We would like to thank you for highlighting the room which was spasious and you liked it,the pool Mare which is large with enough sun loungers to go around,the pool Royal which has new wooden loungers with thick cushions,the reasonable selection of food,and the good selection of drinks and cocktails in the bars.
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused to you with the issue with the glass on the shower.We are really hapy that the cleaning was the rest of the time excellent.
Concerning the restaurant Mare where you had to queue some minutes,when the hotel is at maximum capacity there might be few unfortunate times that guests can not be instantly allocated.
Regarding the comment that there is only a couple of bar staff at peak times,it was brought in time to our attention and all actions was taken in order to be the service rapid.
Following,we are delighted that our staff was able to inform and assist you to upgrade your hotel facilities.Our aim is to make your stay memorable in every way.
We have passed on your sweet comments to our staff and you have many regards from them,especially from Noni,Christina,Michalis,Denisa and her team.
For us it was a pleasure to welcome you here and we would be grateful to have the chance to offer you our services again in the near future.
Kindest regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conisbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in June, what a lovely surprise. Room and all facilities were excellent. We had a very enjoyable time. It's the staff that really make the place so memorable. Nothing was to much trouble for these wonderful friendly staff in all areas of the hotel, they all worked really hard to ensure that guests had a relaxing and memorable stay. Thank you all. One tip - there are a lot of stairs - use the lift to the top pool!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Kingo_11
Your feedback is greatly valued and much appreciated and we thank you very much.
It is always a pleasure to read such very kind comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to us and that service has met your expectations. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and thank you for highlighting the nice room and the wonderful people who work here.
We endeavor to ensure that all our guests’ experiences are as comfortable and memorable as possible, and I am very pleased that you experienced this from our team.
Once again thank you for choosing Rethymno Mare Hotel and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vellinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

One of the best hotels we stayed at so far!
We were two families (4 adults and 4 adult children) who lived here between 20/6 and 27/6, all inclusive.
Excellent service, every ware the staff always had a smile on their face! All inclusive better than OK. However, a minus for the grill that was understaffed. You want something from there run when the restaurant just opened. The all inclusive bar closes at 23, should close an hour later.
We as family's have quite good experience of hotels around Europe and this one we highly recommend!

Room Tip: Try to get room in the middle section of the hotel complex. Then you are near restaurant, pool and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear stefangrandin

Your review and your nice comments give us greater responsibility to improve ourselves even more and be able to remain at the high standard.
The remark concerning the grill that is understaffed is easily rectified and we thank you that you have pointed it out to us.
Regarding the all inclusive,in Rethymno Mare Hotel lasts till 23.00 and in Rethymno Mare Royal is one hour later over.It is stated in all major travel directories.
Dear stefangrandin once again we thank you for your contribution and your support
and we truly hope to have the opportunity in the near future to have you as our guest.
Kindest regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Super great place,we loved to stay on this wonderful hotel. And next time we are in crete de absolutley will be back. This was our 3 time in crete but 1in rethymno mare,and it was better then we had thought .

Personal was super great, wonderful and always so helpful.
So see you al next time,we will bee back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karin692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Karin692014

Thank you very much for making Rethymno Mare the hotel of your choise and for sharing your experiences with other travelers.
We hope that you had a pleasant trip home.
For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted to read that you are going to visit us again.
Please contact us in advance in order to make our best for having one more time memorable moments in our hotel.
Best regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umeå
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

IT was a very nice holiday. The Staf made it feel like i was a part of a Greek family. The animation team made me workout Every day. And was kind to the kids.
It was big enough for our family the pool area made it easy to see where the children where.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolamoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Carolamoh

Thank you very much for choosing our oroperty for your accommodation while in Rethymno.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
My team and i would be grateful to have the chance to offer you our services again in the near future.
Sunny regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
0.1 mi away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
4.0 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
2,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 165 in Rethymnon
856 reviews
43.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rethymnon Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rethymnon Mare

Property: Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Address: Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skaleta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rethymnon Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rethymnon Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymnon Mare Hotel
Mare Hotel Rethymnon
Rethymnon Hotel Mare
Hotel Rethymnon Mare Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing