We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in Mykonos”
Review of Makis Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Makis Place
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Mykonos”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the end of August so prices were still high in Mykonos, however, we thought €85 a night with breakfast at Makis was great value. Being collected from the airport and dropped at the port is a great complimentary service. Our seaview room was spacious, the pool was nice and the staff are so friendly! The best thing about Makis is the restaurant - we ended up eating here every night as it was delicious, affordable and a nice way to relax at night. We would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    81
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
39
141
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The room was very clean large and cozy. There was a TV a big bathroom and lots of room for clothes in the big closets. Outside the rooms there was a spacious parking with a separate street that led to the room-like staying on your own house. There was a beautiful and large swimming pool! Balcony with room to sit and relax and a nice view of the harbor.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the pool for a better view and more room to park a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VasilisBiLLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We are just finishing a stay at Makis Place, and cannot say enough about this place. It is a family run business and everyone is involved. Everyone has a smile on their face.
Our early arrival did not phase them at all. The immediately sought out a room for us that was ready. Not a request of ours, but an action of theirs.
No, this is not the Hilton, but I did not pay Hilton prices, and I did not expect the Hilton.
Rooms are clean and well maintained. They were cleaned daily. The dining facility is quite pleasant being open air. The menu has a wide variety of choice, including local dishes. Morning breakfast is good. It offers a good variety of food to eat. There is also a bar service available.
The pool area is quite nice. It was busy at times but not overcrowded. The view towards Mykonos and out over the sea is great. Sunsets can be watched from a part of the pool deck.
Our room had a partial sea view and it was great. It looked toward Myknonos. Seeing the town lit at night was quite spectacular.
The bus to town stops at the bottom of the driveway. You can also walk to town in about 20-30 minutes.

Room Tip: A sea view or partial sea view room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrdmapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We found this hotel when browsing online for our summer vacation. Upon our arrival, we were puzzled at the airport seeing all hotel vans taking passengers to their destination. We expected that we will soon see our van, but we did not! We were four adults and 3 children so we got a bit confused. As soon as we called the hotel, they came to pick us up. We discovered later that this is one of the two sons of the owner. He was very welcoming and nice.The whole family is involved in this business. The hotel location is not close to downtown, but it is very easy to take a bus from there, you just have to see the schedule hanged on the the board and got accustomed to it! The bus does not stop when in first passes infront the hotel, it goes up to pick up passengers from the other side. On its way back, it will definately stop and you can then go in a nice ride to down town. So the hotel location is not bad at all. Also if you can walk, it is possible to reach to St. Stefanon beach, a very nice place to be. It takes around 20 minutes walking towards the road up from Makis. You can also go there by bus. What I would like to highlight on is the family super hospitality. One can easily recognize that the hotel that every member of them is very much devoted to his work, The father and the sons handle the reception, booking and driving. The second son is taking care of the kitchen and the mother is in the restaurant always. I REALLY RESPECT THIS SPIRIT THAT NEVER STOPS WORKING AND CARES ABOUT EVERY CORNER OF THE PLACE. THEY WATCH THE HOTEL AND PUT THEIR HAND EVERYWHERE AS IF IT IS THEIR OWN HOUSE. Bravo! The food is very tasty and very much affordable and has a very good variety. What we did not like is the "basic" breakfast. They offer milk, coffee, one kind of juice, bread, yelow cheese, ham, tzaziki, eggs, butter, jam, honey and a small variety of home made cakes. No, tea, no fruits, no vegetables (which we like to see and eat as Lebanese) and no olives! But the food is fresh and heartly prepared! The architecture is typically Greek, The balconies view is to the new port, so one can enjoy seeing superb ferries stopping there everyday. From Makis you can walk few minutes to the NEW PORT and enjoy looking at the huge ships and take nice photos there.
The rooms are proper, equipped by ACs, they have clean sheets and towels. There is a fridge but no mini bar inside. There is no phone in the room. However, there is a wifi. Depending on the family size, you can either book a regular room or a studio. we had a safe in our room. There is a nice swimming pool there. In summary the place is clean, affordable, easy to move around, and very much hospitable. It left a nice memory for our vacation to Mykonos. WE CERTAINLY RECCOMEND IT. YOU WILL BE SATISFIED. Thank you Makis family!!! Houwayna and Antoine El Helou. Lebanon

Room Tip: Rooms are clean, food tasty, family are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOUWAYNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Makis owns the place. He's very confused but Very nice and friendly. They have a restaurant at the entrees the wife and the sons manage it. In the morning continental breakfast (very basic) but fresh and made with heart.
The sheets are clean and white, AC in all rooms, clean (medium size) towels, NO PHONE in the room, THERE'S WiFi.
Peaceful resort viewing the ocean and the port.
Makis and his family will help you with whatever you need.
Nice common pool in the mid floor...
I recommend for all ages, all kind of travelers, all kind of people.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our island hopping holiday 21st May and enjoyed it that much stayed we stayed another 2 nights at the end.

It has a restaurant attached which serves some of the best food we've had in Greece in over 30 years.

The Hotel is set by the new port and is away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist attraction on the old town, yet only a 20 minute walk or 5 minute bus ride away, with the bus stop just outside the hotel. Agios Stefanos beach is a 5 minute bus ride or 15 minute walk, just down the road and is clean, sandy and has several tavernas, well worth a visit

There's a small supermarket less than 5 minutes walk down the road and a few other tavernas very close by.

This is a family hotel that's been in 3 generations and started as just the restaurant, with blocks of rooms being added on every 20 years or so. The rooms are set in blocks at different levels with a lovely swimming pool. People with walking difficulties may experience problems getting round the different levels between rooms, pool and restaurant.

The room we used had 3 single beds, A/C, fridge and TV with nice views across the swimming pool and the new port.

I read scathing reviews about the owner/father 'Makis' before we went but to be honest I found him very pleasant and just a bit eccentric and great with our 5 year old son. The whole family work hard and give good customer service, our ferry to our next island got changed twice and their son Vangelis came to let us know and even drove us down to the ferry ticket office to change our tickets, a nice bit of personal service which they didn't need to do but was just that bit more and made you feel special.

They will transfer you to/from the airport and ports, we really enjoyed our stay and will use the hotel again when retuning to Mykonos.

Mark, Sharon & Matthew

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A short bus trip, 5 minutes from the old port and the bustling tourist area and alleyways. A great place to relax by the pool. The restaurant is very reasonable and very good also. The manager is abit off this planet but all other staff are really helpful.

Room Tip: There really are no great sea views or mountain views so save your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobalbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourlos
0.1 mi away
Olia Hotel
Olia Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tourlos
285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#22 of 82 in Mykonos Town
346 reviews
2.8 mi away
Corfos Hotel
Corfos Hotel
#8 of 22 in Ornos
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rhenia Hotel
Rhenia Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tourlos
324 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
#50 of 82 in Mykonos Town
101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Place

Property: Makis Place
Address: Tourlos 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Tourlos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Makis Place 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Makis Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maki`s Place Hotel Tourlos
Makis Place Mykonos/Tourlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing