We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday bliss <3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Porta del Mar Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ammoudi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday bliss <3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Porta del Mar is simply perfect. The location is remote enough for you to feel off the beaten track and away from the tourists yet a short ride away from the bars and lights if you can be bothered tearing yourself away from the bar and sea views.

The apartments are spotlessly clean and the cleaning lady comes every day to make your bed and tidy… this resulted in me regressing to a teenager and just slobbing about – a real treat for a mum of two small kids (not with me on this holiday!). The rooms are modern and well equipped with all the facilities that you might need if you want to cater for yourself… not that you will because George and the team make the most delicious fresh food every day and the views from the restaurant are breathtaking. You can breakfast with the sunrise and dine with the sunset and never change seat.

The sea, which is honestly spitting distance, is calm, shallow and blue in that classic Mediterranean way, and the beach is spotless. If you can drag yourself away from the restaurant and its views then there are many fabulous spaces within the hotel grounds to relax in. My personal favourite, aside from the beach, were the beautiful terraced decks which can double up for dawn yoga.

Do book for at least 10 days, don’t miss pizza night, do sample the ouzo or Nikos’ delicious cocktail, do enjoy the family pets – Big Eyes (beautiful big friendly cat), Tapa (springy happy doggy) and Mousakka (okay, so we named this occasional feline visitor this but we think it has a nice ring…), do have dinner down on Caldera, the private terraced area, don’t miss the stunning sunsets, do dance to Zorba the Greek with the handsome Kostas, don’t forget to pack your toothbrush ☺

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Spent a lovely week at Porta del Mar with a group of girls on a fitness break. The decking leading down to the sea was a fabulous place to do early morning yoga! Sadly, the weather was very mixed but we still had a good time. The villas are well thought out and the gardens are full of colour. Each villa has its own balcony (some even have 2!) where you can sit and have a drink or a meal. However, George the chef cooks amazing food! We explored quite a few of the tavernas nearby and came to the conclusion we should just have stayed there! The family who own the place are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Our waiter Nikos was fantastic and ran around trying to keep everyone happy! We all fell in love with Tapa the dog, she is gorgeous! There are many nooks and crannies to be private and watch the sunset. Fabulous place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitnessqueen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a fantastic relaxing break just arrived back fully chilled the place is a dream from the fantastic staff beautiful views idyllic weather what more could you want good food! Yes you will get that too George the chef is amazing cooking the guests fresh food every night even taking us to the airport. Last day had a heavenly treatment from mother and daughter Sue and Robbie what a treat relaxing to the sound of the sea. Reluctant to say anymore as too many people may want to go and try it! Well done everyone we loved it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Porta Del Mar is a beautiful place to stay and there are so many really well thought out little touches that make the place something really special. With only 8 villa’s and the Rigas family who run the place, it’s a such a hidden gem. The family pets, Big Eyes the cat and Tapa the dog, were always around and such gentle animals who enjoyed a few cuddles! The family are all lovely and we enjoyed chatting to them each day, along with Niko who often came over to us, made us laugh and made sure we were enjoying our holiday. Tasos and Pavlina are the owners who were frequently around to chat to and make sure everything was ok, they also put on an amazing “pizza night” with the help of George, the chef, Niko, and Kostas, the son who runs the cafe/bar area. George’s food was amazing, and being vegetarian, he made a special effort to cook me a new and exciting dinner each evening, all of which were beautiful and made with lovely fresh ingredients every day.

We stayed half board but if you were self-catering the villa facilities were very good, although the food and drink prices were very reasonable and well worth the money! The newly built terraces looking out to sea are also beautiful and we spent many an hour just relaxing on them and taking in the fantastic views, so peaceful and relaxing. Kostas and Nicole were friendly and helpful, always around to chat to, checking everything was as it should be and a good laugh as well. Antonia, the cleaning lady, always said good morning with a smile and did a great job.

The whole place has been planned in such a way that you can choose to just enjoying relaxing alone in the many little small areas around the grounds, or you can all sit together and have a really good time getting to know each other. We’d definitely come back here, the family and staff all made such an amazing effort to make sure things were as perfect as they could be for us and the other guests. We also miss Big Eyes, Tapa and the other little cat that often greeted us! Zante is a beautiful island to explore, and staying at Porta Del Mar just made it even better.

Jen & Dave

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jen_Dave_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We really enjoyed our time here in the Easter hols. We have 3 young boys and were worried that there wouldn't be enough to keep them busy at such a quiet time of year but they loved the freedom they had here. They could go from the villa to the playground, to the cafe, to the beach, look for Big Eyes and Tapa and had a wonderful time. We generally had breakfast in the villa, went out exploring in the hire car late morning, got some food or a picnic from a shop and found a different deserted beach each day to run around on, them came back to the villa for some play/chillout time and dinner at the cafe. The beautiful location makes it feel very relaxed and idyllic here, it's so pretty. We would love to go back, ideally June or September when it's busier but not boiling. Almost everything around was shut in April but we still had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Su M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Porta Del Mar is just a dream. We arrived with our two year old little boy for our first family holiday. Both my other half and I are well travelled and we spent a long time looking for the best options for a family holiday that fitted us. Our villa had the most stunning views, the whole place was relaxing and great fun all at the same time. Kostas and his family bent over backwards to make sure we didn't just enjoy our time at Porta Del mar but that we had the best experiences on the island. it was incredible and we will most definitely be back! Thank you xxxx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank UKJAX8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Well what can I say? The most perfect place in the most perfect setting. We first went for our daughters wedding. It was perfect a dream! The family could not do enough to ensure that the day went smoothly and that all of the little extra details that make the day memorable were available cannot recommend enough. My husband and I have returned twice the last time with elderly parents to celebrate a 75th birthday. It was perfect we went out on the boat with tasos an unforgettable day. We are returning to renew our wedding vows for our silver wedding. The family and staff are so friendly and professional and go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. They are like old friends now. Kostas who runs the bar restaurant is a delightful young man so helpful. George the chef is an absolute character and excellent chef and the lovely Elena is simply delightful not forgetting Anna the waitress a lovely girl. I would recommend this destination for weddings and holidays I have experienced both. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the villas are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos R, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you Maria for your nice words! We feel really very happy to offer our lovely guests the most relaxing Greek holiday here at Porta del Mar Beach Resort.
I am sure you will also love the upgrades we have done this year in all parts of the resort. We have made improvements in the villas, Kostas has renovated the bar and with the Chef George they offer amazing dishes!
We have built three new beach front patios: The sunset deck, the Caldera and the sunrise terrace, all with panoramic sea views!
I am sure you will love them all in your next holiday! See you soon!! Tasos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ammoudi
12.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
8.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradisso Beach Villas
Paradisso Beach Villas
#3 of 5 in Ammoudi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Zante Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta del Mar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta del Mar Beach Hotel

Property: Porta del Mar Beach Hotel
Address: | Psarou Beach, Ammoudi 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Ammoudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ammoudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porta del mar is a small family-run resort of 8 stone villas for summer holidays with direct access to a sandy beach. Amazing sea views obtained from the gardens and inside the villas! The villas are self-catering and accommodate from 2-6 persons (one or two bedroom villas). They all form a horse shoe design, facing towards the sea and are traditionally and nicely decorated. They have spacious living rooms, large bedrooms with queen-size beds or twin single beds, all with solid, wooden ceilings and air-condition. Fully equipped kitchens include cooker, big fridge/freezer, wooden table that seats 4-6 and a full range of utensils. Their verandas are spacious and offer panoramic sea views. The villas are situated directly on our sandy, quiet beach and are surrounded by well kept and relaxing gardens. The beach is safe for children and the waters are clear, crystal and rather shallow. Everything you need is within short walking distance from the villa (groceries, bakery, taverns). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Porta del Mar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Del Mar Beach Hotel Ammoudi, Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing