We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect uncomplicated wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porta del Mar Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ammoudi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Generally not one to return to a holiday destination twice, Porta Del Mar changed all that. My family and I returned there this year in August,with 22 family and friends in tow, to finally tie the knot after 19 years.We had the most fabulous two weeks and a magical wedding day that was perfect in every way. Entirely stress free preparation both prior to arrival and during the eight day run up to the wedding.I just wish that I could relive the experience!
The family Rigas,Tasos,Pavlina,Kostas and Eleni are accomodating in every way and they are true professionals in every sense of the word and considered friends too. The venue has been tastefully developed since our first visit and there are lots of nooks and crannies to lose oneself, although peaceful and secluded there is still plenty to keep even the young and active occupied and we were still discovering new tavernas even on our last evening.The review would not be complete without a mention for George the cook, who has helped to expand the gastric delights on offer in traditional fayre-something in which he takes great pride! Porta Del Mar we salute you.

Room Tip: All the accomodation is spacious comfortable and offer sunny balconies and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaynor0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Thank You for an amazing holiday experience. We felt very much at home the moment be arrived. We had what felt like a private beach, that was always clean and beautiful. The accomodation was more than adaquate for our needs. I loved the not being in a populated area. It was very special. We will definitely be visiting Porta del Mar in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a fabulous fortnight at Porta del Mar, blissfully relaxing and soaking up the beautiful surroundings.
The individual apartments surround a well tended garden, both crafted with love and attention to detail, and the family are excellent hosts, ensuring a stress free holiday to suit your needs. As well as your personal balcony, you can choose from any number of carefully designed areas to sit alone or meet and chat with other guests, lounge on one of the many sunbeds, or you can descend the steps to the lovely clean beach.
If you can rouse yourself from the tranquility, the family will help you book a car or a boat trip to the stunning blue caves and shipwreak. Despite its small size Zakynthos is a diverse island with much to explore, and well worth a visit.
In the evenings you have the choice of a number of local tavernas within walking distance or the daily special at Porta del Mar among the beautiful flowers and herbs which are used in the delicious food served from the small, but well stocked, bar. The Greek nights in particular are well worth staying in for as not only is the food delicious but the atmosphere is warm and inviting.
We were looking for a quiet place to unwind and celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary, we found the perfect place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasirigas, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Kerry,
It was just before sunrise when you arrived to our place after a night's flight. After the tea we had we all enjoyed the sunrise from our beach front patio (your picture says it all!).
Zakynthos is really an ideal island to spend your summer holiday, taking the most of its golden beaches, the olive groves , the unique landscapes.....Hope you saw a lot of this with your rental car driving on the "wrong" side of the road!
We did enjoyed the evenings with you, especially the Pizza evening with the large participation, let alone George's prawns!
Hope to welcome you here again, thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family never did 'return' holidays, until we discovered, through Owner's Direct, Porta del Mar. Every year we realise that it just doesn't get better than this. The location is the most beautiful I have ever seen, the owners feel like friends and we all (including a 13 year old and a 16 yr old, both girls) have a fantastic holiday. This year, the owners have improved the site even more, with beautiful decking over the beach, although we are die-hards who prefer to be on the beach (sunbeds provided). There were new cayaks for exploring and the kids jus don't want to come in from the sea- even that behaves itself as it is calm and peaceful in the morning then rough with waves to jump around in in the afternoon. The food gets better and better- George, the new cook is a real find and we loved the fact that he has continued the tradition of cooking using as much as he can from the owner's vegetable garden. There are so many things I could write about, which draw us back every year- thank you Tasos, Pavlina ,Costas ( very much in charge now and very impressive!) and lovely Elina. And George. See you next summer!!

Room Tip: All the villas are beautiful- we have tried them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We are a Family of four, our Kids are 5 and 7 years old and we stayed for one week in porta del Mar in May. It is an incredibly beautiful place, the arrangement of the houses around a pretty Patio is very tasteful and so are the Appartements. Very clean, nicely furnished with very comfortable beds and everything you need for cooking.
We had wonderful views from our terrace.
There are diffent terraces down the steps to the beach, where you can have your meals or drinks and just look at this turquoise calm ocean. The sandy beach is extremly nice, very clean, almost noone there, shallow water - perfect for Kids. We loved the taverna, and I have to say they have exeptional delicious food. A good variety of partly self grown vegetables, fresh fish, very good meat, excellent Pizza.
The owners are extremly friendly and try to help wherever they can. They organized a very cheap rental car for us, we could get mosquito nets in our rooms, always there, always helpful, friendly and heartwarming People we miss already!
We were always looking for a place like this and finally we found it! For sure we will return.
Thank you for a wonderful week we still think of a lot!
Kati and Tom (Munich)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We visited Porta del Mar in September 2011 and in June 2013. Both holidays were so fantastic, relaxing and unique that we definitely visit Porta del Mar again.
The location is like a little paradise. The villas, the garden and the beach - everything is perfect and designed with a lot of little details and love. A wonderful place to chill out. Relaxing Music is playing in the background all day long. The Beach is quiet and you can sunbathe on one of the both decks or if you want you can have a massage on the beach in the morning.
Preliminary Family Rigas made our holidays to really special vacations. They are so friendly and obliging. Every time we felt welcome and like friends.
They organize traditional BBQ and Pizza Evenings which you can’t miss when you visit Porta del Mar. We can say it is the best Pizza of the World.
At lunch or in the evening you can eat from the “Star Cuisine” of Kostas and George who makes gourmands’ dreams comes true. You can sit in the nice garden, with a perfect view over the sea, eat something from the delicacies and listen to the relaxing music in the background.
Later you can have a homemade Mojito from Kostas……..Everything is perfect.
So, for us it is the perfect place for holidays and the nicest we’ve ever seen.
René, Jacqueline, Ronja & Maximilian

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReJaRoMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were very lucky to find Porta Del Mar on google back in early 2012 and just over a year later had our wedding / honeymoon there. 1st June 2013.

These villas are spotless, each one individual in style but all beautifully decorated and maintained. We stayed in calypso for 2 weeks which had amazing views of the villa gardens and beach / sea and views across to kefalonia.

Tasos, Pavlina and Kostas along with George (the chef) and their pets big eyes and Tapa made our stay something quite incredible. Nothing was too much trouble. We wanted a unique relaxed place to get married and holiday with our young children's and celebrate the second week with our close family. We all had the time of our lives and became very attached to porta del mar and its owners. We were so upset to leave.

From email enquiries to organising the decorations and food nothing was too much trouble for this beautiful family. We had to not incredible 10 days leading to our wedding and the wedding day itself was just perfect. Even the cloud and rain on the actual day didn't dampen proceedings as we were so well looked after and the location and villas was just so fantastic,

We cannot recommend porta del mar enough, the accommodation, food at the bar, location, quality etc etc was all perfect and we hope to return again in the future with our children. It will hold a very special place in our hearts for the rest of our lives.

The immediate area of armoudi is very quiet with only a couple of tavernas and supermarket but you really do not need anything else. We had bbqs , a pizza night, freshly caught fish that Kostas and George went to town to buy early morning and we ate most days, morning noon and night at the villas. We had a few lively nights and it was great for us to spend time getting to know this lovely family.

The beach was great and for most days we were the only people around so it was completely safe for our toddlers to paddle and have fun.

We recommend you do not have any second thoughts, book now! But we hope porta del mar doesn't become too popular that we cannot return!!!!!!!

Please mail us if you want any further info, we would be only too happy to help out!

Dean, Victoria, Reuben, lila belle and family. Xxxx

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank deansmith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasirigas, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you so much Dean n Victoria. We are so happy to read such comments! Your wedding was fantastic and very emotional!,
Special thanks also to all your group which prefer the tastes made by our chef George and Kostas.
Love to all and see you soon!
Tasos , Pavlina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ammoudi
12 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Exensian Villas & Suites
Exensian Villas & Suites
#2 of 3 in Marathias
104 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Zante Villas & Spa
0.7 mi away
Paradisso Beach Villas
Paradisso Beach Villas
#3 of 5 in Ammoudi
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta del Mar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta del Mar Beach Hotel

Address: | Psarou Beach, Ammoudi 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Ammoudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ammoudi
Price Range: £111 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta del Mar Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porta del mar is a small family-run resort of 8 stone villas for summer holidays with direct access to a sandy beach. Amazing sea views obtained from the gardens and inside the villas! The villas are self-catering and accommodate from 2-6 persons (one or two bedroom villas). They all form a horse shoe design, facing towards the sea and are traditionally and nicely decorated. They have spacious living rooms, large bedrooms with queen-size beds or twin single beds, all with solid, wooden ceilings and air-condition. Fully equipped kitchens include cooker, big fridge/freezer, wooden table that seats 4-6 and a full range of utensils. Their verandas are spacious and offer panoramic sea views. The villas are situated directly on our sandy, quiet beach and are surrounded by well kept and relaxing gardens. The beach is safe for children and the waters are clear, crystal and rather shallow. Everything you need is within short walking distance from the villa (groceries, bakery, taverns). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Porta del Mar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Del Mar Beach Hotel Ammoudi, Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing