We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience, not the best I've had from a 5* hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldemar Olympian Village

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Aldemar Olympian Village
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skafidia
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good experience, not the best I've had from a 5* hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed there on 9th and 10th of September 2011. Initially, We booked a main building room with garden view, at 154 euros per night with HB included in the price. The price was not really good for that period of time (low seazon).
However, to our surprise we were given Bungalow Sharing Pool(shared by 4 bungalows, which was offered at 214 euros per night). It was a nice offer from the hotel stuff, due to the availability of the hotel on that period.
The size of the room was sufficient, as well as that of the bathroom. The cleaningness was OK too.

Breakfast: It was offered at the main building and was very busy due to large all-inclusive groups from Russia and Italy. In addition, the buffet was dissappearing at 10:31, i.e. 1 minute after the official working hours. Also, I should expect the
foreign members of the stuff to understand the elementary Greek Language elements...
Although large, the buffet was nothing nothing more but a typical 4 stars one.
The Greek speaking stuff, looked better trained and more experienced.

Swimming pools: apart from that offered by our bungalow, there was also a main pool at a good condition, with various animation programs taking place. Generally the swimming pools looked in a very good condition and very clean.

Snacks: On Friday, at the main pool bar, we found no snacks but toast... maybe there were some other snacks somewhere else, but we couldn't find them...

Hot Buffet: We tried the one offered on Friday night, when there was a Greek night organised at the hotel.Maybe it was the most delicious buffet I have ever tried in a 5 stars hotel. We really enjoyed it.

Mini clubs (kindergarden): the stuff did not speak Greek. Therefore the question is: should there exist a Greek mother that could ever leave her child to a kindergarden where the baby sitters would not understand any Greek?

Location of the hotel; The hotel is located at a place isolated from the rest of the village. This has some pros and cons:
pros: privacy, silence, luxury, exclusive access to the sandy beach
cons: no newspapers, pharmacy, super market etc nearby.

Location of the room: The type of this hotel is of those that look like a small town. This means that the distances are exhaustive. We needed (with the 3 years old kid) about 7-10 minutes walking under the sun to reach the main restaurant, parking and the lobby. To make matters worse, I had to carry the kids at night, when he was asleep ... The next time, I should have to bring my bike with me, as well as that of the kid and my wife's... Of course there is the possibility of renting a bike at an additional charge inside the hotel but this partially resolves the problem of the distances, especially in the morning when the sun's hot.

Doctor: I am grateful to the hotel that offered me that service free of charge when I was beaten by a fish.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Olympian Village, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
Dear Guest,

We feel the obligation to thank you for taking the time to post a review with your comments. Reading them, we found that our service offerings during your stay at our hotel were not in line with your expectations. Our ultimate goal is the continuous improvement of our services to satisfy our Valued Customers like you. The fact that you spent part of your specious time to post your comments, point out your interest to us. We would like to give us the chance in the future to deal with the details of your stay so that will be according to your expectations. Thank you again, for using our hotel during your vacations and we hope to have you again with us in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    300
    116
    50
    17
See reviews for
534
245
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Creteil, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed for 10 days during July in a family suite, which is a 45 sq.m flat with 2 bedrooms. Furnishing and decoration need a freshening up. Some of these suites are completely inadequate as they have a very small sitting area, whereas others contain a big garden and spacious terrace. Initially we were taken to one of the former, however when we complained we were transferred to one of the latter. We heard similar compaints from other guests. The gardens, pools, grounds, beach are great. The main restaurant is just average with breakfast very rich, but not top quality. The rest of the restaurants are good but very expensive as is the mini market. On the plus side the kids'activities, mini disco etc. On the down side the very expensive prices for anything outside the room price. The service is great from some and average from others. Aldemar is a family resort, so if you consider going as a couple, it might be busy. This applies to the royal olympian, as they are in the same grounds and use the same facilities. The last downside is the very bad signs to get to the hotel, you basically need a map or GPS, as there are no signs whatsoever...
Overall great for families especially with young children who need a resort and don;t like to move around.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikos099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Olympian Village, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
Google Translation
Chers Clients,
Nous tenons à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps d’écrire vos commentaires sur votre séjour a l’Aldemar Olympian Village 5*.

Votre soutien nous permet de continuer nos efforts pour votre entière satisfaction tandis qu’en même temps vos commentaires et remarques sont pris sérieusement a l’étude favorisant l’amélioration de nos services et prestations.

Vos vacances ensoleillées viennent de se terminer et nous attendons avec impatience de vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre établissement.

Nous espérons pouvoir vous faire partager une nouvelle fois l’expérience unique de la tradition d’Aldemar Hotels et de son hospitalité authentique qui est notre credo depuis plus de vingt ans.


Meilleures Salutations,
Pavlos Dakouris
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Spend a weekend in this lovely place. Fantastic views of hills (I wouldn't call them mountains), sea, nature.
I had Suite in Main building. It was awesome. Spacious, with super bathroom and terrace. The building has also its private pool. However I preferred the beach and sea.
Main restaurant Olympia impressed me with view. It was so nice having my morning cup of coffee and looking to the sea.
Mainly staff speaks English however you can find also Russian and French speaking.
Lunch is almost same as breakfast, so I tried for dinner good fish restaurant just across the road from resort entrance (they serve extra fresh fish).
The only thing which upset me is the location. I arrived to Athens, and had to take a bus for 4 hours to get the resort. Otherwise I would have to pay approx 400 EUR for a taxi. I heard there is some other airport 1 hour drive. I wish there will be some flights coming there.
Overall: Small heaven as for me! will search an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Olympian Village, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Aldemar
Olympian Village 5*. We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Your kind remarks encourage us to continue the good and hard work, assuring you of our best of attentions and quality services at all times.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Greece.

Kind regards
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I spend 5 days at the end of August with my family (180 Euro for each day with breakfast, totally 900 Euro) and I stayed in a poor room (not very clean, with low ceiling, uncofortuable beds and pilows). The resort has not been renovated for years and this is very obvious at the common areas.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marios68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Olympian Village, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
Dear Guest,

We feel the obligation to thank you for taking the time to post a review with your comments. Reading them, we found that our service offerings during your stay at our hotel were not in line with your expectations. Our ultimate goal is the continuous improvement of our services to satisfy our Valued Customers like you. The fact that you spent part of your specious time to post your comments, point out your interest to us. We would like to give us the chance in the future to deal with the details of your stay so that will be according to your expectations. Thank you again, for using our hotel during your vacations and we hope to have you again with us in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days with our 5 years old son. This hotel is really good for children. The beach here is sandy and see is not deep. We had all in system- very restricted:( for a lot of alc. or not alc. drinks and some snacks needs to be paid extra. Hotel has a really big and gut maintained territory. A lot of pools. Even if the hotel is full, you want see a lot of people on the beach or near the swimming pools and will find an empty sun bed. Food in main Olympia restaurant was better, than expected. Good for children and their parents :)
Bad:
1) animation- somebody mentioned it is Russian oriented, it is not true. I am ruissian, and it was simply bad. Animation team was big, but they entertained only themselves.
2) rooms- very simple, small. 5 star hotel should have much better rooms. The same to the bathrooms
3) restaurant staff- not professional
4)spa is too expensive

Room Tip: Bungalow see front shareing pool worths to be paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga_M0sc0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Olympian Village, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Aldemar
Olympian Village 5*. We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Your kind remarks encourage us to continue the good and hard work, assuring you of our best of attentions and quality services at all times.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Greece.

Kind regards
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Sorroundings are perfect (gardens, swimming pool, beach); Service, rooms & food are much beyod 5* expectations: They do not clean the main swimming pool areas, they do not open sun-umbrellas (which is quite difficult to do alone), some sun-beds needs replacement and are dirty. They offer coffee and granitas in plastic cups(!), The towels are worn-out (with holes as if a mouse has eaten them!). The room (bangalow) lacks not only space but also height. The (small) bathroom does not get dry (no way to get some fresh air), it is moldy and full of moisture. The food is not tasty and they serve the same dishes again and again. The worst part is the price of water. You have to pay 3 (sorry 2.8) euros for 1 bottle (1 litre) of water while at the same time you can buy 6 bottles with less than 2 euros from the local market!
Local staff is nice. However, those entertainers (singers or dancers or animateurs or personal trainers or "i-do-everything-guys") they bring from everywhere are too boring and pathetic.
I wouldn't go back; I wouldn't pay that money for what they offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OlgaD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Olympian Village, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
Dear Guest,

We feel the obligation to thank you for taking the time to post a review with your comments. Reading them, we found that our service offerings during your stay at our hotel were not in line with your expectations. Our ultimate goal is the continuous improvement of our services to satisfy our Valued Customers like you. The fact that you spent part of your specious time to post your comments, point out your interest to us. We would like to give us the chance in the future to deal with the details of your stay so that will be according to your expectations. Thank you again, for using our hotel during your vacations and we hope to have you again with us in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiato,greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

the spa was awesome!also it's better to take a program to the spa because there are cheaper!the italian restorant too and the service at the hotel very kind and friendly!!!there are amazing shops with clothes at the hotel for women,men and kids!also if you like sports like tennis and basketball there are courts to play and you pay 10euros for the court and you play for how much time you want!!the room service is very good!in my opinion,the best rooms are at the buildings because they are cheaper and bigger. and you can go in every pool you want!!also one more when you take HB you can go to the reception and take a check of your HB and go in every restaurant you want at night!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vasia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Olympian Village, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Aldemar
Olympian Village 5*. We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Your kind remarks encourage us to continue the good and hard work, assuring you of our best of attentions and quality services at all times.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Greece.

Kind regards
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skafidia
15.4 mi away
Grecotel Olympia Oasis
Grecotel Olympia Oasis
#1 of 1 in Killinis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldemar Royal Olympian
Aldemar Royal Olympian
#2 of 3 in Skafidia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mare Dei Ionian Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso
16.3 mi away
Olympia Golden Beach Resort & Spa
16.3 mi away
Illia Palms at Grecotel Olympia Riviera Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Olympian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Olympian Village

Property: Aldemar Olympian Village
Address: 262 Kifissias Ave | Ilia, Skafidia, Pyrgos 271 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Pyrgos > Skafidia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skafidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Olympian Village 5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the home of the Greek gods and the Olympic Games, a region full of history, ancient temples and Byzantine monasteries, and discover the Olympian Village, an ultramodern hotel complex overlooking the sea. Stretching along the beach and surrounded by dozens of pools and beautiful gardens, the Olympian Village (World’s Leading Spa Resort 2007, World Travel Awards) is a lively and welcoming holiday location. It offers a host of activities for sports enthusiasts and families with children, an atmosphere of relaxation and well-being at World’s finest Spa & Thalasso center, Royal Olympian Spa & Thalasso and a feast of culinary delights at its superb restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Aldemar Olympian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Olympian Village Hotel Skafidia
Aldemar Olympian Village Skafidia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing