We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect family hotel”
Review of Oasis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oasis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This family goes above, and beyond to make your stay welcoming. This is my second time staying here, and I would never go anwhere else in crete. Just a few mins outside of rethymno, so even the taxi was very cheap. The food is delicious, and you can taste the love in every bite! 10 out of 10 !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarBara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were looking to book a very relaxing holiday and steered away from all inclusive as we find the meal times aren't always a pleasant experience , we really liked the look of the Oasis and the reviews on here inspired us further ....great choice!!! in a perfect location if you wish to explore crete further or just enjoy what this charming hotel has to offer, we found the two brothers Kostas and Charis were absolutley wonderful and so very good at running their hotel along with the rest of the oasis family, meal times were a delight with plenty of good, home cooked food an they also offer lovely lunches sat on either the outside terrace or inside.The rooms were cosy and clean with ever facility we needed and a big plus for us a large fridge/freezer to chill our beers that we enjoyed while watching the gorgeous sunsets from our lovely balcony :) .The pool and pool area was very nice, sunbeds were plentiful and we spent many a happy hour relaxing poolside and swimming in the water.We would return for sure, and intend to do so came back feeling so relaxed and happy .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emmabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I thought this little hotel was just lovely. Perhaps not ideal if you are someone who wants to be in the thick of the night life, but gorgeous for anyone wanting a quieter break away, 20 minutes or so out of town (it's easy to get there on the bus - 1.60 Euros either way).

The first morning, I realised that we were only a very short distance away from Crete's equivalent of the M1 and the noise meant I got no sleep after a long flight the night before. But the following morning, we paid for our air conditioning and when we shut the French windows at night, we couldn't really hear the road.

Rooms were small, but very clean. I didn't like the bathroom at all and thought it could do with a bit of an update, but I'm still giving it five stars and an 'excellent' rating because I was so, so happy with everything else.

The food was lovely and the POOL - it was just absolutely fantastic! Small, again, but maintained at a lovely temperature and floating about on my lilo, sunbathing in the pool, was just BLISS!

Lovely views over the surrounding countryside and all rooms have a view of the sea and the coast, so that was obviously fantastic, as well.

After an awful trip to Thassos some years ago, I said I'd never return to Greece again. But after my gorgeous week on lovely, beautiful Crete, in this lovely, family-run hotel, I'm feeling terribly homesick for Crete and for my beautiful pool!

Around the pool, it was nice and quiet and guests tended not to make a lot of noise. If you're wanting to live it up and party, this isn't perhaps the location to do it in, but if you're on your own or are a quiet couple or family, you would just adore it, I'm sure.

We all have different tastes, of course, but I can only say that from a personal point of view, this hotel was just perfect and beautifully quiet, and the only thing I'd change is that bathroom!

Room Tip: A quiet hotel with a gorgeous pool, excellent family-run establishment with stunning views over Cret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PBunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had a lovely 7 night stay at Oasis Hotel run by brothers Costas and Charis and their family. As soon as you walk in the door they make you feel welcome. The hotel is spotless and although the rooms are basic they are more than sufficient for needs. Cost of air con is 5 euros a night but is a must on warm sultry eves. Both brothers have excellent sense of humours and are really friendly they can't do enough for you, Costas sorted us out a car to hire for a couple of days at a very reasonable price and is more than happy to advise you on local beauty spots and lovely traditional villages to visit. Food was of a good quality and there was plenty of it so you won't feel cheated if you go on a half/full board basis. Fab beach and tavernas within easy walking and the beautiful town of Rethymnon a short bus drive away, tickets for which you can buy from hotel. Great quiet, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We definitely enjoyed our stay here. It's is a nice and cosy hotel away from the mass-tourism that's run by two friendly brothers and their family. They will do almost everything within their power to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. It's a small walk to the beach, but there are no villages or towns within walking distance. There is a super market nearby where you can buy almost anything (water, snacks, suitcases, souvenirs etc). The New National road of Crete lays about 100 meter from the hotel. Here you can take a bus to anywhere on the island. (The olive oil from the salad bar is produced during wintertime and comes from their own olive plant)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manasselindhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This is a family run hotel, and you feel it the second you step into the door. Every single person in this hotel is friendly, helpful and always willing to help you have the best experience possible.
The rooms are basic, but fit wonderfully into the ambiance of the place; the pool area is very neat and done up lovingly and beautifully.
There is a little cornershop just three minutes walk away, as well as a car hire place.
The bus connection into Rethymno is a five minute walk away, and there are a couple of restaurants as well.
For someone looking for action, partying and socialising, this is probably not the best spot to start. For everyone who just wants a good relaxing time, this is the right place to come.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Platysnisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel 28th Sept to 6Th October. Excellent value for money. Rooms are basic but the whole hotel is spotless. We were on a half board basis, breakfast was buffet style and there was lots of it. For the evening meal there was only one choice but all good quality and freshly cooked. Staff were exceptional could not do enough for you. The hotel is about 20 minutes by car to the nearest large town so a car is a must have however, Kostas got us a good deal on car hire that was cheaper than anywhere else.. All in all brilliant would go back again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimmyFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
0.3 mi away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
27.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#7 of 33 in Amoudara
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Babis
Hotel Babis
#8 of 8 in Skaleta
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Creta Star Hotel
Creta Star Hotel
#1 of 8 in Skaleta
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corali Beach
Corali Beach
#1 of 1 in Skaleta
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hotel

Address: Main Street, Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Skaleta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range: £27 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Oasis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Rethymnon
Oasis Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing