We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very lucky find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel. It was a last minute booking in an unfamiliar area. We feel that we landed on our feet. The Mare Royal was a little bit different from your usual, run of the mill seaside hotel. We felt treasured and appreciated from the minute we arrived and were greeted by Noni at reception.
The rooms were clean and comfortable but were showing signs of wear, inevitable at the end of a long season.
The food was served by great staff (especially Denisa and Nikos) in a very pleasant dining room. The soups, breads and salads were excellent. The rest of the food was tasty and plentiful but was often a little on the cool side.
If you want non-stop entertainment in a bustling town then this is not the place for you. If you want a quiet hotel with a lovely atmosphere and good service then the Rethymno Mare Royal is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tobiarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Manager at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Tobiarthur

Thank you for choosing Crete for your vacations and for staying at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel.
We highly appreciate your understanding that because of the end of a long season it is the signs of wear in the rooms inevitable.
Your valueable feedback about our hospitality services is vital for us to maintain the high class quality level that we provide to our guests.
Your kinds comments are shared with our staff,(especially with Nonni,Denisa,and Nikos) and they encourage us to continue our efforts towards guest`s satisfaction.
It will be a pleasure for us to have the opportunity to host you again in our hotel and to treat you as a repeater guest.
Best regards
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at this Hotelin September 2013, we had a wonderful holiday, the staff are very helpful, food fabulous the range of choice was extensive. Could not find anything to fault. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and would recommend this to anyone. We used the local transport for access to Rethymno and Xania, which was very easy to use.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Manager at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Andrea S

Thank you for taking the time to post a feedback on Trip advisor.
We hope that you had a smooth trip home.
We highly appreciate your sweet comments about your stay at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel.
Your words encourage us to continue our hard work in order to be every guest satisfied and happy.
Thank you also for posting nice photos of the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and to treat you as a repeater guest.
Best sunny regards
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just returned from one week vacation at Rethymno Mare Hotel and had a wonderful time. Great people, great service, great food, graet rooms, great view.
The location is perfect for exploring the island.
Many thanks to Denisa, Mira, Nikos, Christina and Michalis.
Thank you once again for the fantastic time!!
We definitelly will come back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Manager at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Andreas G

Thank you for coming to Rethymno and for staying at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations.
Nice comments always motivate us for improving ourselves and make us happy.
For us,it was a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to see you again next year.
Kindest regards
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

just had a wonderful vacation with my family . The staff is friendly, kind and makes you feel like a family member. The rooms are clean and close to the pool, the food is excellent and the atmosphere is relaxed and special, especially the private beach. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pianistal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Manager at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear pianistal

We highly appreciate your kind feedback regarding your stay in Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel.
Your support give us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest`s satisfaction.
For us it was a great honor to host all of you and we really look forward to including you as one of our loyal guests that enjoy their vacations at Rethymno Mare Hotel.

Kindest regards
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I just came back from a visit in Crete, staying in this hotel, and I must say they surprised me!!
The location. the view, the room, the staff was nothing less than wonderful!!!
They are all so kind there, answering your every question, giving you the felling like your in a big polite family,
the room was so clean. the food was great, the bartenders, the waitresses, even the "pool guy" were all very nice and smily.
They even offered us a very early breakfast (at 5:00 am) when we had an early flight home :)
A small heaven, just 2 hours from Israel. Will surly visit there again!
Great place, great time :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stitchntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Manager at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear guests

Thank you for coming in Crete and for choosing Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel to spend your holidays.
We hope that you had a nice trip home.
We appreciate your very kind feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
We are delighted to read that our service and hospitality have exceeded your expectations.
Your sweet comments give us strength to continue our efforts towards guest`s satisfaction.
We sincerely hope that you will visit us again.
Please contact us in advance in order to treat you as a repeater guest.
Best sunny regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Chose this hotel on spec for a week short break - couldn't have been better!

Room was spacious and kept scrupulously clean by the maid. Reception and other staff were friendly and very helpful even to the extent of recharging my Sony e-reader from the reception computer when I discovered I'd left my charger at home. Food in the all inclusive restaurant was well cooked, varied and appetising. Lifts and ramps to all levels are provided for those who may not be quite so mobile!

The regular bus service into Rethymno stops just outside the hotel for those who want to get out and about to the local beaches, or into the city for shopping and sights!

We had a great time and will be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Volvobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Manager at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear guests

thank you for the wonderful review that you have taken the time to write.
We hope that you had a smooth trip home.
We are happy to read,that you enjoyed your holidays here and that you liked then food and the service in the hotel.
We are delighted reading that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Please contact us in advance,in order to treat you as repeater guest.
Best sunny regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Have just returned from a weeks relaxing holiday at the Rethymno Mare Royale hotel. Hotel itself in a quiet area only a few Tavernas but close to the main road, good bus route into Rethymnon. The hotel has a multi national clientele....some of whom do not understand the niceties of hello in the morning! Still it takes all sorts. The staff are excellent, very friendly and always smiling. The rooms are spacious, beds comfortable, bathroom has toiletries and plenty of hot water. All guest areas are kept very clean and well maintained, the beach attendant keeps the beach tidy and brings down cold drinks a few times a day. The only down side I would warn people about is the food, there is plenty on offer but the quality was lacking! Who eats carrots or tinned mixed veg for breakfast!! The Chinese was slightly better, but quite salty. I think if the hotel paid bait more attention to quality over quantity I would have given it a 5 rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolis T, Manager at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear guests

thank you for visiting Crete and for staying at Rethymno Mare Hotel.
We hope that you had a smooth trip home.
We are really happy to read that you in general enjoyed your holidays here.
Concerning your comments about the quality of greek and chinese food,we would like to inform you that we will take them under careful considerationand we will try to improve it.
Regarding the carrots and rest vegetables for breakfast,allow us to inform you that because of the guest mixture,the eating habits change from country to country and we have to satisfy all our clientele.
For us it was a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to see you again and treat you as a repeater guest.
Best sunny regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
#2 of 8 in Skaleta
448 reviews
73.5 mi away
Koutsounari Traditional Cottages
23.0 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
309 reviews
45.2 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#57 of 172 in Hersonissos
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel

Address: Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
#2 Family Hotel in Skaleta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range: £105 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Scaleta, just 11 km away from Rethymnon. Guests will find themselves surrounded by the charming village, where restaurants, taverns, bars and shops are just waiting to be discovered. The hotel offers an excellent setting from which to explore the attractions that the area has to offer. This wonderful resort hotel beautifully combines Greek and modern styles in its design. Set amidst 35,000 m² of land, the hotel offers guests the ideal setting in which to revel in the sheer, natural beauty of the area. The hotel comprises exquisitely-appointed guest rooms, which feature refreshing tones. The hotel offers a seemingly boundless array of exemplary facilities, ensuring that each and every traveller enjoys a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymno Mare Royal Rethymnon
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing